No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chad Hill Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
7, Hill Street , Sandown, PO36 9DD
Enjoy this Charming Victorian mansion with a relaxed atmosphere set in a quiet, central area of Sandown with ample free private parking. Close to all amenities and transport links. Rooms are fully equipped with everything you need to make your stay comfortable, four poster and family rooms available. Any day bookings.
Enjoy full English breakfast or Dinner in our elegant restaurant.

Our cosy cocktail bar, fully stocked wine cellar and tasty bar snacks are always available.

Free pick up service available from Sandown train station.
Picture of Chad Hill Hotel, Sandown at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, homely and professional. Nothing too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Jan Smith

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
A good all rounder, was value for money. Location was excellent for attractions and beach also train station close for easy communting to the rest of the isle. Accommodating with toddler in mind, changed the room to a more spacious one.
Very pleasant hosts, thank you very much

Reviewed by
rubly b

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for one night stay
Owners were very welcoming and pleasant. They had a water issue on our night of stay a burst pipe which was unfortunate therefore no water available in room. They did their best and called a plumber and recognised the problem. The rooms are basic , lovely Victorian house but a make over would be beneficial and more appealing for longer stays. Good breakfast and nice quiet area of Sandown. It's price per night is reflected in the quality of the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Angie Dunn

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming but Decor needs a refresh
Stayed here with my partner for the weekend as visiting family on the Island. Judy our host made us very welcome and kindly arranged the Ferry for me. The breakfast was also very nice. The building itself is beautiful on the outside with lovely victorian hallway and sweeping staircase. The decor is dated and a little cluttered for my taste. The room was large, with a nice comfy bed but it was awkward to get into the ensuite shower room as the door opened the wrong way round. Wifi was a bit weak and there was no BBC1 an BBC2 signal on the TV. However the price did reflect this and it was cheaper than most places in Sandown which meant the place was fully booked where others were half empty. Overall good value for money

Reviewed by
Julia P

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel
We stayed at Chad Hill for five days and we had a wonderful time. It was friendly, clean, welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. If there were any negatives it was the size of the shower, although a couple who arrived the same time as us had rung ahead and booked a room with a larger shower so even this is not insurmountable. We would definitely recommend this hotel x x

Reviewed by
D Ennis

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
The hotel from the front looks lovely unfortunately that's where it ends. This is more a B&B than a hotel, the rooms are dirty and full of tat furniture and nothing matches with cobwebs everywhere.
There was no heating in the room and the weather had turned cold and as for the shower just read all the reviews on trip adviser its a joke. They clearly do not have the right heating system for this building because none of the showers work properly, you get a dribble if your lucky and it may or may not be warm.
Ok you get a warm welcome but that's not enough, clearly the owners are so ignorant they choose not to change all the bad points that so many people are complaining about. Health and safety would close them down with all the issues I could point out. It shows little respect for their guests as they expect you to put up and shut up, this place needs a massive injection of money to bring it up to scratch but its never going to happen with the present owners. Would I stay here again? Never

Reviewed by
Paul devine

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
We had a four poster. Bed was comfortable but the Room was very cramped room with that particular bed..in it. Could have been more tea and coffee available in the room........only 2 teabags and 2 sachets of coffee in the room........but to be fair to the owners we didnt ask for anymore to be put in it

Reviewed by
Mary F

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly 2*room
Although we had the four poster bedroom. The bed felt very tiny. It was smelly room. And felt like I was staying at my grandmothers. We stayed for three nights but they didn't change the bed covers. Room was a little dusty and very small. Would avoid staying there again. Bathroom had no toiletries at all not even a bar to soap to wash hand with. Breakfast isn't very nice and closes at nine which a little early. Would recommend cos it's cheap but don't expect anything.

Reviewed by
M Chaudhury

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is our 2nd time of staying here and could not fault it service great and very friendly inviting
Would recomand this b&b was really friendly and welcoming ! Very clean, like home from home!

Reviewed by
G Ross

From Great WAkering , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant experience
The owners were the perfect hosts - friendly, there when you needed them but never intrusive. The hotel was peaceful and away from the bustle of the seafront which was still within short walking distance.

Reviewed by
J Jefferies

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next