No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish & modern. Very different!
Very different to any other hotel I have stayed in and I loved it! Very compact rooms but very stylish and modern. The temperature and lighting in the room can be controlled without getting out of bed. Perfect place to relax after a hard days work or play. Bed very comfortable and you can even make the room pitch dark during the day which I thought was great. This place won't be to everyone's taste, especially the lack of window in some rooms and the wetroom style bathroom which again is very modern and unlike anything I had seen before.

Reviewed by
R Ewing

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, we'll worth the money. Would definitely want to go back.

Reviewed by
C Warner

From , England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
Will only ever stay here when I come to Birmingham! Friendly, helpful staff; luxurious, clean rooms and fab location!

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
I stayed at the bloc hotel in Birmingham for a week on business. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive, the room was always clean when I returned later in the day and I found the discounts for nearby food locations to be extremely helpful. All in all a very professional and pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Sean H

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and Simple
I found the reception staff helpful and courteous, every morning I passed the front desk I was greeted with a 'good morning' which was appreciated. The room was as shown on the website and was clean and tidy upon arrival. When I returned in the evening the bed was made and fresh towels available. For the price I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Ryan M

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Illusion windows... Wow!
On entrance into the room it was very dark and surreal. The fake window with illusion lighting around it was the focal point, odd yet awesome. I did however feel a bit daft trying to figure out how to open the blinds to get natural light in. The room is small yet brilliant. Designed to be amazingly compact. Lots of little nice well thought out touches. The bathroom is brilliant too, basically a little wet room with one large wall mirror tile. Definitely recommend it. I'll be staying again soon I'm sure.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at Bloc after reading the reviews on laterooms. The room although small by hotel standards was bigger than I expected, the design, fittings and fixtures give the hotel a much more expensive feel. The layout of the room was cleverly done and the materials used in the room stone walls, leather panel with inset smart telly again add to feel of the place. Wet room with a rain shower again for the price excellent value for money. Area, although a fair walk from the centre this is a positive, the bars and restaurants in this area are much more chilled with a nice European vibe.

Reviewed by
Lee D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small but very good
A nice boutique hotel with tiny functional rooms.. a cool place to stay

Reviewed by
Alistair F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!
Absolutely loved this funky hotel, compact but adequate room, very clever with space and lighting. Fantastic shower, clean room. Excellent value for money. Very similar to Yotel in New York, but a lot calmer and chilled out!! Staff very friendly and helpful, I really enjoyed my stay, would definitely go to Bloc again.

Reviewed by
Vicky M

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bloc was good
Small were as advertised. Very sleek and modern. Not much space in the room as expected but very nice fixtures and lighting, cool TV and a wetroom with very nice shower. There isn't much privacy between the bathroom and the bedroom so only suitable for singles or couples. Quirky hotel, well worth a visit over other hotels, same price as travel lodge...

Reviewed by
A Crennell

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.