No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tarnhouse Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Tarn House Hotel Stirton , Skipton, BD233LQ
Tarn House is beautifully positioned amid the wonderful scenery of the Yorkshire Dales just one mile from Skipton. A leafy driveway guides you up a slight hill to the recently restored 17th Century Country Inn, which over looks the quiet & scenic caravan park.

Tarn House offers comfortable accommodation in well appointed, tastefully decorated rooms. We have 10 rooms with en-suite facilities, As standard all rooms have a television, hair dryer complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. A small selection have a double 4 poster bed and there are also single and family rooms available

All room charges include a continental breakfast.
Lunch is served daily and evening meals on Friday and Saturday.

Contact us at Tarn House 01756 794891 to stay in one of our premier, self catering family holiday homes.
Picture of Tarnhouse Hotel, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel
Had a brilliant 2 nights at this hotel,, the staff couldn't do enough for us, they even went as far as going to the local chippy for us when we arrived as the restaurant was closed, would definitely recommend it if your wanting a nice relaxing quiet weekend.

Reviewed by
Joanne Fairhurst

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing experience
Staff welcoming, accomodation comfortable, food piping hot and fresh. However, could benefit from a shelf in bathroom for toothbrush etc.
Watch out for credit card surcharge.

Reviewed by
Sheila H

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and welcoming
We thought the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our continental breakfasts, bar snacks and Sunday lunch. Our room was very comfortable and serviced well each day. The hotel as you'll see from the photos is a lovely building and very well furnished and decorated It is well situated for exploring this beautiful area of N Yorkshire

Reviewed by
Anne B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy stopover
Didn't get room we had booked but staff very helpful and gave good alternative. Friendly wee place.

Reviewed by
G Main

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good on paper not so good in reality
Waited a long time before seeing anybody at Reception in spite of bell ringing several times. LateRooms indicated luxury double room... Trousers Press and Magnificent Views of the Yorkshire Dales. The room was ordinary, no trousers press and views of car park and caravane park! Although it seemed to be silent as hardly any guests in view, at night a lot of movements and noise which made sleeping quite difficult. And the bed!!!!!!!!! a plank! When you are in your 20s it may be alright, but not when you are in your later years. Bathroom radiator not working so cold feeling in bathroom. Would not go back for a birthday present!!!!

Reviewed by
C Bristow

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but eat on way in
I arrived and was surprised to find no evening meal was available. I was told this is as it is out of season. If I had known I would have eaten before arriving as I came through Skipton. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely. Wi fi worked fine. It is not the easiest place ot find and the signage for caravans predominates and makes you wonder if you are at the right place - particularly as the drive is very long. Noise from bar below did not bother me but early retirers may want to get a room that is not above bar. Breakfast started at 8.00am. A little late for my purposes.
I would possibly come again for walking holiday/country escape (what it is geared up for) rather than business.

Reviewed by
P Beckwith

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top notch
Great stay as usual, have stayed many times now, and always book well in advance to ensure a room. Staff very friendly and go out of there way to help you with everything you request. Nice real open log fire. Great food. Good price. Nice rooms, excellent grounds, nice and quiet and relaxing. Also great bar LOL.
Nice retreat and will return again and again. Thanks Tarnhouse, and especially Martin who always makes you welcome.

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great. A nice quiet location. Friendly staff, good food, and a nice bar with real log fire.

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in November
Wow, what a surprise! Fantastic room, loads of space and a four poster bed to boot! Loved the en-suite bathroom with bath and shower and tons and tons of hot water. Room was tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the building. Had an excellent evening meal and really enjoyed the continental breakfast. Great staff and well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Wisbech, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great short break
Great place very central for access to the dales very relax to get away from it all will stay there again and reccomend to anyone..

Reviewed by
r barrick

From Wickford, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next