No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 170 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Great location and functional pod-like accommodation. Great VFM.

Reviewed by
J Mound

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and warm
I really enjoyed my stay - an overnighter for a night out in Birmingham. The room is (as advertised) small, but less so than I feared, and it was warm and clean. The wetroom is fine. Good quality towels also.
Soundproofing is not ideal, but I slept well with no disturbances
I would definitely book this hotel again

Reviewed by
Chris T

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bloc - fab all round
Absolutely loved this hotel. Needed somewhere for an overnight business trip and it was perfect. The rooms are small but there was enough space. They are done to a really high standard (think malmaison) and have fab showers. Great big comfy beds, loads of pillows, spotlessly clean, safe, great customer service. Wish Bloc had a hotel in every city.

Reviewed by
Georgina T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
CERI ROWLANDS

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take your own drinks and food - great shower though
Great shower; Comfy bed; good location; No complimentary tea/coffee; Expensive minimal breakfast option; otherwise ok.

Reviewed by
Alexander M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Fine for an overnight stay, clean and within walking distance of some good restaurants in St Pauls Square, and the City Centre. On the downside, we stayed in room 114 which was directly opposite the staff cleaning store so it was noisy on the inside and rubbish being deposited and collected on the other side just below our window meant we didn't get any sleep. Would stay again but not in 114

Reviewed by
T Thomas

From Yeovil, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

By far the best hotel I have stayed in, me and my boyfriend loved it, recommended for the younger generation and couples, very stylish, will be back!

Reviewed by
j ward

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult to beat this one
Every so often you come across a business that has got it right, BLOC is a good example. They have created the almost perfect environment for the traveller who wants to get their head down in a stylish, no frills hotel. BLOC has everything you would want in a "no food" hotel, without any of the waste. Sparkling clean rooms, comfortable bed, nice thick towels and the shower to die for.
Give it a try, I do not work for them, I do not have any involvement, I run the lawnscience franchise, but I can recognise a class operator!!

Reviewed by
Terence Nicholson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality in a box
thoroughly loved everything about our stay. the room is superbly clean and the fixtures and fittings of top quality.... What you see is what you get.... A kingsize bed was a nice change for my husband whos feet hang over the end of any other bed..... It was for a weekend which was fine, not sure you could stay a week without a wardrobe, but then hey! great accommodation for an overnighter! If you are at the Jamhouse, this is right across the road....... and 5 minutes walk to town and stations...... The only downside, is no tea and coffee in your room so take drinks with you......

Reviewed by
Sharon Morris

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
For a budget hotel, this hotel was surprisingly very clean and modern. I had a late check in and it was an easy process.
However, I do believe that customer service was lacking.
The hotel receptionist offered to book a cab for me, which I agreed too although I intended to call a different cab. The cab man started to take me to Priory Hosp instead of Priory Rooms and I got him to take me there halfway thru. Things got nasty when he wanted to charge me for taking me to the wrong place. Cab driver cursed and called me names that were racist and sexist. I called to inform the hotel reception afterwards to report to them what took place and I was really surprised by the lack of empathy in the response I got.

Reviewed by
Lara O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.