No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bloc birmingham
Small but well formed. No windows in rooms and dim lighting made it difficult to do make up. The glass bathroom is not for the shy!!

Reviewed by
H White

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Bloc
Needing a place to stay in Birmingham at the last minute, I came upon this place and thought what the hell it's one night. But even though there was no window, the room was really modern, has one of the best showers I have had in a hotel; and a good nights rest. Bit small...but didn't really mind that much.

Reviewed by
C Ford

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean room with a lot more room than the pictures suggest. Staff were all very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Will definitely be stopping here again when in birmingham :-)

Reviewed by
beth a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
The bloc hotel is a fantastic place to stay in Birmingham. It has everything you need and if you like the quiet streets of Birmingham you will like the bloc hotel.

Reviewed by
K Dwyer

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super funky cube/block room but needs a window !!
Super location, really nice place, staff are ace, easy to park, needs a window that can be opened though, woke with a real sore throat , apart from this is a really great hotel, I think for an extra £5 you can have a window
Watch out for the shower when you switch it on, stand back it's amazing but will make the whole wet room ..... Wet!! Keep your towel up high ,
All in all would defo stay again when next on business

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cool hotel in a cool area
Really simple concept, pleasantly minimalist and most importantly very comfy. The only down side is that there is no proper breakfast but this may change in time. So many hotels are below par for cheap room rates but this is not one of them.

Reviewed by
M Mannion

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately the hotel stinks of cigarettes
Unfortunately, despite looking great, the room reeked of cigarettes - as though a previous guest had been smoking in there and the room hadn't been aired (there are no windows in the rooms). A very helpful member of staff moved me to a new room - I didn't want to cause too much bother so didn't tell her the other room smelt of cigarettes too. This wasn't a subtle smell - it was like going back to a pub in the 1980s. Really odd. I wonder if fumes are being circulated by the air conditioning.

Reviewed by
Sarah A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky, different, worth a visit.
Although only staying a night, I was initially worried this hotels rooms would be too small for a couple. However I found it to be more cosy than limiting. Really liked the design of this hotel, quite different to most hotels. The only thing that may be an issue for some people is that the bathroom partition is glass and only shaded half way up. So if you are staying as a couple but aren't quite that comfortable yet, just ask your partner to remain seated! Would definitely stay here again, a unique experience.

Reviewed by
Alexandra F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great DIY Style Hotel
Value for money. Great customer service

Reviewed by
S James

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room, great value for money
I'd had previously stayed at the Bloc Hotel, but my fiance hadn't. He was rather surprised at the size of the room: it is small to say the least. However, the room is immaculately clean & the bed is comfortable. So comfortable, in fact, I didn't want to leave! Yes, the room is exceptionally small, however, if you are looking for clean & comfortable accommodation that is cheap & in a great location, then look no further.

Reviewed by
J Trenery

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next