No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate and nothing special
Although I had notified the hotel of my need for gluten free food I found that they did not have any gluten free bread when I went for breakfast on the Saturday,. The excuse given was that I not pre-ordered breakfast. I however expect hotels to have access to gluten free choice without having to order in advance and especially when notified at the time of booking.
The taps and shower only gave me hot water regardless of how I turned the taps.

Reviewed by
Jeff C

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I arrived a little early but my room was ready for me right away. Was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The following morning I required a taxi and the receptionist was prepared to ring me one but advised me that there was a taxi stand at the other side of the station across the road that may be quicker. Arrived back that afternoon to find my room spotless. Bar food was lovely although the price of a pint was a little steep I felt. Only gripe I'd have is that the breakfast is a little expensive although there is a huge selection available. Another plus is the proximity to the train station once you arrive in the city.

Reviewed by
Sean B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one night stay
Decent hotel in an excellent location, everyone seemed very helpful and friendly. Parking in the nearby car park at five pounds per 24hrs.

Reviewed by
Barry L

From Llanrhystud, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel Swansea
Fantastic!! The staff here are lovely. perfectly located, modern and very clean.

Reviewed by
Chris Hill

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory
Good and relaxing

Reviewed by
Chandana Angirekula

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location
Walking distance from city centre and next to train station but never heard one. Pretty hotel next to public carpark and only £6 a day. We had the large executive room with a balconey and a Jaqouzzi bath which gave the stay that special feeling. Dinner at the hotel was o.k., but we should have gone out, as there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Breakfast was very good, but you need to book with reception, as they try to charge another 3 quid.

Reviewed by
peter k

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

after finally finding the hotel due to lack of road signage to station we were greeted by friendly staff and a good clean room , bar was good and once again staff spot on , we had food in the bar , which was good and reasonably priced , bed was confortable only downside to our stay was we were in room 207 above reception and could hear the xmas music all night , sugest turn volume down a tad , but overall great stay

Reviewed by
paul O'Rourke

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable 2 night stay
Stayed for two nights whilst working nearby.great clean rooms right in city centre a short walk to the many bars..ordered a meal the first night to be told the chef was not cooking at the time because he was busy planning a function ..terrible customer service so ate elsewere

Reviewed by
carl l

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed overnightfor early departure from bus station in the morning.
Reception - excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I had a very early departure and had to cancel my booked breakfast - they brought breakfast to my room at 03.15h at no extra charge and arranged a taxi for me at 4.00am. The night porter kept watch over me until I was safely into the taxi in the early hours. Room was very small but clean and had everything I needed. Only criticism was the bath water temperature, which was only warm even at the hottest setting, and the shampoo and soap dispensers were high on the wall; which meant I had to keep standing up in the bath to reach them. I had a meal in the bar, spinach and ricotta pasta, which was quickly served, but bland. Overall prices were very reasonable. Location - handy for city centre but involved a walk through a dubious area - fine if you have company but I felt a little uneasy as a single woman, walking back from the shops in the dark. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
E Smith

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Members of staff were helpful,polite and welcomed me with a smile,love that.
Thought room would of been bigger & the bed not make so much noise on every turn. That was annoying,even though bed was very comfy. Natural light was a bit much,need to curve the curtains so the light not beam in in the morning.
Loved & appreciated the cleanses of the Bathroom,beautiful white crisp towels & bed perfectly made. Was like a big kid when first saw it,jus wanted to jump up & down in the bed like a naughty kid,lol.
Staff members were so polite & very helpful & always had smiles & spoke very well & explained any answer to a question asked,that was appreciated.

Sincerely
Customer looking forward to returning.

Reviewed by
R Greaves

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next