No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amor Matris

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
2, Park Grove , York, YO31 8LG
Welcome to Amor Matris Guest House. A small family run business Ideally located opposite the scenic River Foss and 5 minutes walk from the centre of the beautiful City of York, the house has boutique charm and retains all of its Victorian period character. The architect designed the house for his mother, so she could have sunlight in every room at different points of the day - hence the name "Amor Martis" latin for "The love of mother".

Each guest room is large, comfortable and airy whilst hosting stunning panoramic views of the spectacular York Minster. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, you will leave us feeling rejuvenated and touched by the unique charm of this accommodation. Chris and Therese the hoteliers pride themselves on their many years experience within the hospitality business and will make you feel at ease and ensure your stay is memorable and enjoyable experience. This accommodation is ideal for a short city break, attending a race meeting, or just for a romantic getaway with a loved one.

***PLEASE GIVE SPECIFIC ARRIVAL TIME UPON RESERVATION***

**Please note ONLY ONE OF THE ROOMS has a shower in it, unfortunately to retain all the period architectural features we have not added en-suite facilities into the rooms.

We are located just a 5 minute walk from the centre of York, in the 'Huntington Road' area of the city. We are also located just a ten minutes walk to York rail station. Included in the cost of your stay is off-street secure parking, and a renowned freshly cooked breakfast by Therese.
Picture of Amor Matris, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cozy, nice hotel
Very close to the center of York for the sights and attractions (10mins walk). We stayed in a very nice, clean, spacious, cozy room with a comfortable bed. Added extra with a kettle (&tea, coffee etc), sink, large wardrobe and multiple mirrors.
The owners were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was also very nice. Great value for money. We enjoyed our stay a lot and if we have the chance we will be definitely returning in the future. We highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Michala D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amor Matris York-comes highly recommended!
Had an absolutely fabulous stay in this very cosy family run b and b and my only regret was that I could only stay for one night. Located only five minute's walk from York Minster I arrived there in the middle of the Jorvik Viking Festival where accommodation in most establishments cost a pretty penny. For a very reasonable £35 I got a beautiful centrally heated room and a hearty English breakfast. The owners were a credit to the hospitality industry and nothing was too much trouble. In short if you're in York for any length don't hesitate to check out Amor Matris. Comes highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Luke G

From via New Ross, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value in good location
It is true you do get what you pay for and a single room at £35 is never going to be glamorous or particularly spacious. But it was certainly a more comfortable sleep than experienced in many a hotel and the breakfast was excellent. 10 minutes walk into the city centre and a comfortable lounge to spend evening in should you want to. All in all, a great value stopover

Reviewed by
will s

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The B&B is just a short distance from the city centre. The staff and owners were great.

Reviewed by
R Turner

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night out in York City
This was an extremely quaint accommodation. If you want to feel as you are staying at Downton Abbey this is the place for you the accommodation was more than adequate for a single person. As soon as I had taken a shower in the shared bathroom the landlady was in like a flash to clean it. I even left my watch on the cistern and this was returned by the time I had gone down for breakfast. Top quality English, plenty of food to set me up for my day. Private parking at no extra cost and the bonus was I could leave it the next day.

Reviewed by
d piercy

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
amor matris run by a lovely couple and very welcoming, this is an affordable guest house within 5 mins walk from the city centre, we stayed overnight for a family birthday meal out in york, but already planning another overnight stay just because its so affordable and easy access to the centre.
another BIG bonus is being able to book for just one night, most places in york will only accept two night bookings.

Reviewed by
jon a

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cigarette Ash
After booking an ensuite room, we were told it was now not available so we had been allocated a shared bathroom room. When we arrived the first smell you are hit with is cigarette smoke, the lady who met us was kind and courteus. The room stank of dettol, room was fine, beds fine, it was quiet through the night. Breakfast was nice but marred when i discovered a large piece of cigarette ash on my coffee cup saucer. I alerted the staff who apologised and removed the saucer, we decided to leave after that and was told on check out that it must be other guests who smoke on the premises, including the rooms and bathroom. We felt this was an excuse as the lady in charge is a smoker and we left.

Reviewed by
ian dowson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was small and basic without TV. Wasn't a major problem. However had I wanted to spend more time in room which I often do on these trips a TV would have been nice. For time of year and city location I guess it was reasonable value for money. Ordinarily I would expect in suite and TV for the price I paid but time of year and location dictate the price. Also would have preffered a one night stay but a the guest house stipulated two nights minimum. All minor grumbles because overall it was ok but breakfast was a slight issue due to lack of tables.

Reviewed by
john whitfield

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
My husband & I had a lovely stay, we felt welcome and loved our big spacious room. We were close to the centre and enjoyed our visit to the Christmas fayre. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to York.

Reviewed by
L Boyle

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant little Guest House
Amor Matris is a pleasant guest house, really nice couple run it, food very good, service very good, room clean and tidy and positioned brilliantly for the 'older' part of York, being five minutes from Monk Bar and Goodramgate which is where the main food and pub area seems to be concentrated. Very good value for money; if you want a super-slick all bells and whistles mega modern room, pay double somewhere else for it, but as a place to base yourself for a spell in York, it is brilliant.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next