No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient to the train station - excellent staff!

Reviewed by
A Cheffer

From Granby, USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand hotel
It was perfect!

Reviewed by
Gil Berman

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was good stay,close to the place we need to go next day and comfotable room.I have very good time at your hotel.thank you!
Sachiyo koyama

Reviewed by
sachiyo koyama

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swansea away, Premier lge 5.30 k.o. 17/08/13
Great location right opposite the station which we needed as we were traveling by train.
Only a short walk into the town centre for the bars & restaurants & within walking distance of the Liberty stadium.
Friendly & helpful staff, great sized rooms that had almost everything but no safe in room.
There is a large bar & restaurant area, ideal for meeting up with people coming in on the train.
There is a small local supermarket & café just 2 minutes up the road.
All in all a good value hotel with everything you need!l And a 4-1 win !!!

Reviewed by
N Thomson

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the room was beautiful and luxurious it was let down by having roadworks outside and being very noisy outside throughout the night with drunken people singing and arguing it felt like we had the windows wide open so hardly no sleep through out the night.

Reviewed by
Sarah Tingle

From Pembroke Dock, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco meets Grunge!!
The Grand will be great and we will return. Reception and Bar staff fabulous but Restaurant was sorely lacking in customer service at Breakfast times (Muddled and blinkered is probably the kindest thing I can say!!
A/c needs boosting when it is as hot as it was for our 2 days. Ice makers in the corridors would also help

Reviewed by
Stuart Barnard

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall a great stay
Shame they didn't make it clearer that the full amount would be taken off the credit card I booked with through late rooms, the day before arrival. That said, they were happy to refund and charge my preferred credit card on arrival. Really nice breakfast, cooked to order and good service. No COLD water during our stsy due to building works but the bar were happy to send up bottled water...not ieal but what else could they have done?! Will definitely stay again, comfy room, good value and great location.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a stopover
Perfectly adequate hotel made much better by the staff. Every staff member we came into contact with was pleasant, helpful and professional-definitely the Grand's greatest asset.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
It was good hotel.. Best location in Sandra next to train starion and 24 hr parking (6£ max)..
Nicely decorated rooms and clean .will stay there again ..

Reviewed by
K Sharma

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel provided every amenity a traveller might require.Rooms are clean and well equipped.
Staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts cater for all needs.

Reviewed by
B Pike

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next