No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandford House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Perry Green Road, Wembdon, , Bridgwater, TA5 2AZ
Welcome to Sandford House. We are a 4 acre smallholding in West Somerset situated between Bridgwater and Cannington just 3 miles from junction 23 and 24 on the M5. We sit on the foot of the Quantock Hills, a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, and on the edge of the Somerset levels, making Sandford House an excellent location for exploring the varied and beautiful countryside nearby. We offer four star standard bed and breakfast accommodation with a full English breakfast from locally sourced produce including eggs from our own chickens and homemade preserves. If you prefer a lighter start to the day there is also a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. We can cater for special dietary needs but please let us know at the time of booking so that we can prepare the best breakfast possible. Refreshments are available on arrival and guests are welcome to wander and enjoy the gardens and smallholding. The premises are also licensed so you can enjoy an evening drink in the sitting room which has a log burner to brighten any chilly evenings, plenty of books, maps of the local area and games. We also have plenty of parking and secure storage for bikes. Sandford House is a non smoking household. We also have a small camping and caravanning field with electric hook-ups. Most major credit and debit cards accepted.
Picture of Sandford House, Bridgwater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a most delightful stay
from the moment of welcome to the help at check-out the service offered was excellent.

Reviewed by
John I

From Macclesfield, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The quality of a 5* hotel for the price of an English B&B - simply superb!
I came to attend the 40 Commando celebrations and I am now so pleased that I wasn't successful in finding a room in Taunton, where I needed to be, so I could end up at Sandford House!
My en-suite twin room was immaculate, with the kind of attention to detail which you would only expect from large hotels. I very much enjoyed having plush pillows, a decent range of guest toiletries (including cream), ironing facilities as well as home made biscuits and the offer of fresh milk to go with the tea in my room. The owner, Nerina is most helpful and relaxed yet very professional. The gardens are very well maintained with a lovely mix of herbs and plants and the animals, especially the lambs, left me with a big smile!
The occasion in Taunton was very special but the pleasant stay at Sandford House has only enhanced my joyful memory of this visit!

Reviewed by
P Cousins

From Scarborough, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B I have ever stayed in the UK
I can't fault the quality, value for money and the friendly welcome, absolutely great. We had the twin room.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly, super clean and high quality
I only stayed one evening on a quick business trip but the place was really nice and I would very happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Hill

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous!
A wonderful place to stay. Great hospitality, coupled with an excellent room in a peaceful location.

Reviewed by
N Howard

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing breakfast
what an absolute joy to have found this place, clean, comfortable and lovely hosts. Homemade cake on arrival and an 'honesty bar' made for those extra touches. The breakfast was fantastic, the best scrambled eggs I have ever had!! Will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
Maria W

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - would definitiely stay again - highly recommended!

Reviewed by
C Weaver

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lucky Find!
Searching online for a B&B in the Bridgwater area found this hidden gem.
From Nerina's warm welcolm with tea and delicious homemade cakes, to the delightful en suite bedroom, everything smacked of quality. Bedroom furnishings and bathroom fittings were superb, and the perfectly cooked breakfast really set us up for the day, with fresh eggs, homemade bread and jams. We shall definitely return, and would not consider staying anywhere else. Thanks go to Nerina & Phil for making our stay so memorable.

Reviewed by
P Kelly

From Hindhead, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home Visit
We were visiting my home town and staying at Sandford House for the second time. Everything has been done to make you feel at home, from tea on arrival, to free home made cake when you feel like it, to very comfortable rooms and beds and wi-fi. The breakfast is excellent with locally sourced food and the house itself is located on the pleasant rural edge of Bridgwater towards the Quantocks and within easy reach of the villages of Wembdon and Cannington. A very hospitable and comfortable place.

Reviewed by
jim edney

From Lytham St Annes, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4