No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cromwell Arms

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Fore Street , Bovey Tracey, TQ13 9AE
Just 5 minutes drive off the A38, the Cromwell Arms is located in the centre of Bovey Tracey on the edge of Dartmoor, known as the Gateway to the Moor. Offering easy access to endless countryside and attractions, it is a fantastic place from which to explore the whole region of Dartmoor, from the moors, tors and villages, to the beaches and seasides of Devon and the rest of the South West of England. With Exeter city centre being only 12 miles approx in one direction and Plymouth approx 25 miles in the other and being 10 miles away from the sea, our location is an ideal stop over for holiday makers, a weekend break and/or a business trip. Newton Abbot is also approximately 5 miles away, making us a perfect place to stay over when the race course holds its meetings. For business customers who are visiting Heathfield, which is on our door step, we serve an early business breakfast from 7am Monday to Friday.
The 17th century oak beamed coaching inn is a family run establishment and having been recently refurbished, has 12 tastefully decorated and comfortable en-suite rooms. One of which is a family room that can sleep up to 6 people. Our bar and restaurant offer a great range of cask ales, draught lagers and ciders, wines and spirits, as well as an extensive menu of fresh home cooked food and daily specials to whet your appetite. We have FREE Wifi throughout, a lawned beer garden with a pagoda and decking for those warm sunny days, two log fires to warm you on those cosy winter nights and a car park for approximately 20 cars.
So, whether you are on holiday, on business or just passing through, a visit here is highly recommended.
Picture of The Cromwell Arms, Bovey Tracey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant place to stay and well placed for exploring Dartmoor and district
Very pleasant staff,led by a friendly manager,James,for whom nothing was too much trouble.Thank you to him.
The food was pretty average,but served by charming staff

Reviewed by
L W

From Haslemere, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Had a really lovely stay over at the Cromwell Arms. Very friendly,excellent room and a great dinner and breakfast with lots of choice.
Bovey Tracey is a charming village and the Cromwell Arms is a super popular inn.

Reviewed by
Sue K

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great & welcome stay.
A very nice stay & would come back agiain . Best breakfast in town.

Reviewed by
diane green

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

100% recommendatio
Quaint, friendly, reasonably priced village accommodation. Pub noise no issue, staff very accommodating. Surroundings great both in the pub and room. All facilities excellent.
One very small observation - the size of the room key fob, hugely unnecessary and separated from the key within 5 minutes. Other than that 100% recommendation. Thank you for a great, relaxing overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Janet Alexander

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff , lovely Hotel , room was nice , Food excellent , the young guy waiter in the restaurant was very good and coped very well with a quite rude older couple .
only one thing I did not like and also heard others commenting ,was the silly wooden key ring . this was very uncomfortable to walk around with and embarrassing as its the size of a brick i dont know what the point is . things like this could easily stop me from coming back . Change the key ring to a normal pocket size and I cant then fault anything .

Reviewed by
Steve Mays

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay.
Friendly host and staff, good food and beer, can be noisy but after all it is a pub. There was a band on during our stay but we were pre warned, I found that after a couple of their strong beers you notice the noise less!! Very popular with locals, does everybody in Bovey Tracy own a dog?
Would visit again.

Reviewed by
Ray K

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and comfortable pub good beer and lots going on in the evening ie pub quiz live music great area to explore devon

Reviewed by
barry s

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed my stay
very friendly good food great selection of beers and ales

Reviewed by
warren ford

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. Very friendly staff. Rooms good size, clean and comfortable bed.
Would have been great to have wifi in the room.

Reviewed by
Melissa P

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Very comfortable and friendly staff I have stayed several times and never been dissapointed

Reviewed by
Chris C

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next