No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
2 George Street, Lace Market, NOTTINGHAM, NG1 3BP
Following a multimillion pound refurbishment, The George Hotel returns to its former glory as one of Nottingham's finest hotels, right in the heart of Nottingham's City Centre. Located in the fashionable Lace Market area, this contemporary boutique hotelis only minutes from the Old Market Square, Capital FM Arena and Nottingham Castle. Dating back to 1822, luxury soft furnishings alongside the finest points of Georgian architecture make this hotel the perfect place for business or pleasure.
Picture of Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but noisy location!
The facilities were very good and standards high at this hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating when we asked to change room as were located opposite the lift. Breakfast was good! The only problem was the exceptionally noisy location. Situated close to late bars comes with the risk of disturbed sleep and I did resort to using the earplugs provided by hotel! I would stay here again during the week but probably not at the weekend!

Reviewed by
rebecca a

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central hotel!
We normally stay over the other side of the city near the uni when in Nottingham, but decided to stay at the Mercure for a change, and really glad we did! Ideally placed in the Lace Market area, with all the nice shops a short walk away, room was comfy and clean, can't say I was disturbed by late night revellers and the breakfast was fantastic, huge choice and well cooked. Recommended :0)

Reviewed by
Adam G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel..incredible location
I loved the hotel.. very close to everything!:) the room was rather small and I've seen people paying up to £160.. I would definitely not pay that. I got the amazing offer for £59:) would recommend especially if your heading out in lace market:)

Reviewed by
Emma B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst check in procedure ever!!! Do not stay here!!!
From the outset, you will be treated like a criminal. If you have paid for more than one room, this hotel will not let you check into more than one room, even if all rooms have been paid for. You will have no choice but to have your photo ID copied 'Just in case'. If you do not have photo ID you will not be allowed to stay here. You will have to produce the card you paid with, so no bookings are able to be made by assistants etc. If you cannot show the card, you will have to receive a refund AND have to pay for the room again on a card you have and have a copy of the card taken, 'just in case'. If you want no privacy and to be vetted like a criminal then stay here. Absolute worst treatment at check in I have EVER experienced. A complete waste of money!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Frank L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay but some let down by terrible air conditioning
Bed, bathroom and location were great (though as might be expected with a city centre hotel it was noisy on the Saturday night we stayed there). Had breakfast there and that was pretty good and everything was clean. In our room however, the air conditioning was incredibly noisy, making some very strange noises at times, it also never really made the room warm enough, regardless of how much I increased the thermostat. We had a very poor sleep as a result. Not what we expected for the £120 we paid.

Reviewed by
Alex W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best nights sleep. Lovely rooms.

Reviewed by
M Bridge

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central to all shops, pubs and restaurants. Very clean, staff very helpful. Lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Gillian L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful friendly staff and stylish room
This was our second stay at this hotel and having been pleased with our previous stay we booked again. We arrived an hour before checkin and the receptionist told us that our room was not yet ready, but if we wished to change to a room with a wet room then we could do so. We were more than happy to change rooms, we had only gone early to drop our bags off so I feel they really made an effort to make us welcome and comfortable. The room was stylish and large with a huge bed, despite us only having booked a double. We would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
m marvill

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, rooms were old and felt it
The location is right at the heart of Nottingham, which was a major plus for this trip. The staff were very good, found us somewhere to go grab some food at ridiculous o'clock and helped us get cabs etc.
The room was old but refurbished... the refurb of the bathroom was a bit rubbish tbh, the shower had a curtain that went all the way around it but other than that nothing prevented the water running over to the sink and toilet and towards the door... just a poor design, functional but not awful. The bed was twin instead of double, but the TV worked and we were shot after a night's partying so barely cared!

Reviewed by
Duncan A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of room Mercure Hotel Nottingham
Nice room, comfortable bed and nice shower. Unfortunately there wasn't a plug for a hair dryer close enough to the mirror. Apart from that everything was okay but perhaps a tad pricey. Breakfast was okay but the staff, although polite, were a little over zealous to take out plates and usher us out. More options for vegetarians would have been welcome. The breakfast was quite expensive compared to other options elsewhere in Nottingham.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next