No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room, great value for money
I'd had previously stayed at the Bloc Hotel, but my fiance hadn't. He was rather surprised at the size of the room: it is small to say the least. However, the room is immaculately clean & the bed is comfortable. So comfortable, in fact, I didn't want to leave! Yes, the room is exceptionally small, however, if you are looking for clean & comfortable accommodation that is cheap & in a great location, then look no further.

Reviewed by
J Trenery

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, nice location
Really impressed with this hotel, very stylish! Easy to find in a quiet location and close to the shops. I certainly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Hannah K

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean modern trendy building.
Very nice from the outside. Very modern building. The room was tiny, I paid extra for a window which didnt even open, nor was it supposed to, although the view was lovely. No phone for room service nor tea or coffee. Nonetheless the room was immaculate and everything worked including a modern tv etc. The wetroom was nice and I had a lovely shower. The staff were lovely and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Grace E

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room, extremely hot and stuffy even with air con on coolest setting. Shower head wasn't working well. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Similar sort of concept to 'nitenite' hotels, except nitenite is a great place to stay!

Reviewed by
Omar A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking - amazing shower!
The shower and bathroom/wet room was amazing!
The room was small but you expect that from the description.
Funky décor and lighting.
Would definitely recommend and stay again given the chance.

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slept very well on the comfy mattress and in the pitch black. Lovely shower and friendly staff. The lighting makes it a bit difficult to do makeup- my only criticism.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay
Myself and my partner visited this hotel for the first time back in December for the Christmas Market.
We both absolutely loved out stay yet again and the hotel were extremely helpful as they met our requests of dropping our bags off before check in and accommodating us on the top floor and a corner room to minimise any potential noise from other guests. (Something that on both occasions has been a minor problem but of no fault of the hotel.) We did pay more on this stay that the first one because it was the Easter Holiday but it was still completely worth the money at £59!
I really recommend this hotel as on my second visit I loved it as much as the first. Excellent customer service, great rooms and a great price! Oh and another really handy thing I forgot to mention on my first review is there is a taxi rank literally a few doors down, really helpful for those that aren't locals like us!

Reviewed by
Georgia Hunt

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Box Heaven
Cute rooms, great mood lighting, fab shower, great view angle for TV, comfy bed, Air Con that works, no window but who cares.

Reviewed by
Tim Cottrell

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Top quality standard in every aspect, great service, great environment, very modern and tidy room

Reviewed by
R Chan

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lone female
Feels claustrophobic, very warm. No kettle for early morning cuppa!

Reviewed by
C Davis

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next