Reviews - The Phelips Arms



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Margaretta R

  • September 2014

Great atmosphere

Lovely welcome from Ady, the landlord, who made us feel 'at home' straight away.

Our room was at the back, one of two off a small staircase, with a very comfortable bed, sofa and small TV. There was a tiny, but fully functional, en-suite tucked into a corner. The landlady Nicola is the chef and we enjoyed dinner on both nights and a great breakfast each morning. Plenty of choice on the menu and all items freshly prepared and cooked. All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent.

  • Alan Watson

  • September 2014

A really nice experience

Good to see a hard working young couple making the best of an old building.

One of the most beautiful little villages we have stayed in. We were made most welcome.

  • D Carson

  • August 2014

We were made to feel very welcome at this friendly village Pub, nothing was too much trouble, and we would definitely recommend the Phelips Arms to friends.

  • p ellis

  • August 2014


A most enjoyable 3 day stay with the Hotel

  • Nicola K

  • May 2014

Great accommodation

Friendly staff, great value, good quality accommodation

  • Denise B

  • May 2014

Great stay for local wedding

We had a fantastic stay- warm welcome, clean room with a wonderful view and a delicious breakfast.

Couldn't ask for more.


  • April 2014

Enjoyable short break

Lovely place to stay if you are exploring the area.

Everyone was very welcoming and friendly, the room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. The food was good and my husband enjoyed the beer. We would like to stay again.

  • Jane M

  • April 2014

Extremely welcoming hosts

We stayed here while attending a family event nearby.

The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. We were the only guests that night and breakfast was cooked to order with very generous portions. We would stay here again.

  • l giles

  • April 2014

welcome and kindness

We were welcomed from the start nothing was too much trouble we felt that by the end of our stay we would be returning.

It was a warm and cosy room and a warm friendly pub attached. My husband ran the local park run so they kindly took his breakfast order and produced it on his return even though breakfast should have been finished. We had a lovely evening meal and my mother and step father came and joined us. My mum does not eat meat but does eat fish and eggs cheese. Amazingly there were at least four things she could choose from which is rare. Highly recommend

  • Deborah J

  • March 2014

A lovely pub in a lovely village

A lovely pub in a lovely village, both landlady and landlord very nice and accommodating.

Food excellent and of good quality, will return again.