No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great experience
Enjoyed everything about this hotel. Rooms are very compact which is what we expected and found it very cosy. Very impressed with cleanliness and lighting options, and although the bathroom is compact it has everything you need. Enjoyed my stay very much and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Amy H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, compact but more than adequate for a nights stay, no storage but if your happy to live out your suitcase for the night then it's great, cheap car parks very close by but check the location & if you have a 4x4 like we have you wont get in the NCP car park (1.8mtr height restriction) & will need to use the alternative pay & display however it's across the road from the hotel & only £4.20 for 24hrs. The bathroom is a wet room which is very nice however when someone has had a shower you can't go in the bathroom without getting your feet wet. Overall a clean modern & comfortable hotel which we would definatly use again.

Reviewed by
carl f

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I accept the nature of the accommodation means small and minimalist but the lack of a shower divider meant spraying the entire bathroom!! Not very nice

Reviewed by
Roy W

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for work stopover
Compact - but that's the point. Great shower! Wifi.

Reviewed by
Anna S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small pod with a window. Spartan but has all necessary items and at £52 well priced. Brilliant advice leaflet in each room on eating and drinking locally and a map. Off a gorgeous square. I requested a quiet room and was given an end of corridor room which looked out onto empty offices. Sadly the sink was blocked so I was moved to another room which worked perfectly but was less quiet. Swift action taken and reception staff very apologetic. Wifi worked but insufficient bandwidth to skype. Only design quibble, bathrooms v. compact, after a shower the floor stays wet for several hours.

Reviewed by
A Agbebiyi

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another night in Brum...
I have tried a number of hotels all over this city, but I keep returning to Bloc for it's high standards and excellent service. If you want a luxiurious compact room, with everything in reach, this is the place... :-)

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and clean room!
Nice room and good if you are travelling alone like I was.

Reviewed by
hemanth n

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good value for money
Stayed here when visiting the NIA, location was perfect for this and really good value for money!

Reviewed by
Carly H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly Small but Cosy!
The hotel room was definately small but cosy. I would not share this room with anyone if I stayed again.The bed was large and soft and surprisingly large. The bathroom was very strange but the best feature was the shower coming from the ceiling like a waterfall.
I felt that some drinking water could have been left in the room but it was in the foyer's vending . No phone for room service in the room. If you required anything you would have to go down to the end of the hall to call reception or go to the reception!
Honestly I like the hotel but as I said it is too small to share.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline C

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, practical accommodation.
The hotel is practical for short stops. The rooms are described as cabins and they are. Bed was comfortable and clean. Air conditioning is in each room as well is a nice addition. The bathroom is a wet room, comprising of a shower, sink and toilet, the shower is powerful and drenches everything which is nice however this does include the toilet paper which is half covered by a metal shell. If you are sharing a room with a friend be aware the shower is surrounded by glass, which is shielded half way up, so if you are not embarrassed then it's ideal.
You are also given Internet access, wich I believe is secure as a code is given for you to sign in,
The only thing I felt was lacking is tea and coffee facilities within in the room. A machine is available in the reception area, but it is expensive and if you are like me and need regular hot beverages the cost soon mounts up.
Staff are very accommodating and helpful, checking in was a breeze.
As discribed it is basic, but comfortable. Overall very impressed.

Reviewed by
david l

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next