No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amor Matris

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
2, Park Grove , York, YO31 8LG
Welcome to Amor Matris Guest House. A small family run business Ideally located opposite the scenic River Foss and 5 minutes walk from the centre of the beautiful City of York, the house has boutique charm and retains all of its Victorian period character. The architect designed the house for his mother, so she could have sunlight in every room at different points of the day - hence the name "Amor Martis" latin for "The love of mother".

Each guest room is large, comfortable and airy whilst hosting stunning panoramic views of the spectacular York Minster. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, you will leave us feeling rejuvenated and touched by the unique charm of this accommodation. Chris and Therese the hoteliers pride themselves on their many years experience within the hospitality business and will make you feel at ease and ensure your stay is memorable and enjoyable experience. This accommodation is ideal for a short city break, attending a race meeting, or just for a romantic getaway with a loved one.

***PLEASE GIVE SPECIFIC ARRIVAL TIME UPON RESERVATION***

**Please note ONLY ONE OF THE ROOMS has a shower in it, unfortunately to retain all the period architectural features we have not added en-suite facilities into the rooms.

We are located just a 5 minute walk from the centre of York, in the 'Huntington Road' area of the city. We are also located just a ten minutes walk to York rail station. Included in the cost of your stay is off-street secure parking, and a renowned freshly cooked breakfast by Therese.
Picture of Amor Matris, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Family-run BandB
We arrived late(ish) on a Friday evening to a very friendly welcome from the hosts and were shown to our room and everything explained to us. The room was a large top story room with beautiful view out over the minster and was clean and well kept. We then went out for food and drink and the location was then highlighted as a 5 - 10 minute walk in to the city centre where there is a wealth of different restaurants and bars all worth of a visit. The following morning breakfast was served as a good choice of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a full breakfast, all of which was cooked well and good quality. The theme continued for the duration of the stay and upon reflection I would recommend the place for anyone looking for a break in York.

Reviewed by
Kevin Vincent

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hosts and room.

Reviewed by
Gina Dowling

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice owner and staff but dated guest house is in need of some TLC
Owner is very nice, welcoming and helpful. The staff we met at breakfast were also very nice and helpful. The house - communal areas and bedrooms (certainly the one we stayed in, which was the only one with an 'en-suite' shower cubicle) are in need of attention. The carpets and décor need refreshed. The shower cubicle was quite dirty and hair from previous guests was found in this area. The on/off button on the shower was broken off. The shower cubicle surround, a strange metal and glass contraption that came to waist height below a shower curtain, was rusty and the entry/exit section didn't work. The wallpaper was peeling off in this cubicle too. The headboards in our 1st floor twin room were (originally) white/cream velour and appeared very grubby. I plugged the TV in and found a thick layer of dust on top of the socket. There is one shared bathroom/toilet on the first floor. The bathroom suite here is grey while the replacement toilet seat is white!! just adding to the dated appearance of the place.
Positives - The lady who owns/runs the guest house is lovely and breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal accommodation for a tourist visiting the City of York
I had an attic bedroom which was basic but adequate for my needs. The owners Theresa and Chris were welcoming and helpful and made my short stay enjoyable. Breakfast menu catered for all taste and was excellent. The location could not be better for a visitor seeking easy and close access the sites of York City

Reviewed by
K MacLean

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was surprised to be charged again at the hotel . I did pay online at he time of booking but the hotel insisted I had to pay again and told me the late rooms help desk wasn't open because it was bank holday , I just hope late rooms don't take my money ad well .

Reviewed by
ann w

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owners very welcoming and helpful , charming old property with parking facilities and a small garden which I did not have time to enjoy. Breakfast was very good, more than adequate and the bone china in use, very nice. The room I booked was described as basic which it was and I think if it were given a fresh lick of paint and some bright bedding the owners could easily ask another £10 per night for this room. Good value and got what I paid for.

Reviewed by
Pamela W

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple B and B with simple but very good accommodation, service and food.

Reviewed by
John Beckett

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Nice old house plenty character,gr8 hosts very nice couple couldn't do enough for us.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Budget accommodation. Main requirement was quiet, safe and secure place and it was all these things. Friendly, helpful owners.
Room a bit dated, but this is reflected in the price. I was happy enough as I was out with friends all evening and didn't need to do more than sleep in it.
At this price in York, you have the choice between hostel single room - central, modern but with potential noise issue and this type of B&B - outside the city walls, more traditional décor, but quite and secure.

Reviewed by
Greg H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great price, excellent value for money. We were very happy with the room and the bed was very comfortable! The service was great and the location was perfect. The only minor complaint is the vegetarian breakfast option - it wouldn't cost the earth to stick some veggie sausages in the freezer! That said, we can't really moan given the price we paid.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next