No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alara Bed & Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
981-987 Penistone Road, , , Sheffield, S6 2DH
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last nine years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park, the park is ideal for that early morning run before breakfast or a game of tennis (weather permitting). We are a few hundred yards from the Napoleon Casino, The Dog Track, Hillsborough Swimming Baths and the Hillsborough Barracks. A short car journey up the road, leads to the countryside and Rivelin Valley Park and the Pennines. Take a tram ride to either the city centre or Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Both offer fantastic shopping facilities and eateries. Don't forget that all important 'night out', the Sheffield MotorSport Arena is just a short tram ride away. With-in ten minutes drive to city centre, you are able to visit the Botanical Gardens, the Peace Garden, Lyceums and Crucible where the World Snooker Tournament takes place. We are also on the same side of city as Sheffield Hallam, Sheffield University, Hallamshire Hospital and Northern General Hospital.
Picture of Alara Bed & Breakfast, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
We only stayed a few hours as we were travelling in the early hours. Comfortable room but very steep stairs so no use to anyone with mobility problems
Cant comment on the food as we left well before breakfast

Reviewed by
Keith N

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's sleep in a cosy b&b
I only stayed here a night, but it had everything I needed. I imagine it would have everything you need from a B&B if you stayed longer too, comfortable bed, wash basin, tv, wifi, 2 chests of drawers, a space to hang clothes and tea and coffee making facilities all in the privacy of your room. The shared bathroom (2 toilets, one with shower cubicle, as well as a separate shower cubicle) was very clean and tidy, although water took a long time to drain from the shower, probably indicating that the drain needed cleaning.
Customer service was a little lacking, the guy who works nights will give you some information, but will disappear very quickly, as soon as he's said his piece, before you have time to ask further questions, although the women working on check out in the morning seemed very friendly.
The stairs are very steep. They probably wouldn't be suitable for the disabled or very elderly.
All in all I had a good nights sleep in a cosy, comfortable and clean B&B. I wouldn't expect much more from a place like this!

Reviewed by
T Walker

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value and close to amenities
Room was basic with shard bathroom (fun in the middle of the night in attic room with very, very steep stairs....careful if been on a night out! Lol)
It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and close to the She field Wednesday football ground and greyhound stadium. Short taxi to city centre too.
Good value, only paid £28 on a friday night.

Reviewed by
Cheryl O

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alara Sheffield.
Ideal for football supporters as 5 mins walk to Wednesdays ground. I stayed overnight for a function.
A small hotel but very clean, warm and welcoming. Polite and professional staff night and day. Good personal service and an excellent full English breakfast recommended. Homely atmosphere to put up your feet and relax.

Reviewed by
DAVID KEEGAN

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The staff I met were very helpful from my I'm lost phonecall to a surprise cooked breakfast Sun am as the lady cook came in earlier than normal - thanku x
However I was very uncomfortable with where the bathroom was in relation to the bedroom as I had my teenage daughter with me & men were walking around in their underwear to & from their rooms
The bed was very uncomfortable - you could feel all the springs in the mattress which made for a fairly bad night's sleep. The accommodation was however lovely and warm even in the attic - blinds of some sort needed in bathrooms as lights in at night reveals everything

Reviewed by
Sara E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money- with friendly reception and a fabulous breakfast
This hotel represents great value for money. The room was basic and, frankly, would benefit from a little modernisation but, this was more than made up for by the welcome and the helpful atttitude of the staff. The breakfast was - fot any hotel - excellent. Well cooked and plenty of it. I will certainly say there again.

Reviewed by
David White

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Alara experiance
Fabulous Full English breakfast ! one of the best , down side though is very ( dangerously ) steep staircases to rooms ! also the mattress should have been replaced 20 years ago ! other than that for the money a nice experience , clean and very friendly staff ! I would stay again .

Reviewed by
D Brooks

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a place to crash but thats about it, staff friendly & good breakfast

Reviewed by
Simon J

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly cheap and cheerful
1 nights stay as saved travelling early morning for a meeting in Sheffield, room nice and clean and fairly quiet. Very small and steep steps up to the rooms but was ok for me. Small on-site car park but enough room for the 2 or 3 people staying. Breakfast very good and nice choice. Overall cheap and cheerful stay for 1 or 2 nights max. Only problem I had was the room was very cold overnight did effect sleep somewhat but id booked a single room a double may be better.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good services. But will need improve on heating facility

Reviewed by
C NWABUEZE

From BONNY ISLAND, RIVERS STATE, Nigeria
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next