Reviews - Amor Matris


2, Park Grove, York, YO31 8LG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert W

  • August 2015

Amor Matris

Very friendly and helpful but standard of accommodation (room 5) very poor.

Breakfast was excellent and served by a very nice lady. Owners very attentive and great with directions etc.

  • Liam F

  • August 2015

Good if you're just there to see York

The hotel was okay, but not as good as my expectations.

It had a funny smell which can put you off when you arrive. Overall, the owners were quite friendly and the room we stayed in (the attic) was nicely decorated and homely. I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • N Denny

  • July 2015

Amor matris

A beautiful guest house which has been unspoilt.

Old building but charming and full of character. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and made us feel at home. We will definitely be going back.

  • M Green

  • July 2015

Great value

Felt very welcome and couldn't do enough for me.

  • Daniel G

  • May 2015

Very friendly staff but the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired . . .

Upon arrival the couple were outside gardening and so were immediately available to met and greet, they both guided us into the small car park and then the lady owner took us straight to our room.

The couple were very friendly throughout our stay and were helpful in all situations. Unfortunately the interior of this building is very old, tired and out dated throughout. We stayed in the double on the top floor, with a toilet across the landing and the bathroom on the floor below, although the booking did not state ensuite it didn't explain this either. The decor throughout the building is poor, the furniture unattractive and furnishings stained and old

Our room was a good size but the decor was poor, the furniture unattractive and furnishings stained and old - rickety TV stand, stained rug, stained chair covers, DIY 3D wall art, ill fitting and old fashioned curtains. The room was also dirty around the edges and very dusty in places.

Although we were very disappointed with the room I will say the bed was comfy, the bedding clean and the towels smelt fresh. The breakfast was ok but again the decor of the breakfast room, the table cloths, condiments, glasses etc were outdated and tired. The old wood floor throughout really could have been more of a feature if everything else had been shabby chic instead of just shabby. Some elements of this hotel's interior just needed a good clean or refurb, others just needed throwing out and replacing.

  • Mark Ainsworth

  • April 2015

Staying in York

I can highly recommend the Amor Matris B&B.

This establishment is only about 10 minutes walk from the York city wall and the Minister. I was given a fine welcome and a good Breakfasts. It has parking and a very pleasant outdoor area (where smoking is permitted). My bedroom was comfortable with a view of York Minister. I will return soon.

  • Michala D

  • March 2015

Very cozy, nice hotel

Very close to the center of York for the sights and attractions (10mins walk).

We stayed in a very nice, clean, spacious, cozy room with a comfortable bed. Added extra with a kettle (&tea, coffee etc), sink, large wardrobe and multiple mirrors.

The owners were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was also very nice. Great value for money. We enjoyed our stay a lot and if we have the chance we will be definitely returning in the future. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Luke G

  • February 2015

Amor Matris York-comes highly recommended!

Had an absolutely fabulous stay in this very cosy family run b and b and my only regret was that I could only stay for one night.

Located only five minute's walk from York Minster I arrived there in the middle of the Jorvik Viking Festival where accommodation in most establishments cost a pretty penny. For a very reasonable £35 I got a beautiful centrally heated room and a hearty English breakfast. The owners were a credit to the hospitality industry and nothing was too much trouble. In short if you're in York for any length don't hesitate to check out Amor Matris. Comes highly recommended!

  • d piercy

  • February 2015

Good night out in York City

This was an extremely quaint accommodation.

If you want to feel as you are staying at Downton Abbey this is the place for you the accommodation was more than adequate for a single person. As soon as I had taken a shower in the shared bathroom the landlady was in like a flash to clean it. I even left my watch on the cistern and this was returned by the time I had gone down for breakfast. Top quality English, plenty of food to set me up for my day. Private parking at no extra cost and the bonus was I could leave it the next day.

  • will s

  • February 2015

Great value in good location

It is true you do get what you pay for and a single room at £35 is never going to be glamorous or particularly spacious.

But it was certainly a more comfortable sleep than experienced in many a hotel and the breakfast was excellent. 10 minutes walk into the city centre and a comfortable lounge to spend evening in should you want to. All in all, a great value stopover