No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Corstorphine Lodge Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
186 ST. JOHNS ROAD , EDINBURGH, EH12 8SG
Lying in the heart of Edinburgh's district of Corstorphine, the Corstorphine Lodge Hotel is surrounded by its own grounds of half an acre with Victorian walled gardens; a true haven of peace and tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of its surroundings.

Dating from the 1880's, the House retains many of its original features, including some fine plasterwork and cornices.

While still retaining the charm of the small village it used to be, Corstorphine has grown into a buzzing area. It offers excellent amenities for the visitor, including restaurants, shops, pubs, hairdressers, laundry, banking facilities etc all across the main road. The Edinburgh Zoo, the world famous Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and several world class golf courses are within 5 mins ride.

We look forward to welcoming you!
Picture of Corstorphine Lodge  Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hospital visit
There was no access to either side of the property via the door bells it took a phone call to gain access the shower was not worth using as there was no power in it and it would be very difficult for any female with thick or long hair to get it washed or rinsed.
On my booking form it said that no payment would be taken from the credit card used but on booking in the payment had been taken without my authorisation.

Reviewed by
T Malcolm

From Seahouses, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second and last time unlucky
Second time here as it was a good price and convenient to us visiting friends.
Pleasant greeting, filled out our form and given a single key which opened the room door and the front door. I had read about this before on a review but was still surprised.
Room was right at the front door, no 30. Large room one double bed and one single. A small shower room with a toilet, very nice but the handbasin was outside the shower room just on the bedroom wall. Ok, we had a giggle.
The room was at the very front of the building with a large bay window and another window on the side wall. There were white vertical blinds so we needed to shut the windows so we could get changed to go out. I pulled the left hand curtain to shut it and half of the vertical blinds fell down. When I looked at the bottom of them they had been stapled together. I got the two side windows of the bay covered but not the front so it was very light. The single side window I managed to close the curtains.
The same as last time the kettle had a very short lead, far too short to reach the socket, and we couldn't reach it at all because it was behind the dressing table. We had to take the kettle over to the other side of the room and plug it in an extension socket and lay it on the floor. Very unsafe.
I wondered what was in the bottom cupboard with the louvre doors. It was a boiler/ water heater?, which loudly clicked on then ran for a while before clicking off. It was a Saturday night and I had been for a meal, had a few drinks but this still kept me up the majority of the night.
Breakfast was lovely.
Go elsewhere if you want to to be safe, secure and want to sleep.

Reviewed by
Lesley McNeill

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

okay location dated hotel great staff
Staff was friendly and helpful. room was warm and had everything i needed. WAs a little dated though, worrying bit same key did front door and all room doors.
Breakfast okay location okay shame no parking had to park on road and that was hard to find a spot.

Reviewed by
j huckvale

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Stayed here two nights. Didn't bother with breakfast second day as first had been so bad.
Room was huge. But badly equipped. A small double and a single bed, no chairs, a tiny shower room, which was adequate, but clearly the drain needed attention as the tray filled up.
The bed was hard, with flat pillows, no softness there at all.
If you need somewhere cheap and basic, it'll do.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great overnight stay at this excellent value stop-off between the airport and the city
Arrived late evening without a problem, after getting the 100 bus from the airport to Drum Brae, slept comfortably and had a great breakfast. All that I needed, at a great rate.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Hotels' should not sell cell-like rooms
I didn't actually stay in the hotel I'd chosen. When I arrived the staf showed me to an internal room with no window except in the ceiling, located behind the dinning room. I was very disappointed in this room; it was clean and modern, but to be in what felt like a cupboard or a cell. In my complaining the staff then said the booking was wrong and said I was booked into another of their hotels, the Cumberland Hotel, which was 15 minutes away into town, and obviously not nearer to the airport which was my reason for being there. This second room was pleasant, a gound floor room with a window. Nobody should be offered a cell for a room unless you were purchasing it on purpose at a much cheaper rate.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From Kingussie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel if you're desperate
This was over priced, more of a hostel/guest house than a hotel.
No heating in room
No batteries in TV remote[ discovered about 12-30 am at night]
Had to fill kettle in shower as the hand basin was the smallest I've ever seen about 10" wide and no way would you get kettle under the tap
Having a wash was a joke due to the small hand basin, Also the overflow was not plumbed in so when the basin was full, water poured onto out onto my feet.
Apart from the TV remote can't believe no one has complained before, one of the worst places I've stayed at in 45yrs.

Reviewed by
DAVID JONES

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ground floor single room very clean, no window but a sky light. Friendly staff.
Ideal for the airport as I had an early morning flight, The taxi ordered on arrival came on time. No complaints. Would prefer somewhere more central if I had more time to spend in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
S Rabey

From Norway
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, close to the airport, very nice and large rooms. Quality of food not really outstanding

Reviewed by
Alberto M

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1night stay
Friendly service from checking in to breakfast staff. Shower not great but everything clean.

Reviewed by
A fraser

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next