No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

5AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Crown Inn, RoecliffeBoroughbridge, York, YO519LY
Described as one of the prettiest villages in England The Crown Inn at Roecliffe is nestled on the village green. An historic 16th Century Coaching Inn with roaring log fires, stone flagged floors, age old beams and low ceilings.

Surrounded by wonderful countryside with many walks and the river Ure running through the village. Fountains Abbey & gardens,
Newby Hall and Beningbrough Hall, beautiful National Trust properties are all very close, as is the city of York and Harrogate.

The Crown Inn retains lots of its original features and a full refurbishment last year has brought it back to its former glory.
Our bedrooms are all individually designed by the owners using Farrow & Ball paints and papers. Solid mahogany sleigh beds and free standing baths on oak floors, make the rooms very comfortable indeed. We have an award winning kitchen with a team of accomplished chefs, winning National Pub Chef of the year for the second time, this year. Sourcing and cooking local produce we have a mouthwatering menu including, Fresh Whitby Crab soup, Fresh Shetland mussels, King Prawn tempura as well as Dales reared lamb, local crisp belly pork and our famous fish Pie to name but a few. We smoke all our own Salmon, make our own Goats Cheese, roll our own Blackpudding and prepare everything fresh in our own kitchens, every day.

The Crown is a truly wonderful coaching inn that prides itself on offering a high standard of service in a warm relaxed atmosphere.
Picture of The Crown Inn, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice surprise
Having booked at the last minute, we were very happy most aspects of our stay. Only negative was that it's not really a family venue, but that is a big positive to most anyway.
It was value for money in every aspect too. Same price as large chain motels, but with a much friendlier feel. The bedroom was roomy, with separate seating and tv area, plus a nice bathroom with a free standing bath.
The food was of great quality and even on a Wednesday evening the restaurant was nearly full. A lot of patrons were not staying at the Crown, so the place must be well known in the locality.
Would definitely stay again and tell other people to do also.

Reviewed by
M Ritchie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food, great people
A busy pub serving brilliant food through the day.
Very efficient bar staff. Attentive and friendly waiting staff.
Food was locally sourced and amazing quality - prepared with care and attention to detail.
Lovely room.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Kathryn L

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place, throughly reccommend it!

Reviewed by
Tracey Russell

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a very enjoyable trip and we would certainly go again.
The food was first class wonderful dinners and superb breakfasts.
Everyone appeared happy and wanted to make us feel welcome.
The manager Leigh noticed we had gone to our room after dinner and rushed up to ask our breakfast time,newspaper and did we require any water or anything else to make us comfortable.
he was pleasant and attentive.They were busy but had time for all their guests.
Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
John Rushby

From Barlow Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Fantastic accommodation very unique and bespoke. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The food was 5* indeed, all produce sourced locally. We ate in the restaurant which was comfortable, attentive and like a mitchelin star restaurant.
Every detail had been considered, room facilities, water, milk, coffee selection and extras. A very enjoyable stay and good value for money.

Reviewed by
C Clay

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent room with comfortable bed, very warm welcome, great beer selection and fine food.
the couple sitting outside are always there whatever the weather !

Reviewed by
NEIL T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
We're definitely going back here!
I booked this trip to celebrate my husband's birthday and on knowing it was my husband's special day the folks at The Crown Inn pulled out all the stops to make it really special indeed.
The room was great, spacious, clean, comfy - the whole thing was gorgeous and the roll top bath made for a relaxing wind down.

Reviewed by
L Melton

From Bardney, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just fabulous!
Stayed for 3 nights. Bedrooms are beautiful and very spacious. Crown Inn is absolutely lovely and full of character. Warm and cosy, log fires, gorgeous restaurant with amazing food. The staff are excellent and full of cheer - nothing too much trouble. Handy for York and Harrogate and the village of Roecliffe where hotel is situated is lovely and quiet. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a classy, short break. We will be returning to this hotel in the near future - its that good.

Reviewed by
valerie l

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Place with Fantastic Service
We had a fantastic time. The Inn is in a lovely village location and well deserves all its awards. The staff were really friendly and helped make our time there really enjoyable. There is a very laid back/relaxed feel, whilst at the same time great attention to detail. The room was lovely and scrupulously clean. Over the 24 hours we were there we ate Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. All were superb. Gastropub is really an insult for this place, the food is on a much higher level than that. At the same time they catered perfectly for my 7 year old who loved the food whilst sat in front of a roaring open fire. We will certainly come again, possibly next time with friends.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek Autumn Break
Attractive traditional Inn beautifully located by the village green in a beautiful rural village.
Friendly professional staff, large and luxuriously decorated bedroom with spacious seating area and generous ensuite. Both breakfast and evening meal were delicious and generous in size! We had a fantastic couple of nights, would definitely rerun and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
S Searby

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next