No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SORN INN

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
35 MAIN STREET , Sorn, By Mauchline, KA56HU
The Sorn Inn is located in the lovely Ayrshire village of Sorn, convenient for local shoots in season and fishing on the River Ayr with fishing permits available locally. We are also in comfortable driving distance of all the world famous links golf courses on the Ayrshire coastline, such as Royal Troon, Turnberry, Prestwick and Gailes. Our most convenient airport is Prestwick only 30 minutes by car and Glasgow Airport is 45 minutes by car.

We feature in the Michelin 2013 Red Guide. We also feature in the Michelin 'Eating Out in Pubs and Inns Guide'

We are now featuring a completely new style of menu, a fusion of fine dining and brassiere style food available both in the Chop House and Restaurant, using the best seasonal and local fresh ingredients available.
Picture of THE SORN INN, Sorn, By Mauchline at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yet another good stay.
The Sorn Inn is as usual good value and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathrobes first class. ( waffle cotton) we ate in the bar area (perhaps not the best place for an English man and his scottish wife with the yes no vote coming up). The food was first class as usual. We might be back if passports aren't needed!!!

Reviewed by
Laraine Cox

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drambuie Glazed Porridge! Worth a second visit for this alone.
Great pub, friendly atmosphere, good food and nice room. Too full from the previous evening to face full cooked (tip - leave room as it looked and smelt fantastic) so just had the Drambuie porridge. Perfect.
Downside bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and waste paper basket still had previous occupants rubbish in. Minor issues and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Barbara P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely meal friendly staff

Reviewed by
Alastair N

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out of this world
As a business traveler I get bored of the recognised brands even the high end ones so always like the character of independent hotels. the Sorn did not disappoint.
Comfortable room, peaceful location and food to die for. Off the beaten track a little but I would go out of my way to stay again.
Faultless.

Reviewed by
f duffy

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was spotlessly clean staff were really friendly food was amazing such a great way to relax for a few days if you are looking for a place to destress the sorn inn is the place to stay

Reviewed by
J Gray

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome in rural Scotland
Used as a bolt hole for the Commonwealth Games so unable to enjoy the renowned breakfast, We were welcomed even though we would be late. night returnees and an early departure.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
The food at the Sorn Inn is truly outstanding. We travelled for over four hours just to eat here again. You really haven't lived until you've eaten a steak at Sorn - it's that good.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Betley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Liam M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and food. Hard to fault
Reason for 5 rating on customer service was that no meals served on a Monday. Could be inconvenient if not own transport as location is fairly remote.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Highbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
We left it late to book somewhere and as a result there was a lack of choice due to time of the year & Commonwealth Games going on in Glasgow. The Sorn Inn is a bit out of the way, but met our needs completely. Nice food in the restaurant and a nice comfy room. The Landlord / Owner, along with his staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Steve Brind

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next