No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Corstorphine Lodge Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
186 ST. JOHNS ROAD , EDINBURGH, EH12 8SG
Lying in the heart of Edinburgh's district of Corstorphine, the Corstorphine Lodge Hotel is surrounded by its own grounds of half an acre with Victorian walled gardens; a true haven of peace and tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of its surroundings.

Dating from the 1880's, the House retains many of its original features, including some fine plasterwork and cornices.

While still retaining the charm of the small village it used to be, Corstorphine has grown into a buzzing area. It offers excellent amenities for the visitor, including restaurants, shops, pubs, hairdressers, laundry, banking facilities etc all across the main road. The Edinburgh Zoo, the world famous Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and several world class golf courses are within 5 mins ride.

We look forward to welcoming you!
Picture of Corstorphine Lodge  Hotel, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived early afternoon. Poor dark bedroom. Lots of noise with pipes etc. no fridge to store food. Wifi did not work. When Internet was working it was slow. And very little help from staff. I will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
john murray

From naas, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Getaway
Stayed one night whilst passing through. Nice wee hotel. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was too small, no windows and poor bed!
The room was extremely small and their was no blind on the sky light, to block out the sun in the morning. The bed was extremely poor and the TV remote didn't work?
The staff was courteous but failed to resolve the problems.
A supervisory review of these issues would be helpful!

Reviewed by
W Musall

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked into the hotel to find my first room had no running water or working tv, in the morning i left at 4.30 am and left my key down stairs at reception, later that day the hotel phoned my home claiming i had not left the key and would be fined 500 pounds. I will not be booking there again..

Reviewed by
CHRISTOPHER MACKENZIE

From Kyle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Shabby and badly run. Does not feel like it is run by hoteliers. Mattress in room 26 needs to go in a skip and I had already had that thought when, sitting in the clean bright breakfast room, I looked onto a terrace on which were piled rotting mattresses. Not nice. Electrics dodgy and no switch near bed or bedside table. Wifi poor although it just worked in room when I was told on arrival it would not work except in public area. Shower worked but door missing so makeshift shower curtain hung up. No window just a Velux. Had to stand on bed to make TV work. Breakfast was OK. Basic.

Reviewed by
SALLY G

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was booked on price, location and availability, my expectations were met.
The accommodation was clean, but adequate, just. At the price, our expectations were low, but realistic.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corstophine Lodge
Room was excellent ( we booked a double but got a family room ), staff were very helpful and generally efficient. Cooked breakfast was excellent. Hotel is undergoing some renovation with building and flooring materials lying around. A few criticisms - bathroom lights didn't work, asking for a glass of wine in the bar seemed to be a problem, and no food in the evening ( but there's an Italian restaurant opposite ) Location very convenient, ( on a main road and bus route between the airport and the city ) and good value - for Edinburgh

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
The accommodation was very disappointing.
Morning 1 I had the vegetarian breakfast and the samosas were cold in the middle.
Morning 2 I waited and waited for my breakfast order to be taken. Other people kept arriving and being served and I was ignored. I ordered an omelette and was then served with a cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage etc. I told the waitress I ordered an omelette & it was then removed unceremoniously and plonked in front of someone else who wanted mushrooms with the breakfast but never actually received them.
Morning 3 was ok
When I got back to the hotel on day 2 I found my door wasn't shut properly so anyone could have gone in & taken my things. Lucky I was tucked away up a narrow steep staircase which only led to my room.
Wifi was not universally available. Only real place to access it was in the hall - not exactly private. One of the staff was helpful and directed me to a chair on an upstairs landing to use the wifi but not ideal.

Reviewed by
Gill C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing City Break

Reviewed by
Sarah Wadsworth

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Television didn't work, radio alarm disconnected, no instructions to reset, no teabags in room
3rd rate room at premium prices, I won't be returning

Reviewed by
Robert McPaul

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next