No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Posting House

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Old Posting House, Deanscales, , Cockermouth, CA13 0SL
The Old Posting House is 400 years old and from around 1845 it was a coaching Inn. The Mail coach from Glasgow to Whitehaven stopped here and the blacksmiths is still just near the inn. Inside the Old Post boxes are still there and protected they give their name to the Inn The Old Posting House..
Accommodation consists of 5 rooms 1 twin and 4 doubles all en~suite and each room is furnished to a high standard. with flat screen TVs and Tee and coffee making facilities and free WI-FI connection anywhere in the building.
Food is served everyday from 12.00 to 2.00pm and 6.00 rill 9.30pm full menu and large daily specials board.
We are located on the edge of the national park making it a ideal base for exploring both the lake district and the West Coast..
Wonderful walks from the pub with Loweswater and Buttermere just over the hill from here.
Picture of Old Posting House, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place with an attentive host
Great place, lovely food and very great attentiveness. Restaurant / bar has an eclectic collection of teapots! Well worth seeing just to how bizarre a teapot can be. We'll be back (hopecwecwont need our passports to travel down from Scotland.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From , Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Onn our return we found the Old Posting House as good as on our previous visits.
Such an enjoyable stop over. Made to feel so welcome. No request too difficult. Definitely will be back!

Reviewed by
Watson P

From SAINTFIELD, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just book it!
Top class rooms, very, very genuinely friendly host! Clean bathrooms with powerful shower unlike most others! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewed by
G Arumugam

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
This accommodation was absolutely fab, pleasant land lord, very friendly and welcoming. Food was great and the breakfast was as great, (although for some reason there was no bacon with it on the second morning) but we didnt have a complaint against anything. The area is central to many activities but no need to go out on an evening as it was lovely to stay in in this very quaint and cozy pub.

Reviewed by
T Bruce

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional 17 century english post house pub.
A delightful quirky pub a few miles outside of Cockermouth. A bright airy room overlooking the cumbrian country side. And friendly host and staff.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is alongside a very busy and noisy road. Staff were extremely helpful. Evening meal was lovely but breakfast could have been better cooked.

Reviewed by
Winifred P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to the Lakes
We found this B&B after a quick internet search. The place was very easy to find. Immediately after we arrived we were met by Mick the owner who offered to help with our luggage and showed us to our room.
The room was functional, clean and warm. The en-suite was very modern. There was TV and coffee and tea making facilities.
The B&B is part of a remote pub. Steeped in history and curiously adorned with tea-pots of all shapes and sizes. There was a good selection of food available, real ale and non-alcohiolic drinks. The food arrived promptly and was very hot and tasty with a very generous portions.
The sweets were excellent too.
The location of the B&B was good for access to many areas of the lakes and we took advantage of this.
We wished that we could have stayed longer, but only the 2 nights.
We would recommend this accomodation without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Phil W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service, nice food and a nice room

Reviewed by
John R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Spot on.
Best nights sleep in ages!

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Buckingham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.