No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phelips Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 THE BOROUGH , MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB
This splendid village pub offers a warm and hospitable welcome. Sample our great real ales, tasty snacks and mouth-watering, home-cooked meals. We source our ingredients locally, our home-roasted honey ham is a real treat! See our daily Specials board for a wide choice.
If you are planning to explore lovely South Somerset, or you're here on business, why not stay in one of our charming guest-rooms? Their architecture is 18th century but they have a complete range of modern facilities and can be booked online.
Our beautiful walled garden is an idyllic spot on a sunny day, sit back and relax. Or, if you need to work up an appetite, why not try your arm at traditional West Country skittles!

We 200 yards away from Montacute House. This famous, architecturally unique property is now owned by the National Trust. An Elizabethan jewel set in formal gardens and glorious parkland, it is not to be missed. A few doors away is a fascinating TV and radio museum, in the neighbouring village a venerable priory and, a short drive away, the Fleet Air Arm Museum. From ancient to modern, we have something for everyone!

The Phelips Arms Head Chef/landlady, Nicola, produces wonderful home-cooked food from best quality ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

For lunch, try a sandwich, a baguette, or perhaps a ploughman's. If you fancy something more substantial, our home-made steak and Palmer's Copper ale pie will satisfy the heartiest appetite!

On a Sunday, indulge in a traditional roast with a choice of meats. Sunday lunch is served from 12:00 till 16:00 with the pub closing at 18:00, (Sundays only).

In the evening, treat yourself to a delicious three course meal selected from our Specials board, which always includes vegetarian options. Enjoy a glass of wine, or quench your thirst with a perfectly kept pint of Palmer's Brewery ale.

Our letting rooms each have their own character. We have one single with en-suite,one family room comprising a double bed, single bed and en-suite, one twin with private bathroom, three double rooms with en-suite One of which is also dog friendly at only an additional £10 per night per dog.

All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, colour television with digital freeview, hair dryer and a radio alarm clock. Wi Fi & Ironing facilities are also available free of charge.

Come the morning, enjoy a full hearty English breakfast, plus tea or coffee, cereals, grapefruit, fruit juices and toast and jam. The perfect start to a day spent exploring your surroundings.

Picture of The Phelips Arms, MONTACUTE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What can I say very welcoming, helpful. Rooms immaculate and everything you could want.
Enjoyed our stays here and recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
margaret a

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Made to feel welcome by well mannered helpful barman. Evening meal provided good range of food and bar was pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast cooked to order and just as it should be. alas no marmite but that was my only gripe

Reviewed by
margaret w

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business and leisure
Booked at very short notice and was delighted with the warmth of reception and the ease of getting checked in. Really nice couple run the pub and they put themselves out to ensure the guests are pleased with the stay. Would recommend it either for couples or families

Reviewed by
N Harvey

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff were brilliant and friendly the price was extremely worthwhile and they worked so hard to ensure every part of our stay was outstanding

Reviewed by
matthew s

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delivers what it says on the tin
The pub is located in the centre of the village of Montacute, less than 50 yards from the entrance to Montacute House. The accommodation annexe is of Ham stone: the room was recently refurbished, and overlooked the yard. It was clean, quiet and spacious. The pub was friendly but relatively quiet the day we went. Really excellent, large full English breakfast served on hot plates, which we couldn't fault. Family room excellent value for money, and would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and memorable stay
The Phelips Arms is in an excellent location. It had a comfortable bed in an ample sized room. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. Situated with room overlooking picturesque village square with cottages made from the local Ham stone - only 100 yards from Montacute House, a National Trust property is well worth a visit. Covenient for touring this beautiful part of the country both the coast and countryside.

Reviewed by
john johnson

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice place to stay, however, the bed was hard and lumpy and the room was at the front and very noisy from 6 am. Probably a good place to stay if you had a back room.
The landlord was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed both our evening meal and cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sherrie M

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, food a little overpriced. Such a beautiful village, breathtaking.

Reviewed by
Drusilla Cherry

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly place to stay.
This was the first time we've stayed at the Phelips Arms and will definitely return. On arrival we instantly felt very welcome. The room was very clean and well provided with tea, biscuits etc, and lots of clean white towels. Booked a table for dinner and although the pub was busy the service was excellent. Had a good night's sleep in a comfy bed and although I didn't fancy a cooked breakfast my husband enjoyed his. The owners work very hard to make you feel welcome even when they're busy. My only suggestion would be vegetarian sausages on the breakfast menu for my veggie son next time!

Reviewed by
Liz Calnan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub and accommodation
Great pub accommodation and food. Hoteliers very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next