No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Westbourne

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Biskey Howe Road, , , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JR
The Westbourne is a beautiful, traditionally stone-built Lakeland guest house situated in a peaceful area just below the local beauty spot Biskey Howe, a panoramic viewpoint and within two minutes walk from restaurants and shops. Our Lake District bed & breakfast has 7 en suite bedrooms that have been tastefully furnished to a very high standard - each with its own style and character. The Westbourne offer its visitors the best of two worlds with, on one side several walks with beautiful views starting on the door step and, on the other side, an abundance of restaurant, shops, the Bowness cinema and health clubs as well as boat tours being a short stroll away. The Westbourne is also the perfect escape for couples looking for a candle-lit lounge with a log fire to relax by in winter, or a garden terrace to enjoy on summer days. Our elegant bedrooms have all been designed with a modern contemporary look. High ceilings in this traditional stone house give rooms a light, spacious feel. All rooms are en suite with walk-in showers. As you would expect with a 4 star silver awarded guest house, we offer quality beds and 5 star Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxurious toiletries in the bathrooms, large fluffy towels (and plenty of them) and an amazing hospitality tray offering coffee, tea, herbal teas, hot chocolate, cappuccino and biscuits, replenished daily. Hairdryers, fans, televisions and clock radios are standard in all rooms and ironing facilities are available. Ample parking is available to all our guests. For longer stays, transport from and to your home can be arranged. A free pick-up from Windermere Station is available on request. We look forward to welcoming you to Bowness and The Lake District. We are sure you will enjoy your stay.
Picture of The Westbourne, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
Excellent accommodation, Great Breakfasts, Friendly helpful owners, short walk to main street of Bowness and lakeside, if you are staying in Bowness on Windermere thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Graham N

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A surprise weekend
The westbourne was a lovely guest house with friendly hosts and staff. We would come here again as the location was 10 minutes away from the shops, bars and lake.

Reviewed by
S Stanley

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday break
A compact but comfortable room. Great food and service provided by the lovely owners. Reasonably priced honesty bar and nice atmosphere. Brilliant location for walking around Windermere. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ross Paradine

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience
The room was very clean and particularly well presented. We were amply impressed by the size of the bed which we later realised was two singles pushed together however, we remained impressed until we used the 'shower' in the morning where what we encountered could only be described as a drip. That said, breakfast made up for it and was delightful, with a spread one couldn't possibly manage to consume entirely.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend getaway
Such a beautiful friendly b&b. The owners were incredibly helpful and welcoming, the facilities were fantastic, the location perfect and an excellent value for money.
I will definitely be back, and recommending this b&b.

Reviewed by
L Hughes

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We stayed at the Westbourne for one night in March. Very good location, close to the attractions but just out of earshot of any possible unwanted noises. The owners made you feel completely at home and are very helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
G Marr

From Seascale, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place
this is the perfect place to stay whilst in Windermere ! its so clean, the staff are friendly, its décor is stunning, its quiet, yet within easy walking distance from the shops. We have stayed in some very expensive hotels , but this one carries all the quality but not the price tag ! thanks for a wonderful stay !! highly recommended. but 1 tiny fault our room and bed was small room no 2 !! although it was the last room, our next visit we will book early.
Thanks to all the staff.

Reviewed by
e westland

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Lovely, friendly and extremely comfortable guest house. Bed was huuuge and the breakfasts were excellent. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Kevin Farrell

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice guest house , Clean and the owners friendly. Comfy beds and nice decor in rooms . Easy walking distance to bowness and carpark on the side of guesthouse ..we would definately book again

Reviewed by
a maden

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakeland weekend
A top quality guest house, close to all the amenities of Bowness with excellent hosts. Terrific value for money. On site parking.

Reviewed by
David Tracey

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next