No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Thames Street, Berkshire , Windsor, SL4 1PX
An elegant Grade II listed town-house hotel overlooking the River Thames and in walking distance of Windsor town centre. Sheltering beneath the walls of Windsor Castle, Sir Christopher Wrens House Hotel enjoys a setting of remarkable beauty on the corner of Eton Bridge. A warm greeting awaits guests to the hotel. The 99 bedrooms and suites have been sympathetically restored to offer every comfort and service in a traditional and secluded setting. The Hotel is one of a few historic hotels near Heathrow Airport. Attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland, Windsor, Eton and The River Thames.

The Hotels 99 bedrooms are located in 5 distinct areas. The majority of rooms are in the main house, but also has 4 historical annexes with rooms adjacent and opposite the main house. Offering privacy and seclusion these rooms contribute to the ambience and character of the hotel.

The hotel offers limited Valet Parking facilities which are subject to
availability and must be pre-booked with the reservations department prior
to arrival. There is an overnight charge of £10.00 per car per night.
Picture of Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd time here in the last 4 months & every bit as good as the 1st stay,we was upgraded to a bigger room which was a bonus has the room on our 1st visit was perfect & this time we had a view of the river Thames so "double "perfect"staff very friendly & helpful in particular Andi (Lovley lady)already looking forward to our next 2 stays in December & febuary & must mention what a great location,cheers dave & emma

ManagementResponse

Dear Emma, Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was delighted to read how happy you were with your second stay. I have passed your feedback on to the team, as complimentary comments like yours, are so motivating to them. I look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon and do hope for many more happy visits. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Emma Whitnell

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christorpher Wren Windsor
Beautifully located along the Thames. Interesting architecture, however rooms rather noisy.

ManagementResponse

Dear Karin, Thank you very much for this positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was very happy to see the high ratings, despite some noise issues experienced. Please do let me know when you are next travelling from France and I will ensure a quieter room is allocated. Welcome back soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
karin h

From France
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant overnight stay
Enjoyed my stay. Staff were helpful - I got a free upgrade and generally a good hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Philip, Thank you for the excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. It was great to read that we were able to upgrade you and that you were very happy with the team. I hope we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

34th wedding anniversay
had the most lovely stay in the four poster room with the most amazing balcony! was a special way to spend our special day. the breakfast was first class too!
The staff were perfect and very helpful, cannot fault it at all.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Davis, Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It is especially rewarding to be part of someone's special occasion and I am glad you got to enjoy the balcony too. Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
martin davis

From middx, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windsor break
Several members of our extended family, including the bride to be, stayed at the hotel form the 7th to 10th August, 12 of us in total. The weather and setting for the hotel were beautiful, thankfully, because I have little else positive to say. There was confusion and at times chaos over the room bookings. Not just for myself but other family members, the most stressful one being the double booking of the brides room, this was sorted out, (a big 'thank you' to the manager who must spend her time resolving problems not of her making) but this was the last thing the bride needed on the day before her wedding. Other issues include: no car parking space for the bride although she had made a reservation on booking five months earlier, door cards not working in the early hours of the morning following return from wedding reception some distance away, some door cards requiring resetting
everyday, lack of bar staff and therefore long waiting times for service, slow replenishment of self service cooked breakfast. There were other less significant disappointments, such as no safe in the rooms and the rooms themselves feeling a little 'tired' but these were minor issues.

ManagementResponse

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the constructive feedback. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay, but have used your comments to address points with the team to help us improve. Hopefully the positives outweighed the negatives and you would stay with us again in the future. Warm regards Jutta Staude General Manager

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all over the place
It seemed impossible for the reception staff to grasp that I wanted to be in the main block of the hotel to be close to other family including elderly mother and my daughter who was to be married from there and spend her wedding night there.Instead they put me in an annex across the road in what could only be described as the attic. It also took a meeting with management to ensure my daughter had the grand suite she had booked rather than a very dark room, again in the annex.It was very disorganised with reception staff not seeming to understand the bookings and trying to charge me for breakfasts I had prepaid. The manager herself was effective when she took control,but a very frustratng experience in all. The restaurant staff were polite and helpful.The porters were polite and helpful, although ran so quickly up the stairs it was hard to keep up and resulted on one occasion in luggage spilling out over the stairs.

ManagementResponse

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay, but feel it necessary to clarify that we had not been aware of your preference for a main house room in advance and were unable to move your room on the day, as we were fully booked and a lot of guests were already checked in. We always try and allocate the best preference for any guests in line with the room type booked, but with five different buildings this is hard to manage at times. Please do let me know, if you are in the area again, so that I can allocate a main house room for you. Warm regards Jutta Staude General Manager

Reviewed by
bernadette s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good quality all round
Well situated hotel of good quality in every aspect. Excellent service.

ManagementResponse

Dear Alwyn, Thank you so much for this brilliant review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a good time and was especially pleased with your comments on the excellent service. I look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Alwyn Peel

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd visit not as good!
The service of staff in restaurant and bar was poor on this visit. There was long waits for drinks order at the bar and unsure if this was due to new staff or just not enough staff.
The hotel in itself is a lovely hotel and caters much more for couples and weekend breaks I feel.
I would stay again to see if this was just a one off.

ManagementResponse

Dear Clare M, Thank you very much for this overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. It really helps getting constructive feedback from our guests, especially from a return visitor. I would like to apologise sincerely for any shortfalls in service and can only assure you that I have taken your comments on board and shared them with Claus, my F&B manager, to ensure other guests don't experience similar delays. I do hope we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor and will meet the standards of your first visit again next time around. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Clare M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel in a great location
This is an extremely smart and elegant hotel, and in an unbeatable location in Windsor overlooking the Thames and the bridge to Eton. Prices are pretty good considering the quality of accommodation (at least when booking through LateRooms - not sure what the "full price" would be).
Some rooms are better than others; on a previous visit I got a delightful and very large room with whirlpool bath, with a wonderful view over the river. This time I got a room about half the size, looking out onto a side alley, which rather stretched (or, more accurately, shrank) the grading of "Executive". Still, it was comfortable and met all our needs, and what furniture there was was elegant.
The food here is terrific, with many delicious choices at breakfast that it was hard to stop eating far too much.
We did not use the Spa facilities so I cannot comment, other than to note that it does not include a swimming pool.

ManagementResponse

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was very happy to read that you were so happy with most aspects of your stay and really appreciate the feedback. I was sorry to read that you did not like your room so much this time around. As you are probably aware we have five different room types, starting from standard double rooms, executive rooms, club rooms and grand rooms to suites. We only have the Jacuzzi baths in some of our club rooms and the large suite, so I am not sure what you had booked last time around. Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon and you will have a room to your liking next time around. Kind regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next