No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at this hotel was sertainly not the best , it is very run down and seems to be under some referbishment , I only wish I had been informed of this before our stay . The nature of our stay was a treat for my mum , the plan was shop all day and a nice meal in the night at the hotel restaurant , this was not possible because it was clossed so we ended up having to eat in the bar where there were only sofas and low tables which I must say wasn't the easiest being 81/2 months pregnant , the meal was very poor with some of it being unedible we were very disappointed and ended up back in the room by 10 o'clock !!!! This was not a cheap deal it cost me £129 , there are lots of hotels in Swansea and frankly I now wish I had chosen another one I defiantly will not be returning :(

Reviewed by
sian davies

From merthyr tydfil , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday in Wales
The hotel staff was great. Food was fine for the price. Hotel was clean and well kept

Reviewed by
J Chadwick

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old boiler system and no cold water coming through taps. Boiling hot water coming through both taps.
Very basic accommodation not worth the money. Bed uncomfortable and pokey room in need of decor and a new mattress

Reviewed by
helen t

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel situated within throwing distance of Swansea mainline station
Fantastic little hotel. Clean rooms. Great customer service

Reviewed by
Asif K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room has a very strong smell which i dont like it and cant sleep whole night
will not come again

Reviewed by
Wai Ching S

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Staff
We traveled as part of a group for my birthday for one night to relive my days as a student and go back to Swansea.
The outside of the hotel is rather run down which is a shame as the inside could not be more different.
The reception area is clean and there is a bar, cafe and ice-cream area.
Our rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were lovely and clean with a huge mirror which didnt steam up and although an odd thing to comment on, the carpet was lovely and soft, all of us now want one in our house!
The staff were lovely, friendly and attentive and didn't seem to mind that we were a gruop of 9 girls who would be drinking and possibly making a lot of noise
I would definitely recommend this hotel for groups but maybe not for couples

Reviewed by
C M R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and nice room

Reviewed by
D Gardner

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Air con
Hi..thing we found was the room was v warm as we checked in around 2pm. The air con was controlled in reception,so after leaving to go into town,we asked the loverly lady could she put it on. But after returning around 8pm it was not on and the room was still very warm..!so not a god night sleep..

Reviewed by
j gray

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for mney
Value for money and very central parking near by but you do need to pay

Reviewed by
Rosemary W

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Myself and my boyfriend stayed just the one night in a double room and we absolutely loved it. The room was spotless and we had a fantastic nights sleep! I wish we could have stayed a few more days. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all I couldn't fault it! Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Hannah L

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next