No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
THE MANOR HOUSE INN DITCHEAT, SHEPTON MALLET, BA4 6RB
The Manor House Inn has something different to offer. You are guaranteed a warm welcome and a great atmosphere. The 17th century pub is made from the impressive Ditcheat red brick and was originally owned by the Lord of the Manor, Edmund Dawe. Then it was called The White Heart, but by 1861 had become known as The Manor House Inn.

With views of the Mendip Hills, this charming inn is situated between Shepton Mallet and Castle Cary. The area is ideal for a short break or holiday being close to Glastonbury, Wells, Bath and Longleat. We are located 5 minutes away from the Royal Bath & West show ground and 10 mins from the A303. The village is home to Champion race horse trainer Paul Nicholls and award-winning Barber's Cheese is also made in Ditcheat.

Each room at Manor House Inn is named after a famous winning racehorse trained in the village. Rooms all have a flat-screen TV, and come with facilities for making tea and coffee. A full English breakfast is available each morning, and hearty à la carte meals are served in the restaurant.

The pub has a restaurant area and two separate bars and is popular with the jockeys and stablehands from Paul Nicholls yard. There is a large beer garden in the shadow of the local church, ideal for young families. The skittle alley, when not being used doubles as a banqueting room with a long 42 seat table used by parties for all occasions.

We have recently added a beautifully designed guest/lounge room upstairs complete with sofas, soft chairs and a log fire. The room also has a 14 seat dining table which is used for private dining and business meetings. We specialise in local cask ales and source our food from local Somerset farmers and producers. The bars have traditional flagstone flooring and offers free Wi-Fi throughout.
Picture of Manor House Inn, SHEPTON MALLET at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay good food great real ales and speacious room.

Reviewed by
D Johnson

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B in a lovely village - Not actually in Shepton Mallet, is about 10-15 minutes away in Ditcheat.

Reviewed by
A Wall

From St Columb, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. A few refinements would help.
Very satisfied from a value for money perspective. The young lady who met us on arrival was very polite, but didn't really know much about the B&B part of the business, including breakfast times. The room was fine. We asked for breakfast at 07.15 - a young man arrived at about 07.15 to open up and start breakfast. He was very polite (charming in fact), but breakfast took a little while to materialise - it was very acceptable when it did arrive. Overall, good value accommodation, in a very pleasant village setting.

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay- I didn't want to leave!
Was allowed to check in pretty much whenever we wanted which was a good start. Fresh milk on arrival for the room which was spacious and beautiful with extremely comfortable bedding. Fantastic beer garden to enjoy a drink and lovely food. The BEST SHOWER I think I have EVER HAD. Friendly and helpful staff and free-view that actually functions (not my experience elsewhere).
I plan to stay again in a few weeks time and it will be hard to leave again!

Reviewed by
Lyndsey Walsh

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable stay
Fabulous food, lovely atmosphere, very friendly and helpfull staff. Very nice touch of being given 'real' milk to take to our room for tea/coffee.

Reviewed by
B Billington

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Food
The hotel had been recommended and although changed hands recently I was very impressed. A very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Especially great if you into horse racing as near to training stables with horses passing by the hotel at breakfast.
Food was superb - best bacon from all my travels.

Reviewed by
K Thomas

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation
Excellent accommodation quiet location very friendly helpful staff. No food Sunday evenings but excellent cooked breakfast included in price.

Reviewed by
Marion G

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.