Reviews - YHA Ambleside


Waterhead, AMBLESIDE, LA22 0EU

Price From 60.94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • karan dhanak

  • November 2015

Good value for money with amaizing location, highly recommended.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, they made sure we were comfortable there.

They also guided us and provided us with the map for things to do there. Room was clean and tidy. Kitchen was well equipped and clean.

Beautiful location, especially because Julie (at reception) gave us lake facing room. The view was just mesmerising from our windows. The rain didn't help but YHA did all they could to welcome us. I will definitely go there again.

  • Rowena H

  • September 2015

Lake side quality accommodation with serenity added for free!

Really enjoyed this peaceful place, it was clean and tidy and nothing was a problem other than showers that wet everything as they didn't have something to keep the water where it belonged.

A great stay!


  • February 2015

Ambleside Youth Hostel

Fabulous weekend, would definitely recommend it!

  • Julie L

  • February 2015

A great place to amble to

I was taking part in a swimming event and this hostel was well situated for it.

Facilities were great and the Lakeside restaurant was excellent. For a great place to stay while in the Lakes look no further. Will definitely consider staying here again.

  • C Barron

  • October 2014

Great value for money

  • Moira G

  • September 2014

What a view

The YHA is situated with a wonderful view on the lake just a short walk away from the boats..

how wonderful to look at the lake waking up in the morning

  • Liz I

  • August 2014

2 day stop after camping trip in Scottish islands

Beautiful location and wonderful facilities including laundry, drying room, self catering, dining areas, quiet rooms, outdoor seating, computer to use, in fact everything to suit all needs from young to old.

Staff welcoming, helpful and cheerful. The only downside was that the bunk beds were not terribly comfortable - both young and old in the group felt the same. (our stay involved 2 rooms due to separate bookings and we found this the same in both rooms). The shower and toilet facilities were excellent as were the bedding and lights/plug in facilities by each bed for mobiles etc. A perfect base in the Lakes.

  • K Bhadra

  • July 2014

Nice view

It was overall very nice place to stay, execellant service and had a beautiful view.

  • David Frizzell

  • May 2014

Superb location , for a budget break unbeatable value.

  • A Griffiths

  • May 2014

Last night of honeymoon!

From a luxury hotel room at Loch Fyne, we wound our way via Oban to finish our week in the Lakes ...

The friendly and helpful YHA staff gave us a warm welcome and were cheerful and helpful throughout our one-night stay. Menu is great with something for all appetites, tastes and budgets and our choices were cooked just fine. Bar had a good selection and the draught beer was well-kept. Our room, which was upgraded automatically on arrival to a lovely view of the lake, was perfectly clean and well-maintained. Fantastic stay which is highly recommended.