Reviews - ibis budget Newport


164 Malpas Road, NEWPORT, NP20 5PP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • roger p

  • October 2015

Ibis budget - outrageous

This building would be an architectural gem for a prison, however it is a budget hotel so don't expect any Renoir's on the walls or photos by David Bailey.

A fetching theme of white is present throughout. The bedroom facilities would be adequate if the toilet was higher and the shower water did not run all over the floor. The price of the room had been more than doubled as the rugby was on in Cardiff, at list price you can tolerate a few budget accessories but at the price we were charged there is no way this was value for money. Stay here if you are a refugee and desperate, at an event where all you want is an small uncomfortable double bed with one pillow or alternatively stay if you are hiding from someone, this is the last place they would look. The staff though are good so points for them I have stayed at quite a few budget hotels and this one takes the biscuit for not being a budget hotel when the rugby is on.

  • tracey e

  • August 2015

Cheap and cheerful

Stayed for one night after the rugby in Cardiff.

Cheapest room available and pleasantly surprised. It was modern clean and quiet. I am a light sleeper and having the dual carriage way close by I was worried. But it was fine. The room was basic but it was my 15 year old son and I sharing so the twin beds were ideal. I'd stay again with him for rugby and it was well within budget.

  • G Eaton

  • July 2015

ibis budget - one night stay

I booked this hotel rather hastily in order to ensure i had a room in the area that wasn't going to cost the earth.

The staff are excellent.

The room was rather more basic than i was expecting but at the same time was clean and tidy. I was disappointed that the room didn't have a kettle and 5 TV channels was a bit limiting. For a business trip the desk was very limited and the chair (moulded stool!) i would not care to use for more than a very short time. very basic but functional. It fulfils its purpose.

  • Stuart M

  • July 2015

Value for money - but road noise

The room was clean and tidy.

The room we had was facing the motorway but the windows would not close properly so there was road noise through the night. Our friends stayed in the next room and had the same issue. So I would recommend a room NOT facing the motorway

Very good shower - plenty of hot water. Bunk bed takes some getting used to as an adult!!

  • S Craig

  • May 2015

Excellent Value

Exceeded my expectation, this hotel was fantastic value for money.

Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, quiet and clean room with free wi-fi.

  • PAUL b

  • May 2015

worst hotel in wales? probably

yes i know its a budget hotel.

but honestly the shower room was smaller than you would find in a caravan. the toilet resembled an outdoor shed. the place was clean until you looked a bit closer. never again at any budget ibis hotel is it worthy of the title hotel, I think not. Oh lets not forget the intolerable bunk at the head of the bed.

  • Maureen Jones

  • April 2015

Good Experience

This was the first time of staying at the IBIS BUDGET HOTEL Newport, being so close to the M4 I was a bit concerned about the noise as I was only staying for one night thought it would be ok, what a pleasant surprise it turned out to be one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in, would recommend it certainly stay there again if the need arises.

  • Nick S

  • March 2015

Does what it supposed to do

Let's face it, it's a budget hotel and therefore you can't expect anything fancy about it.

It was good enough and the value for money was decent. I probably won't stay here again as it is a little bit too far from Cardiff central for me

  • r jose

  • March 2015

great stay

Excellent hotel..

value for the money... staffs were very friendly.. stayed near motorway but had a peaceful sleep.. there was not any noice from the motorway... I will definitely erecommend this hotel to my family and friends...

  • Ian L

  • February 2015

Basic, but perfectly functional

As a base, to spend time exploring, this is a perfect choice.

Cheap, functional, and not far from the M4, and Newport. The only thing I would change, would be to add tea and coffee making facilities to the room, but for the price, it was fine.