No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Thames Street, Berkshire , Windsor, SL4 1PX
An elegant Grade II listed town-house hotel overlooking the River Thames and in walking distance of Windsor town centre. Sheltering beneath the walls of Windsor Castle, Sir Christopher Wrens House Hotel enjoys a setting of remarkable beauty on the corner of Eton Bridge. A warm greeting awaits guests to the hotel. The 99 bedrooms and suites have been sympathetically restored to offer every comfort and service in a traditional and secluded setting. The Hotel is one of a few historic hotels near Heathrow Airport. Attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland, Windsor, Eton and The River Thames.

The Hotels 99 bedrooms are located in 5 distinct areas. The majority of rooms are in the main house, but also has 4 historical annexes with rooms adjacent and opposite the main house. Offering privacy and seclusion these rooms contribute to the ambience and character of the hotel.

The hotel offers limited Valet Parking facilities which are subject to availability and must be pre-booked with the reservations department prior
to arrival. There is an overnight charge of £15.00 per car per night.
Picture of Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa, Windsor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 day stay
Excellent hotel in an ideal centre of town location.

Reviewed by
Richard D

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, location, location!
The hotel is perfectly sited by the river in Windsor. We arrived by train at the riverside station so it was 50 level yards to the hotel. We walked into Windsor in 5 minutes and visited the Theatre Royal on our second night, also very close by. The receptionist gave us a choice of 3 rooms, we chose no. 86 over the courtyard entrace to the spa. It is half timbered with a very undulating floor, the only eccentricity we didn't really like was the air conditioning blowing warm air into the bedroom but not the ensuite bathroom. This meant the bathroom was always colder than the bedroom, strange.
The staff were excellent and very helpful. Unfortunately we didn't book the spa ahead of time and it was booked up all weekend. There is a jacuzzi but it's outside so not that inviting in mid-winter..

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend break
We found the hotel very comfortable and convenient for the sights of Windsor. It is near the railway station too. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The food was excellent.

Reviewed by
sonia b

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sir Christopher Wren Hotel & Spa
Lovely hotel
Central location
Spacious room

Reviewed by
Lucy W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 84, we felt as thought we were not the hotel as we were in another building, so we needed coats to go outside for breakfast. House keeping was excellent, I asked for a mattress topper as the buttons were digging into my thigh, and she put a duvet and mattress cover on

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and for the excellent ratings on our service. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the location of room 84, as we do try and advertise the fact that the hotel is spread over five buildings on all websites as clearly as possible, to avoid any disappointment for our guests. I do hope this didn't take away from the overall enjoyment of your stay and you will return to us in the future. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
David E

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd time here in the last 4 months & every bit as good as the 1st stay,we was upgraded to a bigger room which was a bonus has the room on our 1st visit was perfect & this time we had a view of the river Thames so "double "perfect"staff very friendly & helpful in particular Andi (Lovley lady)already looking forward to our next 2 stays in December & febuary & must mention what a great location,cheers dave & emma

ManagementResponse

Dear Emma, Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was delighted to read how happy you were with your second stay. I have passed your feedback on to the team, as complimentary comments like yours, are so motivating to them. I look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon and do hope for many more happy visits. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Emma Whitnell

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christorpher Wren Windsor
Beautifully located along the Thames. Interesting architecture, however rooms rather noisy.

ManagementResponse

Dear Karin, Thank you very much for this positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was very happy to see the high ratings, despite some noise issues experienced. Please do let me know when you are next travelling from France and I will ensure a quieter room is allocated. Welcome back soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
karin h

From France
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant overnight stay
Enjoyed my stay. Staff were helpful - I got a free upgrade and generally a good hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Philip, Thank you for the excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. It was great to read that we were able to upgrade you and that you were very happy with the team. I hope we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

34th wedding anniversay
had the most lovely stay in the four poster room with the most amazing balcony! was a special way to spend our special day. the breakfast was first class too!
The staff were perfect and very helpful, cannot fault it at all.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Davis, Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It is especially rewarding to be part of someone's special occasion and I am glad you got to enjoy the balcony too. Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us soon. Warm regards, Jutta Staude, General Manager

Reviewed by
martin davis

From middx, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next