No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phelips Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 THE BOROUGH , MONTACUTE, TA15 6XB
This splendid village pub offers a warm and hospitable welcome. Sample our great real ales, tasty snacks and mouth-watering, home-cooked meals. We source our ingredients locally, our home-roasted honey ham is a real treat! See our daily Specials board for a wide choice.
If you are planning to explore lovely South Somerset, or you're here on business, why not stay in one of our charming guest-rooms? Their architecture is 18th century but they have a complete range of modern facilities and can be booked online.
Our beautiful walled garden is an idyllic spot on a sunny day, sit back and relax. Or, if you need to work up an appetite, why not try your arm at traditional West Country skittles!

We 200 yards away from Montacute House. This famous, architecturally unique property is now owned by the National Trust. An Elizabethan jewel set in formal gardens and glorious parkland, it is not to be missed. A few doors away is a fascinating TV and radio museum, in the neighbouring village a venerable priory and, a short drive away, the Fleet Air Arm Museum. From ancient to modern, we have something for everyone!

The Phelips Arms Head Chef/landlady, Nicola, produces wonderful home-cooked food from best quality ingredients, sourced locally where possible.

For lunch, try a sandwich, a baguette, or perhaps a ploughman's. If you fancy something more substantial, our home-made steak and Palmer's Copper ale pie will satisfy the heartiest appetite!

On a Sunday, indulge in a traditional roast with a choice of meats. Sunday lunch is served from 12:00 till 16:00 with the pub closing at 18:00, (Sundays only).

In the evening, treat yourself to a delicious three course meal selected from our Specials board, which always includes vegetarian options. Enjoy a glass of wine, or quench your thirst with a perfectly kept pint of Palmer's Brewery ale.

Our letting rooms each have their own character. We have one single with en-suite,one family room comprising a double bed, single bed and en-suite, one twin with private bathroom, three double rooms with en-suite One of which is also dog friendly at only an additional £10 per night per dog.

All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, colour television with digital freeview, hair dryer and a radio alarm clock. Wi Fi & Ironing facilities are also available free of charge.

Come the morning, enjoy a full hearty English breakfast, plus tea or coffee, cereals, grapefruit, fruit juices and toast and jam. The perfect start to a day spent exploring your surroundings.

Picture of The Phelips Arms, MONTACUTE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely welcoming hosts
We stayed here while attending a family event nearby. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. We were the only guests that night and breakfast was cooked to order with very generous portions. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b&b, good evening meal and breakfast. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Would recommend to friends

Reviewed by
Denise Living

From Yeovil, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable overnight stay
Gladly recommended

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old pub in a quintessential English village.
We stayed 2nights at the Phelips Arms Montecute for a local wedding. The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs though my husband had issues with the comfyness of the bed ( he is used to a king and this was a double so that may have been the reason!) the mattress topper seemed to make it slope but its a very old building and the floors may have sloped also! The owner was helpful and friendly and the breakfasts great! No food served on Sunday evenings but there is another pub in the village that does. For a pub stay this was good value for money and I would recommend it. There are 4 nicely decorated rooms, one not ensuite but with a private bathroom right opposite it.

Reviewed by
A Else

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Breaki n Montacute
Great service and room. Friendly. Very close to Montacute House ie. walking distance, parking easy. Delightful village.

Reviewed by
Kevin B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back. Lovely big room, comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. The pub itself was exceptional with tasty food, friendly staff and an excellent array of Palmers real ales. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great friendly and helpful staff. Lovely spot. Ample parking. Super breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Pub Accomodation
We stayed here for one night as we were attending football at Yeovil Town. It is a lovely pub in a small village. The rooms were first class, clean and roomy. We didn't eat in the evening as we went into Yeovil. The owner was really helpful and booked us a local taxi. We had breakfast which was excellent. Nothing to fault in this accomodation.

Reviewed by
John Hart

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight stay
Stayed for one night en route between meetings. Good comfortable accommodation and food.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault it
Stayed just one night, but would definitely come again. clean comfortable room, good food, friendly and welcoming staff and real value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next