No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Somerset Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. GEORGES CRESCENT , LLANDUDNO, LL30 2LF
The Somerset Hotel is owned and personally supervised by the Paddock family who offer a warm friendly welcome to all.

The superb position of the hotel with its close proximity to the Pier, Great Orme and North Wales Theatre and Conference Centre, not to mention the main town shopping area directly to the rear, simply couldn't be better. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel providing secure parking from which the hotel is easily accessed by a flight of stairs.

The flexibility of accommodation and public rooms ensure the needs of individual guests and group bookings are met to the satisfaction of all.

Special break rates are available in Spring and Autumn, Turkey and Tinsel breaks throughout November and early December and a fabulous Christmas package for the festive holiday.
Picture of The Somerset Hotel, LLANDUDNO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel with friendly staff. Could do with modernisation. Breakfast was ok, but a little chaotic with staff not knowing what they were meant to be doing and very busy.

Reviewed by
A Backhouse

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a lovely stay but a few things to mention
Overall a lovely stay, room was clean but old fashioned could do we some modern features. There wasn't much hot water so not ideal when two people needing to shower. Breakfast was very nice but was very disorganised and you couldn't ask any of the staff for anything as there were running around like headless chickens. Very warm welcome but wasn't asked about our stay.

Reviewed by
Ellie W

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny weekend in Llandudno 13/07/13
Easy to find and great location . Parking was tight but nice to have available , THe receptionist was very pleasant on arrival but a different lady on the desk when we left , wasn't asked 'if we enjoyed our stay ' or 'was everything ok with your room etc ' which I would have thought would be basic good customer service , The room was adequate for what we needed and what we paid , plenty of tea , coffee etc and enough towels too . The view was great . Breakfast was good , the staff were great and the service they gave was really good , everything was bought the table within seconds and they were extremely polite so a big thumbs up to the waiting staff . Would definitely use this hotel and would recommend it to friends

Reviewed by
Michelle Norman

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decor of room very dated.
Large hotel with great position on sea front. Decor was very dated which seemed to fit in with its main type of clientele. Stayed in a small rear room with a view of the car park with strange mixture of modern wardrobes and very old chairs. Small bathroom with toilet and bath/ shower, but wash basin in main room next to bed. Breakfast was adequate and staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
H L

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely receptionist, shame about the breakfast (or lack of)....
Stayed at the somerset hotel for 2 nights. Managed to save £26 per night through laterooms, and glad because despite warm welcome and the staff being very helpful and accommodating toward us & our dog, the cost of £90 per night was a bit high for the level of accommodation. Location, parking etc were perfect so no real problems with the cost.
the main problem we encountered was the refusal to serve us breakfast on the second morning. This was a sunday, so you might expect a slightly later deadline than 9.30am for ordering breakfast, but no. We arrived in the breakfast room at 9.25am and were told that we had missed serving. When querying the time (appreciate it was close, but is was still before 9.30), we were told that it was after 9.30 (it wasn't) and that a cold buffet breakfast was available if we sat in the back room. One problem - there was nothing left, at all! Staff refused to serve even hot drinks, so we ended up with the dregs of the fruit juice.
a real shame, as it left a bad taste (quite literally!). Had to go elsewhere and buy breakfast. On top of £192 (£6 per night for the dog....) For 2 nights, in north wales, in a slightly shabby hotel, was a bit much we thought.
given there is so much choice and competition in llandudno, i think the somerest management need to have a good look at their service.
on balance, probably wouldn't return, so a real shame i guess.

Reviewed by
steve watson

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel just could do with an update staff friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
G Davey

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
You can't fault the location - right on the front. I booked the hotel mainly because it had a car park - we were visting May bank holiday weekend and knew on-street parking would be difficult to find - but the car park was full when we arrived. There are two dining rooms and neither the receptionist (who said she was new) nor the breakfast staff seemed aware/bothered enough to explain that to us one is for coach parties. We were put in there on the first morning - mayhem!

Reviewed by
C French

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived we were a bit disappointed at the parking arrangements. It was has a small car park to the rear of the hotel and I'm glad we hadn't took our 4x4. We finally parked just out of the car park in front of what looked like a delivery door. But as it was a very busy weekend for Llandudno we didn't expect there to be any. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very clean and had a lovely view of the prom and pier. The bathroom was on the small side but clean, and very unusual to have the sink in the bedroom and not the bathroom. Breakfast was very busy and tight on room. We had to share a table with strangers and was on a table that the waitress had to come past with other diners breakfast. my partner had a couple of close calls to wearing some. The breakfast was ok, my partner has a big appetite so filled up on toast. Overall the hotel was nice, clean and central. The staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
S Philpotts

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay
myself and my husband had a very nice stay at the somerset hotel on our first visit to llandudno.The hotel room was very comfortable and clean and our breakfast was lovely with the usual choices of fruit juice,cereals,prunes etc. followed by a nice hot cooked breakfast of bacon,egg,mushrooms.tomatoes,fried bread and sausage plus toast and preserves.We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
l senior

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.