Reviews - THE SORN INN


35 MAIN STREET, Sorn, By Mauchline, KA56HU

Price From 126.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (35)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris H

  • August 2015

Quiet location. Clean and comfortable room. Good food

Convenient and quiet location in village centre, 5 mins from main A76.

Modern building with clean and comfortable room and easy parking. Good food and friendly service.

  • David M

  • July 2015


We were disappointed with our stay at the Sorn Inn.

We were influenced in our choice by the reviews it had - 4.6 -5 stars. That rating is very misleading. This is an old Inn in a small village. There was a stale smell of food about the place when we arrived. The room was fine although the bathroom was a bit dated. Both were very clean. I suspect most of the rating has come from the restaurant. However, my meal was extremely disappointing. I had ordered Organic Chicken Supreme, Lemon and Thyme Mousse, \parmesan Gnocchi and broccoli puree. The chicken came as three towers approx. 3 inches high and 1.5 inches diameter. These cylinders contained both the chicken and the mousse, so not much organic chicken there. I was expecting a chicken breast. Added to the plate, and presumably to fill it out were three pieces of oyster mushroom which were just like rubber and couldn't be cut never mind eaten. I was offered a complimentary tea or coffee as an apology but I didn't want either. When we paid out bill the next morning I had hoped that there might have been a small reduction. I commented on this and was promptly told that 12 other people had had the same meal and no one had complained. The breakfast was good except for the burned toast which should never have come out of the kitchen. It was obviously the leftover fancy bread from the night before. I'm afraid our stay at the Sorn Inn didn't quite live up to our expectations. . .

  • Robert J

  • June 2015

  • Maureen B

  • May 2015

What a find

This was a little gem.

We were staying away for three nights in Scotland, a little road trip. This looked beforehand to be the least favourable. How wrong were we. It was head and shoulders above the other two. We were very well received, gutted we had already eaten as the restaurant looked superb. Our room, no suite, was wonderful, very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat. Loved all the artwork. Only slight drawback was going through the toilet corridor to access rooms. Not sure if anything could be done about that. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • jim mc coll

  • February 2015

One night stay near my birth town

I made a mistake when booking my room.

I stayed here 3 years ago and thought the room very good. The room on this visit was much smaller . The answer: take more care when booking.

  • lynne gould

  • January 2015


Booked a two night stay at this lovely little inn for a rest and to recharge after the Christmas period.

From telephoning the inn to double check the booking the service was outstanding. The Sorn has customer care sorted. All of the staff without exception were friendly, helpful and warm in their welcome. The service was the best Ive ever experienced. Attentive without encroaching on our privacy, sociable and professional. Now, the best bit.......the food. Gorgeous, well presented and very tasty. Well priced for the quality on offer. Good range, good sized portions all professionally delivered. Wonderful bread, porridge to die for, tasty full scottish breakfast. Oh, and reasonably priced wine. £14.50 for a delightful bottle of Merlot. Only minor complaint is we drank it all on the friday night so had to move to Shiraz on the saturday. Oh well.. Will definitely be going back, thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Cathy K

  • December 2014

There was an excellent choice for evening meal and I thought the fish dish I selected was beautifully cooked and delicious – my only regret is that I did not try one of the desserts.

The full cooked breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. My room was very well presented, with a comfortable king size bed, and pristine en suite shower room. The staff members were very welcoming. Travelling by car I found that the Inn itself was very conveniently located for my planned tour of Dumfries House and its grounds – and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Denise Bubb

  • November 2014

The Sorn Inn was ideal for us.

It is dog friendly, very clean, great service and the food was excellent .We were so impressed we stayed on our way to our holiday and on the way back.

  • Noel M

  • October 2014

Great food and service

The accommodation at this Inn is very good.

Rooms are spacious and clean. What really sets this place apart is the quality if the food. It is excellent quality and very good portion sizes. The Drambuie porridge at breakfast was fantastic and that alone would be worth the visit!!

  • T Booth

  • October 2014

Customer service

Was excellent,very friendly,room was brilliant and very clean can't fault it in any way