Reviews - Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel


2 George Street, Lace Market, NOTTINGHAM, NG1 3BP

Price From 118.42 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tony P

  • June 2014

Clean and well appointed

Staff were lovely and upgraded us to a suite.

Bathroom fixtures, although quite new were not the best. Tap very lose on sink as people had tried to fill the kettle rather than using the better equipped bath tap. Only one side of the mirror lights worked and the ones that did flashed on and off noisily at random times as on a sensor. Shower was good - bath took forever to fill and by the time it did, the water was cold. Lots of city noise, loads of pubs and nightclubs in the immediate area but slept well with the aid of earplugs. The hotel offers a discount on your parking but to be honest I wouldn't bother. It only applies to one car park which took us so long to find, the £4 discount wasn't worth the petrol. Hotels in Nottingham are expensive and this one is no exception but it was very clean and well appointed and overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Alexandra F

  • June 2014

Pleasant, clean and modern.

Stayed for just a night.

The room was as expected, clean and smart. Didn't feel that being in the middle of town presented any problems. Staff were friendly and helpful. No problems. Would happily stay here again.

  • michael k

  • June 2014

Nottingham mercure

Very helpful and knowledgable staff, very clean hotel, good central position, we will definitely stay again


  • June 2014

Great room and location

Great room and location, was a little expensive but then realised this was probably due to the bike race the following morning.

very helpful allowing us a 12 noon checkout and keeping our bags whilst we had brekkie.

  • M Antoniou

  • May 2014

Would recommend!

The staff were friendly and helpful, which made the stay really comfortable.

The facilities were really good, especially the gym; we would definitely recommend, as it was great value for money.

  • I Petzold

  • May 2014

Mercure Stay Nottingham

When I arrived at the hotel, the lady at the reception, did not greet me with a smile and wasn't friendly at first , hence I have given only 5 stars and not 6 for customer service.

She was at first rude, it seemed like because I walked in with a child because when a business man walked in, she seemed to be all over him. But she did help me at the end, especially there were some issues checking in. I booked via and the night before check in and my Dad wanted to pay for the room for my daughter and myself (note: he is in america), so I wanted to make sure I do not need to show his credit card and that everything is paid in full for when I arrive. I used the chat facility and the lady I spoke too, confirmed that I everything is paid in advance and that I won't have any issues. I think it is mandatory, that there is a note for payment in advance that you will require proof if it isn't your credit card that you are using. At the check in desk, I had to call my dad in the USA and they didn't even wanted to give my daughter and me the room until they didn't receive the confirmation from my dad that everything is ok, even though they took the money already from his credit card. After an hour, I gave them my debit card for security reasons and I finally could check in with my daughter. This was very frustrating. My Dad was able to sign the papers sent via email to him and a copy of his credit card but obviously due to the time difiference this couldn't happen straight away.

The room was nice and spacious. But at around 11 PM the air con turned on or so. Not sure but it went for over an hour. Lots of noise and rumbeling as if a machine went on or the pipes would burst or so.

All in one, the location is good and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice but they didn't refill very quickly e.g. when the bread was nearly empty or there were no fruits left in the fruit salad. And it wasn't full at the time when I had breakfast. But we did enjoy our stay. Thank you

  • Tayma S

  • May 2014

Perfect location- Lovely hotel

Stayed at the hotel last weekend and was really impressed.

Rooms were lovely and actually much nicer than the pictures. Lunch was good and a perfect location- close to all of the shops/bars. Staff were friendly- very good value for money. Shame that the car park was difficult to get to because of Nottingham's one way system!!

  • M Wheatcroft

  • May 2014

Mercure nottingham

Room only- hotel was perfectly placed in the centre of Nottingham.

Its not brilliant for offloading bags from car as its all double yellow lines outside. Room was ok for the evening although noisy from revellers outside (there are 2 clubs close by) as it was a Friday night. The staff were efficient and answered any questions we had. There is a bar on first floor which is cosy and stayed open till late. Overall 7/10

  • julie b

  • May 2014

Mercure Nottingham

Very clean, polished hotel but a little soulless.

Saturday night in Nottingham, if you are not there to party, is entertaining and, as the hotel supplies earplugs by the bedside, needs no further explanation. Inevitably, there will always be the inebriated party trying to locate their room with little success. I slept comfortably non the less.

  • rebecca a

  • April 2014

Nice hotel but noisy location!

The facilities were very good and standards high at this hotel.

The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating when we asked to change room as were located opposite the lift. Breakfast was good. The only problem was the exceptionally noisy location. Situated close to late bars comes with the risk of disturbed sleep and I did resort to using the earplugs provided by hotel. I would stay here again during the week but probably not at the weekend!