No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phelips Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 THE BOROUGH , MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB
This splendid village pub offers a warm and hospitable welcome. Sample our great real ales, tasty snacks and mouth-watering, home-cooked meals. We source our ingredients locally, our home-roasted honey ham is a real treat! See our daily Specials board for a wide choice.
If you are planning to explore lovely South Somerset, or you're here on business, why not stay in one of our charming guest-rooms? Their architecture is 18th century but they have a complete range of modern facilities and can be booked online.
Our beautiful walled garden is an idyllic spot on a sunny day, sit back and relax. Or, if you need to work up an appetite, why not try your arm at traditional West Country skittles!

We 200 yards away from Montacute House. This famous, architecturally unique property is now owned by the National Trust. An Elizabethan jewel set in formal gardens and glorious parkland, it is not to be missed. A few doors away is a fascinating TV and radio museum, in the neighbouring village a venerable priory and, a short drive away, the Fleet Air Arm Museum. From ancient to modern, we have something for everyone!

The Phelips Arms Head Chef/landlady, Nicola, produces wonderful home-cooked food from best quality ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

For lunch, try a sandwich, a baguette, or perhaps a ploughman's. If you fancy something more substantial, our home-made steak and Palmer's Copper ale pie will satisfy the heartiest appetite!

On a Sunday, indulge in a traditional roast with a choice of meats. Sunday lunch is served from 12:00 till 16:00 with the pub closing at 18:00, (Sundays only).

In the evening, treat yourself to a delicious three course meal selected from our Specials board, which always includes vegetarian options. Enjoy a glass of wine, or quench your thirst with a perfectly kept pint of Palmer's Brewery ale.

Our letting rooms each have their own character. We have one single with en-suite,one family room comprising a double bed, single bed and en-suite, one twin with private bathroom, three double rooms with en-suite One of which is also dog friendly at only an additional £10 per night per dog.

All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, colour television with digital freeview, hair dryer and a radio alarm clock. Wi Fi & Ironing facilities are also available free of charge.

Come the morning, enjoy a full hearty English breakfast, plus tea or coffee, cereals, grapefruit, fruit juices and toast and jam. The perfect start to a day spent exploring your surroundings.

Picture of The Phelips Arms, MONTACUTE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected getaway break.
I last used this Inn 8 years ago under very different linceeship. Then It was just basically sufficient and impersonal. This time we just needed overnight accomodation on the way to and from a family gathering but what we found was a lovely warm, welcoming atmosphere, very comfortable and well appointed accomodation with superb cuisine.We genuinely came as strangers but thanks to Nicola and Adrian in their comparatively new venture at the Phelips Arms left as friends and are looking forward to returning.

Reviewed by
P Norris

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, shame about the cleaning
Overall I would have been happy to rate this place well, but a couple of points about the cleanliness really got to me. It wasn't immediately apparent: on first inspection, we were very pleased. The room was well-sized, with a single bed for my two small children to share and a double for me and my husband. We had a lovely large carpeted bathroom, plenty of space to move around and a bedside lamp on both sides of the double - all too often they only provide a lamp on one side of the bed. The bath and sink were clean. There was a pleasant, grassy, sunny pub garden downstairs in which we enjoyed a welcome pint on arrival. The tiny Cotswold stone village itself is so overwhelmingly charming and the pub is bang in the centre of it, with a free car park conveniently located directly in front of it. The publican was friendly and efficient and showed us up to our room promptly. However, my husband noticed just as we were leaving to attend a wedding nearby that the coffee cups were stashed untidily on a tray complete with the dregs, the biscuit crumbs, soggy tea bags and lipstick smears (honestly!) of the previous guests. The bin had not been emptied and was replete with their used tissues, hairballs and yesterday's newspapers. This immediately made my skin itch with uncertainty. If they hadn't bothered to even empty the bin, or change the tea cups, how could I be sure that they had bothered to change the sheets on the beds? Vaccuum? Refresh the towels? In fact, after that I became alert to every possibility. Was the loo clean? The towels were indeed very damp, and smelly... We didn't have a chance to take it up with them, racing off to the wedding, arriving back long after the pub had shut and leaving first thing in the morning when no one was about. But it has left me disinclined to recommend it; should you decide to stay there, make sure you question them about the cleaning and really scrutinise the place on arrival.

Reviewed by
E Grove

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of two night stay in single room in May 2013
Had a nice stay in this quiet country Inn situated in the middle of the village whilst participating in the Tour of Wessex cycling event in May 2013. Proprietor and staff were friendly and there was a good atmosphere in the bar on the Saturday night, the bar was closed on Sunday evening which was a shame. Good pub lunch and evening menue was available and full English breakfast was first class.

Reviewed by
r prickett

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Weekend Break
The Phelips Arms was a last minute booking having never been to that area and we were so pleased on our arrival. Set in one of the most beautiful villages in Somerset the surroundings were amazing with Montacute House practically next door. We received a very warm welcome after quite an arduous bank holiday Saturday drive down the M5. We had a family room and with a 14 year old in tow it was a very large room with lots of space. Very airy and immaculate. Breakfast was very good and Sunday lunch was extremely good value for money. All of the staff and owners were very pleasant and helpful and we would definitely recommend it to other people. We hope to visit again in the very near future.

Reviewed by
Fiona Holt

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were two sisters, complete with husbands, on a fun Bargain Hunt weekend away.
We were the only guests in the hotel and were made to feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Nicky and Addy were perfect hosts in a lovely quiet village setting.

Reviewed by
Christopher W

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb rooms and brilliant food for money!
Lovely rooms, very comfy with friendly staff and atmosphere. Definitely suitable for every type of person families and groups included as it was very secure and breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from! Slight issue with tv's not working but that may have been something we were doing wrong and we didn't stay long enough to investigate further. I wouldn't hesitate to book and stay here again!

Reviewed by
E Brown

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub in a lovely village
Montacute is well worth a visit. Gorgeous hamstone buildings, wonderful National Trust property and great pub! We have been to Montacute a few times before and love it. This time we decided to stay overnight and thought the pub looked good. We enjoyed our stay, had a comfortable room, good dinner in the evening in front of the log stove on a cold Feb night. We also enjoyed a game of old fashioned skittles (bowling) in the pub's own skittle alley. Good night's sleep in comfortable beds. Room was a bit chilly in the evening but fine at night. The only 2 points I would mention is the lack of the fire during breakfast (it would have been good to have come down to a warm, cheery room instead of feeling chilly) and very ordinary sausages at breakfast (I had been looking forward to the quality sausages on the evening menu). Having said that we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. Hosts were very good.

Reviewed by
Paula I

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Stayed for two nights on this cosy pub in a really pretty village. The owners couldn't do enough to make my stay a delight. I stayed in the single room which was ideal. Only had the breakfast which was superb and enough for two! Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
William S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A+ service, beautiful setting and a delicious breakfast!
Excellent gem in a beautiful setting.Could not fault the service- a rare quality these days. Very accommodating, friendly and service with a smile! Big hearty breakfast to set me on my way. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
L Cook

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great bargain break
Montacute perfect for an away break and the Phelips Arms a great base.

Reviewed by
Joanna C

From Liskeard, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next