No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - THE SORN INN

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
35 MAIN STREET , Sorn, By Mauchline, KA56HU
The Sorn Inn is located in the lovely Ayrshire village of Sorn, convenient for local shoots in season and fishing on the River Ayr with fishing permits available locally. We are also in comfortable driving distance of all the world famous links golf courses on the Ayrshire coastline, such as Royal Troon, Turnberry, Prestwick and Gailes. Our most convenient airport is Prestwick only 30 minutes by car and Glasgow Airport is 45 minutes by car.

We feature in the Michelin 2013 Red Guide. We also feature in the Michelin 'Eating Out in Pubs and Inns Guide'

We are now featuring a completely new style of menu, a fusion of fine dining and brassiere style food available both in the Chop House and Restaurant, using the best seasonal and local fresh ingredients available.
Picture of THE SORN INN, Sorn, By Mauchline at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and service
The accommodation at this Inn is very good. Rooms are spacious and clean. What really sets this place apart is the quality if the food. It is excellent quality and very good portion sizes. The Drambuie porridge at breakfast was fantastic and that alone would be worth the visit!!

Reviewed by
Noel M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sorn Inn was ideal for us. It is dog friendly, very clean, great service and the food was excellent .We were so impressed we stayed on our way to our holiday and on the way back.

Reviewed by
Denise Bubb

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Just perfect for a one night stay. The breakfast was outstanding!!

Reviewed by
Lynsey Hutchison

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service
Was excellent,very friendly,room was brilliant and very clean can't fault it in any way

Reviewed by
T Booth

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel
Stayed 3 nights and it was perfect, we felt so welcome , had a problem with TV went out for the day came back to find a new tv ! Can't get better service . The food was lovely, I'm going back just for the banoffee cheesecake .

Reviewed by
A Ogg

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was an excellent choice for evening meal and I thought the fish dish I selected was beautifully cooked and delicious – my only regret is that I did not try one of the desserts! The full cooked breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. My room was very well presented, with a comfortable king size bed, and pristine en suite shower room. The staff members were very welcoming. Travelling by car I found that the Inn itself was very conveniently located for my planned tour of Dumfries House and its grounds – and I would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Cathryn K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you could not stay anywhere better
a great place to stay service was beyond superb, staff could not do enough, the managment ethic of if its not good enough for me or you then its not good enough for guests

Reviewed by
M Read

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yet another good stay.
The Sorn Inn is as usual good value and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathrobes first class. ( waffle cotton) we ate in the bar area (perhaps not the best place for an English man and his scottish wife with the yes no vote coming up). The food was first class as usual. We might be back if passports aren't needed!!!

Reviewed by
Laraine Cox

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drambuie Glazed Porridge! Worth a second visit for this alone.
Great pub, friendly atmosphere, good food and nice room. Too full from the previous evening to face full cooked (tip - leave room as it looked and smelt fantastic) so just had the Drambuie porridge. Perfect.
Downside bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and waste paper basket still had previous occupants rubbish in. Minor issues and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Barbara P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely meal friendly staff

Reviewed by
Alastair N

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next