No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oak Tree Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Raskelf Road, Helperby, , York, YO61 2PH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Oak Tree Inn specialises in bringing its customers high quality food, drink, service and surroundings, including a superb private dining room for larger parties of 16 to 20 and six en-suite bedrooms. The classic British menus showcase the best local produce available from carefully selected suppliers as well as stocking an extensive range of wines and cask ales. The Oak Tree Inn has undergone an enormous refurbishment and building programme which has taken over two years in the planning. With the ‘new life’ given to the premises, The Oak Tree now offers guests a wonderfully spacious traditional bar, stocked with local beers, hand pulled ales and a considered wine list. This is a relaxed and informal area for informal dining and drinking. The new barn extension is a light filled space, looking back onto the rear courtyard, ideal for friends and family to gather for formal or informal occasions. The Oak Tree is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Set on the cross roads of historic Helperby and Brafferton, The Oak Tree Inn is easily accessible from Easingwold, Thirsk and Boroughbridge as well as the A1 and A19, less than 30 minutes from York City Centre or 35 minutes from Harrogate. Set on the cross roads of historic Helperby and Brafferton, The Oak Tree Inn is easily accessible from Easingwold, Thirsk and Boroughbridge as well as the A1 and A19, less than 30 minutes from York City Centre or 35 minutes from Harrogate
Picture of The Oak Tree Inn, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant accomadation.
After a really early start at the trade show it was great to come to the Beautiful
" The Oak Tree Inn". The Staff really helpful and the food excellent.
Compliments to the Chef.

Reviewed by
carol barton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oak Tree
Excellent accommodation provided at the Oak Tree. The food was very good if a little expensive and limited choice. I would visit the Oak Tree again for a short break.

Reviewed by
Wayne Edmondson

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
A very welcoming, friendly, spotlessley clean inn/hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Reviewed by
S Norfolk

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional customer service and great food

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second overnight stay at The Oak Tree Inn. We have actually been back since our first stay just for a meal as the food is so good (especially the Steaks).
Excellent, friendly and proffessional welcome.
Rooms are spotless and very comfortable.
Staff are really helpful and friendly,nothing is too much trouble.
Food is excellent. We want to try the other hotels in the Provenance Inns Group but its going to be hard not to just keep going back to The Oak Tree!
Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed by
k anderson

From goole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just perfect!
What a delightful surprise! We received a warm welcome and all the staff we met were so friendly. The room was beautifully furnished and spacious and very clean. Loved the jacuzzi bath. King size bed - so comfy! Some delightful touches - the Yorkie bar, proper coffee with cafetiere in the room, complimentary bottled water. The choice for breakfast - superb! Kept us going all day! Excellent food in the evening too.
We can't recommend this lovely place highly enough. Will be back when we are in the area again.

Reviewed by
C Robertson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Everything about our stay from start to finish was excellent! Staff were courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Menu was fantastic ...we had fillet strips on a bed of horseradish mash with mushrooms and spinach. It was cooked to perfection. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and would stay again if we visit the area.

Reviewed by
j miller

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay
Second visit to The Oak Tree and again it was a really good experience. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the room was excellent and the food fantastic. A great place to stay.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely faultless
I cannot recommend The Oak Tree highly enough. The room was gorgeous, beautifully clean and stylish, with a very comfy bed and lovely finishing touches. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and were professional yet friendly. Really nothing was too much trouble- a rarity !
The food was amazing at both dinner and breakfast.
We can't wait to return.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice small hotel/pub, the food was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough and the amenities superb. I ate like a king and slept like a king.

Reviewed by
N Ivory

From Little Sutton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next