The Phelips Arms

4

2 THE BOROUGH, MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB

Price From 134.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Else

  • November 2013

Lovely old pub in a quintessential English village.

We stayed 2nights at the Phelips Arms Montecute for a local wedding.

The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs though my husband had issues with the comfyness of the bed ( he is used to a king and this was a double so that may have been the reason!) the mattress topper seemed to make it slope but its a very old building and the floors may have sloped also. The owner was helpful and friendly and the breakfasts great. No food served on Sunday evenings but there is another pub in the village that does. For a pub stay this was good value for money and I would recommend it. There are 4 nicely decorated rooms, one not ensuite but with a private bathroom right opposite it.

  • t smith

  • November 2013

Super value and very friendly!

I can fully recommend this little village pub, doing a great job with lots of real ales and interesting menu choices.

Brilliant breakfast selection and on day two I asked for a bit less as it was too much for a quick start to the day.

I cannot fault Ade the landlord or his partner who both did a cracking job. Handy for Montecute house and the super quintessential south Somerset village where they are situated. I will be booking again.

  • Kevin B

  • October 2013

Short Breaki n Montacute

Great service and room.

Friendly. Very close to Montacute House ie. walking distance, parking easy. Delightful village.

  • Paul H

  • October 2013

Great stay

Great friendly and helpful staff.

Lovely spot. Ample parking. Super breakfast.

  • Sarah T

  • October 2013

Little gem!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

Lovely big room, comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. The pub itself was exceptional with tasty food, friendly staff and an excellent array of Palmers real ales. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Jim M

  • October 2013

Good overnight stay

Stayed for one night en route between meetings.

Good comfortable accommodation and food.

  • Colin M

  • October 2013

Very nice people

A very enjoyable experience, room,food,staff all great.

Even the Pubs customers made my wife and I welcome. Also right next door to Montacute House.

  • Paul T

  • October 2013

Couldn't fault it

Stayed just one night, but would definitely come again.

clean comfortable room, good food, friendly and welcoming staff and real value for money.

  • Melanie W

  • October 2013

Very comfortable and well placed, with good food and friendly staff.

  • jan h

  • October 2013

The Phelips Arms

We were delighted with our 2 night stay at The Phelips Arms.

The owners and staff are very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are well furnished, clean and comfortable. The food on the menu is extensive, and there is always a specials board to choose from as well. The fish cakes are delicious as is the duck and noodles. Desserts are generous in size and spoilt for choice. Good choice at breakfast too. We chose The Phelips as it is so well located for a visit to Montacute House, and an excellent base for other local places of interest (Barrington Court, LytesCary, Haynes Motor Museum to name a few)

Would recommend for a weekend break, or short mid-week stay