No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Swansea

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
IVEY PLACE , SWANSEA, SA1 1NX
The Grand Hotel, Swansea has been a landmark hotel since the 1930’s, largely due to its ideal location and unique design. In 2004 the hotel was subject to a complete refurbishment, and re-opened as one of Swansea leading independent hotels, offering 3* plus service and facilities.

Our Facilities are complimented by a private residents lounge and private Breakfast service restaurant.

The hotel’s rooms all feature digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard.

Food & Beverage: Our Hotel offers informal dining service in our ground floor Bistro Bar.
Sports Bar: Our newly refurbished sports bar contains local and international sporting memorabilia; we also offer full and extensive live coverage of all sporting events. We stock an extensive range of international spirits and local brews.

Area information The hotel is located in the heart of Swansea, opposite the railway station. It allows easy access to a number of attractions, such as the Dylan Thomas Centre, National Waterfront Museum, Mumbles, and the Gower Peninsula.

Travel information From the m4 westbound, junction 42, follow Fabian Way into the City Centre, and follow signs for Swansea Train Station. Hotel is adjacent to Swansea Train Station.

The hotel offers 31 rooms, all with digital TV, power showers and air conditioning as standard. Our 4 executive rooms, and 2 Penthouses offer a range of Super King and Queen beds, private balconies and Jacuzzi baths, with the Penthouses boasting South Wales only roof top hot tubs.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Swansea, SWANSEA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent yet again
We've stayed here several times whilst our daughter has been at university in Swansea on the recommendation of a friend who had also stayed here. We've stayed in several different hotels all over the UK but always stay here when in Swansea if its not booked up. We've stayed in some of the chains but we've always found the Grand to be excellent and welcoming: the staff are friendly and helpful, it's right by the train station, there is a large car park near by and you are within walking distance of the city centre with its shops and restaurants. The rooms are a bit small compared to some hotels we have stayed in but then how much time do you actually spend in a hotel room? The beds are comfortable, the showers hot, the TV works, and whilst we were there this week, the air conditioning was a godsend. Sadly, we won't be returning for a while, our daughter graduated this week.

Reviewed by
JANET N

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrid
Horrid place. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!

Reviewed by
K Jammeh

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stans home visit
The hotel was having a refit ,but that didn't make any difference to our stay.We had to change rooms as as someone had let of a stink bomb outside ours.The staff were very helpful and very friendly.Breakfast was fresh and hot and the choice was very good.

Reviewed by
Lynn S

From Ashford, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tastfuly decorated hotel good value
rooms good decor... just a little too warm. great value. breakfast excellent. bar menu also good.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Accommodation
My husband and I found the accommodation and facilities very pleasant. It was very close to the Church meeting we attended on the Friday night and were in walking distance.

Reviewed by
Lenore WILSON

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel ?????
First and Last time we would stay at this hotel. Room was ok but when we arrived there was major work going on to the reception area and we had to arrive through the bar next door. There was dust everywhere ,and no one was able to tell us about this beforehand. We paid for the breakfast the next morning, and to be honest it was nothing special. Quite greasy and not very nice. To be honest, both my wife and I left it as it was very bland.All in all,an ok hotel,not worth anywhere near the £124.00 that we paid,maybe half that,Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
mark g

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room
good room, slightly depressing and dated decor but nice and clean. really fantastic shower. no toothpaste or hair dryer. nice staff, very friendly and accommodating. great bar. always go to the bar when i come out of the station and it has a really good atmosphere.

Reviewed by
salimah m

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was being so the sine was taken off what could have been a nice experience - very nice hotel
Disappointed there was no information about refurbishment of hotel before booking!! Very nice hotel, excellent location and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
chris chatterton

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Everything great, they had some building work going on but ensured no effect or limited effect on everyone & still ensure great food & service.

Reviewed by
David Boobyer

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay
Staff were very welcoming and accommodated some surprises for the room. I know we only had a standard room, for the price I expected more. The bathroom was modern but a bit of bleach would make it sparkle and the bedroom just needed modernising. It was clean and adequate - a window that could open would be nice
However, staff recommended some great places to eat and things to do which really added value to our trip. We didn't eat at the hotel but overall a mice experience, just a shame the room wasn't of a higher standard for what we paid.

Reviewed by
Laura T

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next