No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

5AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Crown Inn, RoecliffeBoroughbridge, York, YO519LY
Described as one of the prettiest villages in England The Crown Inn at Roecliffe is nestled on the village green. An historic 16th Century Coaching Inn with roaring log fires, stone flagged floors, age old beams and low ceilings.

Surrounded by wonderful countryside with many walks and the river Ure running through the village. Fountains Abbey & gardens,
Newby Hall and Beningbrough Hall, beautiful National Trust properties are all very close, as is the city of York and Harrogate.

The Crown Inn retains lots of its original features and a full refurbishment last year has brought it back to its former glory.
Our bedrooms are all individually designed by the owners using Farrow & Ball paints and papers. Solid mahogany sleigh beds and free standing baths on oak floors, make the rooms very comfortable indeed. We have an award winning kitchen with a team of accomplished chefs, winning National Pub Chef of the year for the second time, this year. Sourcing and cooking local produce we have a mouthwatering menu including, Fresh Whitby Crab soup, Fresh Shetland mussels, King Prawn tempura as well as Dales reared lamb, local crisp belly pork and our famous fish Pie to name but a few. We smoke all our own Salmon, make our own Goats Cheese, roll our own Blackpudding and prepare everything fresh in our own kitchens, every day.

The Crown is a truly wonderful coaching inn that prides itself on offering a high standard of service in a warm relaxed atmosphere.
Picture of The Crown Inn, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Food!
This was our second stay at The Crown to celebrate a birthday! The decanter of port in the room is a really nice touch. The food was fabulous yet again and it's definately worth the visit to enjoy the food alone! We had slightly noisy neighbours in the room next door this time which might be a problem for light sleepers but otherwise we enjoyed everything and will definately be staying again in the future.

Reviewed by
C Sutcliffe

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely stay again
Excellent food, excellent room, excellent service. We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
G Humphries

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As usual, an excellent stop over on our way to Edinburgh

Reviewed by
David R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful !!
Possibly the nicest, friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at. The food and wine is world class, the ambience is perfect and the room was just lovely. We asked in advance if we could bring our dog - which was no problem and discovered that a lovely table in the bar area had been reserved for us where our dog could happily sit under the table. Perfect for pet lovers - and there are also lots of other lovely areas of the restaurant to dine if you would prefer a dog free environment. Thanks again - Will definitely be back !

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utter treat
Magnificent food, delightful rooms, great service. A rare treat these days! Excellent place, truly.

Reviewed by
James Mason

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem
this is a little gem. The setting of the hotel is just what you expect of a small Yorkshire village. the hotel it's self is clean, the rooms and beds are comfortable but the food is just out of this world.
we will definitely go back.

Reviewed by
k wadforth

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet place, easy relaxed atmosphere. Great food and very pleasant staff. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Reviewed by
l neal

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice surprise
Having booked at the last minute, we were very happy most aspects of our stay. Only negative was that it's not really a family venue, but that is a big positive to most anyway.
It was value for money in every aspect too. Same price as large chain motels, but with a much friendlier feel. The bedroom was roomy, with separate seating and tv area, plus a nice bathroom with a free standing bath.
The food was of great quality and even on a Wednesday evening the restaurant was nearly full. A lot of patrons were not staying at the Crown, so the place must be well known in the locality.
Would definitely stay again and tell other people to do also.

Reviewed by
M Ritchie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food, great people
A busy pub serving brilliant food through the day.
Very efficient bar staff. Attentive and friendly waiting staff.
Food was locally sourced and amazing quality - prepared with care and attention to detail.
Lovely room.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Kathryn L

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place, throughly reccommend it!

Reviewed by
Tracey Russell

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next