No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vineyard

5Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stockcross , Newbury, RG20 8JU
Once an 18th Century hunting lodge, The Vineyard has more recently been described as a temple to Californian Wine. Just outside Newbury, about an
hour from London, it lives up to its reputation, and more.

The cellar holds over 30,000 new and old world wines, as well as the award-winning estate wines of the owner, Sir Peter Michael.

Wine & Restaurant Director, Alan Holmes and his team of 'wine coaches' are known for their warm and friendly approach. Their wine and food pairing
expertise perfectly complements The Vineyard's celebrated contemporary French cooking, prepared by Executive Chef Daniel Galmiche who is a regular
guest on television cookery shows.

A destination restaurant deserves a great hotel, and again The Vineyard does not disappoint. Spacious contemporary suites, traditional bedrooms, and an award-winning spa make it the ideal venue for special events, weddings and
business meetings.



Picture of The Vineyard, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost perfect!
Lovely time spent here. Only problem was evening menu. We were only really given a taster menu option which was not our choice, so we had to leave the hotel and taxi into Newbury to an Italian. The meal was good but we would have preferred to have eaten in house on an a la carte menu.

Reviewed by
dianne b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will go again
We recently stayed at The Vineyard for just one night. The staff were first class; the room fine but a little small and the restaurant superb.

Reviewed by
Laurence S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of 14th July
This hotel was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, i travel a lot with my job mainly abroad and the standard of service and accommodation was second to none.
Highly reccomended

Reviewed by
a meakin

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding in every way
Absolutely outstanding restful weekend in a beautiful place. Is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Spa was second to none and the food was the best I've ever eaten. Never knew so many wines existed! Thank you for a perfect weekend.

Reviewed by
Lisa Malone

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Service, Food and Wine
What a hotel, upgraded on arrival, made to feel very welcome. Great spa, restaurant and wine - fantastic experience with knowledgable staff.

Reviewed by
Tom L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality and a pleasure
This hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you, food was great and a huge wine selection.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone!!

Reviewed by
Martin W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel
We've stayed at the Vineyard before and it never fails to please. The service is outstanding and the food quality is excellent.

Reviewed by
Ray Halligan

From Hook, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and quiet
Very quiet and relaxing, friendly efficient service, food and wine was the real highlight though spa treatments also great, therapists better than the room settings which coud do with updating, shower leaked a bit, otherwise though really enjoyed stay. Tasting the wine and food meant other minor flaws didn't matter, a lovey experience.

Reviewed by
J Byfleet

From Maidenhead, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5Star Hotel exceeded expectatn in all fields bar one!
Upgraded to a Suite on arrival for a mere £20.00 and the room was delightful. Lovely well attended spa.
We did not eat at the hotel that evening as we were meeting friends in Newbury so breakfast was the only meal we experienced. This was not as good as hoped as despite several staff in attendance we were slightly neglected and when the mushrooms ordered did not appear on my plate I reminded the waiter that I had ordered them yet they STILL failed to be delivered! Otherwise beautiful setting and stunning hotel.

Reviewed by
T WARD

From Chesham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lateroom deal bargain
Picked up a deal and very pleased with our room albeit a £200 off normal room rate. Booked dinner as extra and it was delicious. Waitress very helpful and wine choice lovely. However when we were having breakfast, a conference group were gathering in the bar and it was far too noisy being right next to the breakfast room. Should have been put in a room away from guests!

Reviewed by
A Fawcett

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.