No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bloc Hotel Birmingham

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Caroline Street , Birmingham, B3 1UG
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Breakfast-to-go available Monday -Friday £5.50 per person. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Picture of Bloc Hotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult to beat this one
Every so often you come across a business that has got it right, BLOC is a good example. They have created the almost perfect environment for the traveller who wants to get their head down in a stylish, no frills hotel. BLOC has everything you would want in a "no food" hotel, without any of the waste. Sparkling clean rooms, comfortable bed, nice thick towels and the shower to die for.
Give it a try, I do not work for them, I do not have any involvement, I run the lawnscience franchise, but I can recognise a class operator!!

Reviewed by
Terence Nicholson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality in a box
thoroughly loved everything about our stay. the room is superbly clean and the fixtures and fittings of top quality.... What you see is what you get.... A kingsize bed was a nice change for my husband whos feet hang over the end of any other bed..... It was for a weekend which was fine, not sure you could stay a week without a wardrobe, but then hey! great accommodation for an overnighter! If you are at the Jamhouse, this is right across the road....... and 5 minutes walk to town and stations...... The only downside, is no tea and coffee in your room so take drinks with you......

Reviewed by
Sharon Morris

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
For a budget hotel, this hotel was surprisingly very clean and modern. I had a late check in and it was an easy process.
However, I do believe that customer service was lacking.
The hotel receptionist offered to book a cab for me, which I agreed too although I intended to call a different cab. The cab man started to take me to Priory Hosp instead of Priory Rooms and I got him to take me there halfway thru. Things got nasty when he wanted to charge me for taking me to the wrong place. Cab driver cursed and called me names that were racist and sexist. I called to inform the hotel reception afterwards to report to them what took place and I was really surprised by the lack of empathy in the response I got.

Reviewed by
Lara O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what i needed
yes this is not a 5 star all singing all dancing hotel, however if you need somewhere to stay for a reasonable price, in a central location and it is quiet then this hotel is perfect. would I stay again - yes I would!

Reviewed by
R Elliott

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and bespoke room would stay again! Brill location for jam house. Staff were pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
D Jacques

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dodgy waterworks broken sink rubbish shower noisy corridor
There was continuous noise through our stay everytime the toilet flushed the pipes would shake the sink would not drain the water I had to manually do it! The shower kept turning off and on for 20mins in the morning and ppl were so loud in the corridor. I'm quite laid back and I have stayed here many times but was very disappointed this time bloc hotel!

Reviewed by
Sonia S

From Birmingham , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
Stayed in the premium double room (with a window) it was really good, the room was nice, quite a walk from new street, paradise forum and broad street

Reviewed by
D Campbell

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Good value for money, room compact but good and the shower is different class!

Reviewed by
Ollie W

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Rooms are small but good.

Reviewed by
David H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great
Brilliant accommodation. The building from the outside is swanky and the inside of the building including the reception area also. The staff at the Bloc hotel are very helpful and pleasant. The room itself was amazing and very star trek like but the only downfall is that the room I choose to stay in had no window for a nice fresh breeze but I found out that you have to pay slightly more for a room with a window, strange I know but hey overall great place and also the location of the venue is nice!

Reviewed by
I Duggall

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next