No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed overnightfor early departure from bus station in the morning.
Reception - excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I had a very early departure and had to cancel my booked breakfast - they brought breakfast to my room at 03.15h at no extra charge and arranged a taxi for me at 4.00am. The night porter kept watch over me until I was safely into the taxi in the early hours. Room was very small but clean and had everything I needed. Only criticism was the bath water temperature, which was only warm even at the hottest setting, and the shampoo and soap dispensers were high on the wall; which meant I had to keep standing up in the bath to reach them. I had a meal in the bar, spinach and ricotta pasta, which was quickly served, but bland. Overall prices were very reasonable. Location - handy for city centre but involved a walk through a dubious area - fine if you have company but I felt a little uneasy as a single woman, walking back from the shops in the dark. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
E Smith

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Members of staff were helpful,polite and welcomed me with a smile,love that.
Thought room would of been bigger & the bed not make so much noise on every turn. That was annoying,even though bed was very comfy. Natural light was a bit much,need to curve the curtains so the light not beam in in the morning.
Loved & appreciated the cleanses of the Bathroom,beautiful white crisp towels & bed perfectly made. Was like a big kid when first saw it,jus wanted to jump up & down in the bed like a naughty kid,lol.
Staff members were so polite & very helpful & always had smiles & spoke very well & explained any answer to a question asked,that was appreciated.

Sincerely
Customer looking forward to returning.

Reviewed by
R Greaves

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I enjoyed the stay
The location is good and I enjoyed the quiet room.

Reviewed by
M Garmory

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous building

Reviewed by
Terence S

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in Executive Room on 4th floor --- fabulous view, with small balcony, very comfortable bed. Very satisfied on the whole but disappointed that there no slippers or tissues in room. Excellent staff on reception and restaurant ---- couldn't be more helpful. One of the best freshly cooked breakfasts we've had in a long time. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Geraldine K

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Ok but not fantastic
I stayed here with my teenage daughter. The room and bathroom was clean but tired looking. The room we stayed in was on the front corner of the hotel so we had quite a lot of noise from the traffic and late night/3am revellers. We had a problem with the plumbing, unsavoury things kept coming up into the hand basin when you ran the tap, urgh!! tummy churning.
When I went to the bar to order food on the Friday evening, it was suggested that as we were residents we should go to reception and ask them to show us to the restaurant because it wouldn't be as noisy. I was told that we could still order from the bar menu. When we got to the restaurant it was deathly quiet and only 3 couples in there; we were given the menu - al a carte or set menu. When we asked if we could order from the bar menu, we received a very disapproving look and were told 'oh no, that's not possible. So we beat a hasty retreat back to the bar, and found a table in the corner, which was a far more comfortable atmosphere than in the restaurant. Food was good.

Reviewed by
Sheila D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exeeded my expectations
Very centrally located, parking opposite, 1st class rooms, great food in restaurant and a 24hr bar all at a fair price.

Reviewed by
Keith Brooks

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
The room although clean only had one wall light which worked, the curtains didn't fit the windows properly. The bathroom had paint peeling off the ceiling above the shower and the bath had a big burn mark in it. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable and on mentioning all this to reception was given the response - Maintenance don't come in until Monday! Hardly helpful!

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly environment

Reviewed by
j z

From , England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent as ex[ected
I have stayed at the Swansea Grand before and service and staff were excellent as usual. Courteous and helpful and the room was spotless as expected.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next