No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel in Swansea
my wife and I only stayed the one night but we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived till the morning we left .the breakfast was more than enough for me as I am never full but there breakfast was more than filling,We are planning on staying there at christmas to do some shopping

Reviewed by
Michael Still

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed my stay
I was upgraded to the penthouse suite so can't complain. Enjoyed my stay. Thanks

Reviewed by
J Cole

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Swansea
Staff were friendly and helpful and room was pleasant. Only a short walk into town and plenty of places around to eat out. Not the best place we have stayed but perfectly adequate and very convenient for the train station which is just over the road.

Reviewed by
J CUNNINGHAM

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
Good

Reviewed by
m rees

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, handy for the station. Quite pricey for standard of accommodation
Immediately opposite Swansea station so ideal if you're arriving late. Friendly staff. Well appointed room, though a bit of street noise. Thought it was a little overpriced, perhaps more of a 2 star than a 3 star.

Reviewed by
R Hall

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
I stayed here whilst on busines in the area. I was given a room on the top floor which had panoramic window views of Swansea, a large comfortable bed and a fantastic bathroom with a hot tub,
I was very impressed with the room and would definately stay here again. Top class!

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly good city-centre hotel.
My stay was only necessary because a French ATC strike meant my journey time was extended so I missed the last train home from Swansea.
For a city centre hotel it was absolutely fine. Staff were friendly, room was a good size and apart from a bit of traffic noise - its is the city centre after all - everything was fine considering the price I paid....and in the morning it was a few steps to the station.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Place To Stay
This is the second time i have stayed at the Grand, and as usual the standard was very high. I had a excellent corner room that was ample in size. The shower was very powerful and would certainly wake up even the weariest traveller. The staff are all very friendly and the hotels location is ideal right opposite the traini station. I would highly recommend a stay at the hotel and i am already looking to book for october again.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Llanidloes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly hotel and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
M Coates

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy!
Fire alarm went off all night then no hot water, a night club a few doors down, right next to a busy road very noisy, don't go there if you are looking for a rest!

Reviewed by
lindsey c

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next