No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Corstorphine Lodge Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
186 ST. JOHNS ROAD , EDINBURGH, EH12 8SG
Lying in the heart of Edinburgh's district of Corstorphine, the Corstorphine Lodge Hotel is surrounded by its own grounds of half an acre with Victorian walled gardens; a true haven of peace and tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of its surroundings.

Dating from the 1880's, the House retains many of its original features, including some fine plasterwork and cornices.

While still retaining the charm of the small village it used to be, Corstorphine has grown into a buzzing area. It offers excellent amenities for the visitor, including restaurants, shops, pubs, hairdressers, laundry, banking facilities etc all across the main road. The Edinburgh Zoo, the world famous Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and several world class golf courses are within 5 mins ride.

We look forward to welcoming you!
Picture of Corstorphine Lodge  Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Stayed here two nights. Didn't bother with breakfast second day as first had been so bad.
Room was huge. But badly equipped. A small double and a single bed, no chairs, a tiny shower room, which was adequate, but clearly the drain needed attention as the tray filled up.
The bed was hard, with flat pillows, no softness there at all.
If you need somewhere cheap and basic, it'll do.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great overnight stay at this excellent value stop-off between the airport and the city
Arrived late evening without a problem, after getting the 100 bus from the airport to Drum Brae, slept comfortably and had a great breakfast. All that I needed, at a great rate.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Hotels' should not sell cell-like rooms
I didn't actually stay in the hotel I'd chosen. When I arrived the staf showed me to an internal room with no window except in the ceiling, located behind the dinning room. I was very disappointed in this room; it was clean and modern, but to be in what felt like a cupboard or a cell. In my complaining the staff then said the booking was wrong and said I was booked into another of their hotels, the Cumberland Hotel, which was 15 minutes away into town, and obviously not nearer to the airport which was my reason for being there. This second room was pleasant, a gound floor room with a window. Nobody should be offered a cell for a room unless you were purchasing it on purpose at a much cheaper rate.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From Kingussie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel if you're desperate
This was over priced, more of a hostel/guest house than a hotel.
No heating in room
No batteries in TV remote[ discovered about 12-30 am at night]
Had to fill kettle in shower as the hand basin was the smallest I've ever seen about 10" wide and no way would you get kettle under the tap
Having a wash was a joke due to the small hand basin, Also the overflow was not plumbed in so when the basin was full, water poured onto out onto my feet.
Apart from the TV remote can't believe no one has complained before, one of the worst places I've stayed at in 45yrs.

Reviewed by
DAVID JONES

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ground floor single room very clean, no window but a sky light. Friendly staff.
Ideal for the airport as I had an early morning flight, The taxi ordered on arrival came on time. No complaints. Would prefer somewhere more central if I had more time to spend in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
S Rabey

From Norway
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, close to the airport, very nice and large rooms. Quality of food not really outstanding

Reviewed by
Alberto M

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1night stay
Friendly service from checking in to breakfast staff. Shower not great but everything clean.

Reviewed by
A fraser

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Older Victorian twin houses and I stayed in a large front room which suited me well. Staff all young and friendly and good breakfast

Reviewed by
j ocallaghan

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night's sleep but...
Firstly, easy to find, but had to park on the road as the hotel car park was full of a skip and owners vehicles.
Very clean and the bed was really comfortable and a lovely big room. Most of the vertical blinds were broken and stuffed into the drawers of the bedroom furniture. Apart from the bed, the bedroom furniture was cheap as it comes from B&Q or similar.
Welcome and departure somewhat abrupt, but the young man on duty on Saturday night, reopened the bar up for us that he had closed early due to it being so quiet, this was very welcome.
Continental breakfast was a big disappointment, value croissants and brioche and Asda low fat cherry yogurt. I asked for porridge and was originally told there wasn't any, but that was amended when I was halfway through cereal and therefore to late. My husband commented that his sausages looked like they hadn't seen any meat.
We'd stay again as the bed was great and all we were after was somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
C Wallace-Watson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight en route from Airport to City
I needed somewhere just to lay my head for the night and booked a great value single. I ended up with a 3-bed family room which was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent in a very pleasant dining room. Overall, a very good 3* guest house in my experience. The airport bus stops just up the road after a 10 minute journey and can be picked up in the morning for another 10 minute run into the city centre so very convenient if that's what you need.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next