No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ibis Budget Newport

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
164 MALPAS ROAD , NEWPORT, NP20 5PP
Ibis Budget Newport is a budget hotel. Located in central Newport , book the hotel for proximity to the coast, as well as the shopping and nightlife of Newport town centre, with easy access to the M4. The hotel has 103 modern guest rooms, each with a shower, toilet, and flat-screen TV and can accommodate up to 3 people. A good value breakfast buffet is served each morning. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Outdoor parking available.
Picture of Ibis Budget Newport, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Staff - Good value accommodation
We stayed at this hotel because we were on a tight budget and I wasn't expecting much. On arrival however the exterior of the hotel looked fresh and the car park well lit and secure. We were greeted by the receptionist, Ivan, who quickly booked us in and told us our room was on the third floor. However when he saw us carrying the first of three trips in with luggage he immediately asked us if we would like a bigger room to accommodate it all! This was on the ground floor just across from reception and was perfect! We were delighted with the 'upgrade' and also very pleased to see the huge selection of snacks and drinks (including wine and beer) in the display near reception.
The only gripe was as others have mentioned, the beds are very hard. I like a firm mattress but this was on another level ! I also noticed quite a bit of dust on the carpet around the pipe work in the room. Not a huge issue but easy to put right. These two issues did not spoil our stay and I would stay again at the price without hesitation. We did not stay for the continental in the morning but it looked very good

Reviewed by
Martin F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very clean
Hotel was ok for the money apart from the room not been very clean at all, hair all over the carpet and what looked like blood splashed up the wall in the toilet. The other anoying thing was only having 1 plug in the room

Reviewed by
Aaron B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As the name implies, this is basic accommodation.
The staff were pleasant and the room clean and functional, but that's about it. The bed was definitely on the firm side and the bedding minimal, although I gather more is available from the reception. Teas and coffees are also available at the reception, but late in the evening after a long drive I just wanted to settle down and missed having these in the room. Next time I'm in the area, I'll splash out an extra £10/£15 for the additional comfort available elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Tim S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok

Reviewed by
alan phipps

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only two things missing!
Overall a pleasant stay. There was however only one plug socket in room. Could do with more sockets. Also it would benefit the guest if there was tea and coffee facilities in room.

Reviewed by
N Scobell

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel but clean and good service
Had to stay here because my usual hotel was fully booked. Very basic room but extremely clean. Staff very helpful. No kettle in room so take one with you if you like a drink in the room. A pub, restaurant and a few take always within walking distance but nothing to write home about. Would probably stay again if necessary.

Reviewed by
Donald O

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price the room was more than adequate however it was a bit stuffy and I couldn't open the window as I was no more than 100 yards from the M4. The room could also have done with more switch sockets.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Clean hotel but very basic shame about traffic noise from motorway

Reviewed by
N Murphy

From Midleton, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay value for money
Very modern, clean, and great price, for anyone wishing to visit newport it is highly recommended.

Reviewed by
lisa M

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as other ibis budget hotels
Having previously stayed at very good ibis budget hotels I would say that this one is very poor. The customer service was excellent but the quality of the rooms was bad. I can't moan too much for only having paid £40 for the room, but it wasn't up to expectations. The room was incredibly small and my partner had trouble bending his knees to try and sit on the toilet as the toilet room was so tiny! There was patches of different colour paint on the walls where it had obviously been touched up and there was only 1 socket for the whole room. Obviously you pay for what you get.

Reviewed by
Ellie P

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next