No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Posting House

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Old Posting House, Deanscales, , Cockermouth, CA13 0SL
A 400-year-old coaching inn, just 3.6 miles from Cockermouth, the Old Posting House offers traditional bed and breakfast accommodation, views of the Fells, free Wi-Fi and free onsite parking. The rooms feature flat-screen TVs and king-size beds. All rooms have an en suite bathroom with a shower. The restaurant serves traditional British dishes, including a full roast Sunday lunch. The bar serves real ales and local beers as well as wines and spirits. Period features including the old post boxes and beamed ceilings have been carefully preserved. The residents lounge has a large flat-screen TV and information about local walks for walkers of all abilities is offered at reception. The Old Posting House guest house is 10 minutes from Lowes Water and 25 minutes from Keswick and Derwent Water. The seaside is a 20-minute drive from the inn.
Picture of Old Posting House, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Break
I am not rearly one for posting a review or making any comment either good or bad but felt on this occasion I just had to. From a pre stay phone call recieved from Mick welcoming us to the breakfast we had on the day of our departure I can not think of one area of ous stay that was anything less than absolutely fabulous. Mick and his staff, the room and the food and drink where great and both my partner and myself are looking forward to booking the Old Posting House again very soon.

Reviewed by
Mark Reading

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mr &mrs p harness
thoroughly enjoyed our stay nothing was to much trouble for mick and his staff excellent food and ale and lovely room we will stay here again thanks mick from phil & margaret

Reviewed by
philip harness

From Horncastle, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place with an attentive host
Great place, lovely food and very great attentiveness. Restaurant / bar has an eclectic collection of teapots! Well worth seeing just to how bizarre a teapot can be. We'll be back (hopecwecwont need our passports to travel down from Scotland.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From , Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Onn our return we found the Old Posting House as good as on our previous visits.
Such an enjoyable stop over. Made to feel so welcome. No request too difficult. Definitely will be back!

Reviewed by
Watson P

From SAINTFIELD, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just book it!
Top class rooms, very, very genuinely friendly host! Clean bathrooms with powerful shower unlike most others! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewed by
G Arumugam

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
This accommodation was absolutely fab, pleasant land lord, very friendly and welcoming. Food was great and the breakfast was as great, (although for some reason there was no bacon with it on the second morning) but we didnt have a complaint against anything. The area is central to many activities but no need to go out on an evening as it was lovely to stay in in this very quaint and cozy pub.

Reviewed by
T Bruce

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional 17 century english post house pub.
A delightful quirky pub a few miles outside of Cockermouth. A bright airy room overlooking the cumbrian country side. And friendly host and staff.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is alongside a very busy and noisy road. Staff were extremely helpful. Evening meal was lovely but breakfast could have been better cooked.

Reviewed by
Winifred P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to the Lakes
We found this B&B after a quick internet search. The place was very easy to find. Immediately after we arrived we were met by Mick the owner who offered to help with our luggage and showed us to our room.
The room was functional, clean and warm. The en-suite was very modern. There was TV and coffee and tea making facilities.
The B&B is part of a remote pub. Steeped in history and curiously adorned with tea-pots of all shapes and sizes. There was a good selection of food available, real ale and non-alcohiolic drinks. The food arrived promptly and was very hot and tasty with a very generous portions.
The sweets were excellent too.
The location of the B&B was good for access to many areas of the lakes and we took advantage of this.
We wished that we could have stayed longer, but only the 2 nights.
We would recommend this accomodation without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Phil W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.