No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - YHA Ambleside

3Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
Waterhead , AMBLESIDE, LA22 0EU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Hostel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The £1.4 million refurbishment of YHA Ambleside is now complete and the hostel is welcoming guests to England’s largest National Park.

All 64 bedrooms, including 11 en-suite, have been fully renovated and offer comfortable and stylish accommodation in the Lake District.

There’s so much to see and do in the area and after a day’s activities the hostel’s brand new restaurant and licensed bar may prove a welcome sight. Book a stay soon and be sure to take advantage of the highlight of the renovation work – the decked terrace overlooking Lake Windermere.

Ambleside is fast becoming the adventure capital of Cumbria, right in the heart of the Lake District. It’s perfect for walking, watersports, mountain biking and other outdoor activities. The hostel boasts a commanding location on the shores of Lake Windermere with breathtaking views over the lake, the Langdale Pikes and surrounding mountains.

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

***IMPORTANT - All bookings made via Laterooms for more than 16 people will be cancelled. Bookings can be made for up to 14 nights only. Any booking made for over 14 nights will be cancelled.***

Picture of YHA Ambleside, AMBLESIDE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money

Reviewed by
C Barron

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a view
The YHA is situated with a wonderful view on the lake just a short walk away from the boats.. how wonderful to look at the lake waking up in the morning

Reviewed by
Moira G

From Düsseldorf, Germany
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day stop after camping trip in Scottish islands
Beautiful location and wonderful facilities including laundry, drying room, self catering, dining areas, quiet rooms, outdoor seating, computer to use, in fact everything to suit all needs from young to old. Staff welcoming, helpful and cheerful. The only downside was that the bunk beds were not terribly comfortable - both young and old in the group felt the same. (our stay involved 2 rooms due to separate bookings and we found this the same in both rooms). The shower and toilet facilities were excellent as were the bedding and lights/plug in facilities by each bed for mobiles etc. A perfect base in the Lakes.

Reviewed by
Liz I

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice view
It was overall very nice place to stay, execellant service and had a beautiful view.

Reviewed by
K Bhadra

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location , for a budget break unbeatable value.

Reviewed by
David Frizzell

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last night of honeymoon!
From a luxury hotel room at Loch Fyne, we wound our way via Oban to finish our week in the Lakes ...
The friendly and helpful YHA staff gave us a warm welcome and were cheerful and helpful throughout our one-night stay. Menu is great with something for all appetites, tastes and budgets and our choices were cooked just fine. Bar had a good selection and the draught beer was well-kept. Our room, which was upgraded automatically on arrival to a lovely view of the lake, was perfectly clean and well-maintained. Fantastic stay which is highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Griffiths

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
As value for money YHA Ambleside is fantastic. Room was warm and clean, beds comfortable and facilities great, we didn't want for anything. I would recommend this hostel to anyone from lone traveller to families.

Reviewed by
E Brigginshaw

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views, great value
This hostel lies on the side of Lake Windermere, with views of the mountains in s wide panorama. With the amazing views, and plenty of outside seating and tables, it was a wonderful place for a couple of people to spend the night at £28 total.
We cooked our own food in the big very clean kitchen although you could take breakfast and dinner there. The eating area was presentable, but had a stale odor since no windows could open. I suggest you open a kitchen window to improve the air in the kitchen.
Our room had a bunk bed, comfy single mattresses, two thin pillows and two thin single duvets. The sink was clean, and the small window faced the lake and mountains. There was a sink and a tiny wardobe, but very little room to move about. It was very clean, but needed significant repainting.
Overall, a very clean, but in need of painting hostel, with wonderful views. We will definitely come again!

Reviewed by
J Morris

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hostel and extreme value for cost
Has everything a hotel has, but with a friendlier more relaxed atmosphere

Reviewed by
D Henshall

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

21st century YHA
This, recently updated, youth hostel is in a perfect position on lake Windermere. Just for this alone it's worth staying at. The room we stayed in was basic, but comfortable.
The bar and restaurant were perfect for our stay - torrential rain; so didn't need to go out again. The food menu was quite limited, but for one night that wasn't a problem. There is a self catering kitchen for cooking your own food.
Even though they've upgraded they've managed to retain the youth hostel atmosphere and haven't become just another cheap hotel. I will definitely come here again.

Reviewed by
Eva B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next