No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phelips Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 THE BOROUGH , MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB
This splendid village pub offers a warm and hospitable welcome. Sample our great real ales, tasty snacks and mouth-watering, home-cooked meals. We source our ingredients locally, our home-roasted honey ham is a real treat! See our daily Specials board for a wide choice.
If you are planning to explore lovely South Somerset, or you're here on business, why not stay in one of our charming guest-rooms? Their architecture is 18th century but they have a complete range of modern facilities and can be booked online.
Our beautiful walled garden is an idyllic spot on a sunny day, sit back and relax. Or, if you need to work up an appetite, why not try your arm at traditional West Country skittles!

We 200 yards away from Montacute House. This famous, architecturally unique property is now owned by the National Trust. An Elizabethan jewel set in formal gardens and glorious parkland, it is not to be missed. A few doors away is a fascinating TV and radio museum, in the neighbouring village a venerable priory and, a short drive away, the Fleet Air Arm Museum. From ancient to modern, we have something for everyone!

The Phelips Arms Head Chef/landlady, Nicola, produces wonderful home-cooked food from best quality ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

For lunch, try a sandwich, a baguette, or perhaps a ploughman's. If you fancy something more substantial, our home-made steak and Palmer's Copper ale pie will satisfy the heartiest appetite!

On a Sunday, indulge in a traditional roast with a choice of meats. Sunday lunch is served from 12:00 till 16:00 with the pub closing at 18:00, (Sundays only).

In the evening, treat yourself to a delicious three course meal selected from our Specials board, which always includes vegetarian options. Enjoy a glass of wine, or quench your thirst with a perfectly kept pint of Palmer's Brewery ale.

Our letting rooms each have their own character. We have one single with en-suite,one family room comprising a double bed, single bed and en-suite, one twin with private bathroom, three double rooms with en-suite One of which is also dog friendly at only an additional £10 per night per dog.

All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, colour television with digital freeview, hair dryer and a radio alarm clock. Wi Fi & Ironing facilities are also available free of charge.

Come the morning, enjoy a full hearty English breakfast, plus tea or coffee, cereals, grapefruit, fruit juices and toast and jam. The perfect start to a day spent exploring your surroundings.

Picture of The Phelips Arms, MONTACUTE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, food a little overpriced. Such a beautiful village, breathtaking.

Reviewed by
Drusilla Cherry

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly place to stay.
This was the first time we've stayed at the Phelips Arms and will definitely return. On arrival we instantly felt very welcome. The room was very clean and well provided with tea, biscuits etc, and lots of clean white towels. Booked a table for dinner and although the pub was busy the service was excellent. Had a good night's sleep in a comfy bed and although I didn't fancy a cooked breakfast my husband enjoyed his. The owners work very hard to make you feel welcome even when they're busy. My only suggestion would be vegetarian sausages on the breakfast menu for my veggie son next time!

Reviewed by
Liz Calnan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub and accommodation
Great pub accommodation and food. Hoteliers very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food
Warm welcome, despite the fact that it was a Monday and the hotel is technically closed on Monday!
Good simple food, generous portions. Breakfast excellent.
Staff very pleasant.
I was the only guest!
Attractive village setting.

Reviewed by
P Cassidy

From Leven, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Phelips Arms Highly Recommended
Our two night stay at the Phelips Arms began with a friendly and warm welcome from the proprietors Nicola and Adrian which continued throughout our stay. The quality of the food is excellent and plenty of it along with a well run bar to help quench the thirst during the hot weather experienced during our stay. The only minor issue we experienced was that the waiter serving breakfast seemed to get a bit confused over the ordering, I`m assuming he was new to the job and wouldn`t necessarily expect this to be a problem for any future stays with what is a well run and welcoming business. The question is would we stay there again?, the answer is most definitely yes and if all goes to plan we intend to return there next year.

Reviewed by
c truckle

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay friendly and very helpful treats each guest as special and makes you feel very welcome

Reviewed by
l hargreaves

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yeovil stay at Phelip Arms, Montecute
Fantastic accommodation real quaint hotel in the middle of some beautiful countryside. Food was excellent. Lovely room with all facilies available. Would definitely stay again a really nice, friendly host made to feel at home. Brill

Reviewed by
Phil Taylor

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed one night. Pretty village. Small single room quite drab and overlooked kitchen passage. Uncomfortable mattress with prominent springs. The hotel has 6 bedrooms. I asked if they could upgrade me but was told they were fully booked. The door to a nice room opposite was open all night - unoccupied. I mentioned this next morning and was told that the people who booked hadn't turned up.

Reviewed by
Renée B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected getaway break.
I last used this Inn 8 years ago under very different linceeship. Then It was just basically sufficient and impersonal. This time we just needed overnight accomodation on the way to and from a family gathering but what we found was a lovely warm, welcoming atmosphere, very comfortable and well appointed accomodation with superb cuisine.We genuinely came as strangers but thanks to Nicola and Adrian in their comparatively new venture at the Phelips Arms left as friends and are looking forward to returning.

Reviewed by
P Norris

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, shame about the cleaning
Overall I would have been happy to rate this place well, but a couple of points about the cleanliness really got to me. It wasn't immediately apparent: on first inspection, we were very pleased. The room was well-sized, with a single bed for my two small children to share and a double for me and my husband. We had a lovely large carpeted bathroom, plenty of space to move around and a bedside lamp on both sides of the double - all too often they only provide a lamp on one side of the bed. The bath and sink were clean. There was a pleasant, grassy, sunny pub garden downstairs in which we enjoyed a welcome pint on arrival. The tiny Cotswold stone village itself is so overwhelmingly charming and the pub is bang in the centre of it, with a free car park conveniently located directly in front of it. The publican was friendly and efficient and showed us up to our room promptly. However, my husband noticed just as we were leaving to attend a wedding nearby that the coffee cups were stashed untidily on a tray complete with the dregs, the biscuit crumbs, soggy tea bags and lipstick smears (honestly!) of the previous guests. The bin had not been emptied and was replete with their used tissues, hairballs and yesterday's newspapers. This immediately made my skin itch with uncertainty. If they hadn't bothered to even empty the bin, or change the tea cups, how could I be sure that they had bothered to change the sheets on the beds? Vaccuum? Refresh the towels? In fact, after that I became alert to every possibility. Was the loo clean? The towels were indeed very damp, and smelly... We didn't have a chance to take it up with them, racing off to the wedding, arriving back long after the pub had shut and leaving first thing in the morning when no one was about. But it has left me disinclined to recommend it; should you decide to stay there, make sure you question them about the cleaning and really scrutinise the place on arrival.

Reviewed by
E Grove

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next