No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phelips Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 THE BOROUGH , MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB
This splendid village pub offers a warm and hospitable welcome. Sample our great real ales, tasty snacks and mouth-watering, home-cooked meals. We source our ingredients locally, our home-roasted honey ham is a real treat! See our daily Specials board for a wide choice.
If you are planning to explore lovely South Somerset, or you're here on business, why not stay in one of our charming guest-rooms? Their architecture is 18th century but they have a complete range of modern facilities and can be booked online.
Our beautiful walled garden is an idyllic spot on a sunny day, sit back and relax. Or, if you need to work up an appetite, why not try your arm at traditional West Country skittles!

We 200 yards away from Montacute House. This famous, architecturally unique property is now owned by the National Trust. An Elizabethan jewel set in formal gardens and glorious parkland, it is not to be missed. A few doors away is a fascinating TV and radio museum, in the neighbouring village a venerable priory and, a short drive away, the Fleet Air Arm Museum. From ancient to modern, we have something for everyone!

The Phelips Arms Head Chef/landlady, Nicola, produces wonderful home-cooked food from best quality ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

For lunch, we have a lighter menu or the full restaurant menu If you fancy something more substantial, our home-made steak and Palmer's Copper ale pie will satisfy the heartiest appetite!

On a Sunday, indulge in a traditional roast with a choice of meats. Sunday lunch is served from 12:00 till 16:00 with the pub closing at 18:00, (Sundays only).

In the evening, treat yourself to a delicious three course meal selected from our Specials board, which always includes vegetarian options. Enjoy a glass of wine, or quench your thirst with a perfectly kept pint of Palmer's Brewery ale.

Our letting rooms each have their own character. We have one single with en-suite,one family room comprising a double bed, single bed and en-suite, one twin with private bathroom, three double rooms with en-suite. One of of our rooms is also dog friendly at an additional cost per night per dog.

All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, colour television with digital freeview, hair dryer and a radio alarm clock. Wi Fi & Ironing facilities are also available free of charge.

Come the morning, enjoy a full hearty English breakfast, plus tea or coffee, cereals,Fruit, pastry's, fruit juices and toast and jam. The perfect start to a day spent exploring your surroundings.

Picture of The Phelips Arms, MONTACUTE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of two night stay in single room in May 2013
Had a nice stay in this quiet country Inn situated in the middle of the village whilst participating in the Tour of Wessex cycling event in May 2013. Proprietor and staff were friendly and there was a good atmosphere in the bar on the Saturday night, the bar was closed on Sunday evening which was a shame. Good pub lunch and evening menue was available and full English breakfast was first class.

Reviewed by
r prickett

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Weekend Break
The Phelips Arms was a last minute booking having never been to that area and we were so pleased on our arrival. Set in one of the most beautiful villages in Somerset the surroundings were amazing with Montacute House practically next door. We received a very warm welcome after quite an arduous bank holiday Saturday drive down the M5. We had a family room and with a 14 year old in tow it was a very large room with lots of space. Very airy and immaculate. Breakfast was very good and Sunday lunch was extremely good value for money. All of the staff and owners were very pleasant and helpful and we would definitely recommend it to other people. We hope to visit again in the very near future.

Reviewed by
Fiona Holt

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were two sisters, complete with husbands, on a fun Bargain Hunt weekend away.
We were the only guests in the hotel and were made to feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Nicky and Addy were perfect hosts in a lovely quiet village setting.

Reviewed by
Christopher W

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb rooms and brilliant food for money!
Lovely rooms, very comfy with friendly staff and atmosphere. Definitely suitable for every type of person families and groups included as it was very secure and breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from! Slight issue with tv's not working but that may have been something we were doing wrong and we didn't stay long enough to investigate further. I wouldn't hesitate to book and stay here again!

Reviewed by
E Brown

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub in a lovely village
Montacute is well worth a visit. Gorgeous hamstone buildings, wonderful National Trust property and great pub! We have been to Montacute a few times before and love it. This time we decided to stay overnight and thought the pub looked good. We enjoyed our stay, had a comfortable room, good dinner in the evening in front of the log stove on a cold Feb night. We also enjoyed a game of old fashioned skittles (bowling) in the pub's own skittle alley. Good night's sleep in comfortable beds. Room was a bit chilly in the evening but fine at night. The only 2 points I would mention is the lack of the fire during breakfast (it would have been good to have come down to a warm, cheery room instead of feeling chilly) and very ordinary sausages at breakfast (I had been looking forward to the quality sausages on the evening menu). Having said that we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. Hosts were very good.

Reviewed by
Paula I

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfaction
tres satisfait dans l'ensemble et surtout un accueil chaleureux

Reviewed by
André Rulens

From 6043 Charleroi, Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montacute
En el pueblo de Montacute se encuentra una mansión en la que se rodó la película Sentido y Sensibilidad. The Phelips Arms es un Pub inglés con varias habitaciones. La ventana de la nuestra daba a los cubos de basura. Aunque estaba limpia, el precio me pareció excesivo para el servicio que ofrecía. Respecto a la atención al cliente no me gustó que me hicieran pagar la estancia antes de ver la habitación. El desayuno inglés poco variado. Comer y desayunar en un PUB no tiene mucho encanto.

Reviewed by
RICARDO P

From Spain
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6