No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Howard Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
FLAT 1 EDEN HOUSE FRONT STREET, BRAMPTON, CA8 1NG
Family run small hotel, with good restaurant, fine ales pub, 2 miles from Hadrian's wall, situated 0.5 miles from the A69 main route from Carlisle to Necastle, with a regular train and bus service from the town and taxi hire also available. Two renowned Golf courses, Lanercost Priory and other historical monuments are some of the places of interest in Brampton.
Picture of Howard Arms Hotel, BRAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting hotel in th old market town of Brampton
I expect that the modern en-suite shower rooms were put in somewhat after Charles Dickens stayed here. Lovely room, good breakfast and very good value. Have stayed here before and hope to do so again.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to beat for the money
I wanted something that wasn't just a chain to stop off in on my way north. LateRooms pointed me at this one - excellent value for the money. Traditional borders hotel with uneven floors and fireplaces in the rooms, but for an inexpensive place to have a night's sleep after a few beers downstairs - couldn't be beaten.

Reviewed by
Robin S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Laid back
Very friendly, helpful and relaxed.

Reviewed by
J Gordon

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well above expections
Myself and my 3 friends just wanted a cheap night away but we didn't expect the quality we got at the Howard. The room was lovely and very clean and even a basket of fruit. Friendly staff fom the outset, a comfortable bed and breakfast was fab. A really god choice, hot, real coffee and real butter. Exceptional value for money.

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From Seascale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine, if you’re Cinderella!!!!
Firstly can I just say that I’m the kind of person who thinks if a hotel room is clean then it’s fine as mostly you’re just sleeping in it.
We’d chosen the Howard Arms as it was close to the venue of the party we were attending. At first all seemed well but quite rapidly went downhill.
Whilst checking in we were told from the Landlady that the pub shut at around midnight. If we wanted to say out any later than this we would need to let them know an exact time so that they could come down and open the door for us. As we’d not met up with our friends to find out what the plans for the evening were, we were unable to give a time. We said we would make a few phone calls and let them know before we left that night.
On entering the room the first thing that hit us wasn’t wow this is an Executive Room which we'd booked or how clean it was or how nice the fruit basket looked (an apple, orange and ripe banana) it was arctic blast coming from the sash window swishing the curtain to and fro. I went to close it thinking it was open … it wasn’t!! So the curtains were drawn to keep the draft out and the radiator was turned on to heat the room. After an hour of straining our eyes trying to watch the 12inch TV it was still no warmer as the radiator had come on so we decided we would get ready and have a look around Brampton.
On looking in the bathroom I noticed a piece of the shower base lying on the floor, not thinking a lot about it I just fitted it back on. This was until I got out of the shower and realised that there was a leak under the shower base and it had totally flooded the bathroom floor. Once I’d socked up the water using the towels and got ready I went down stairs to let the Landlady know about the shower and what time we planned on being back at the hotel that evening.
The Landlady had left so the bar staff were now looking after the hotel. I waited to speak to them while they tried to throw a drunken man out of the establishment. Once I did they said I’d need to speak with the owners in the morning about the shower and in the mean time just keep moping it up with the towels. When I told them what time I’d be back at the hotel I was told it didn’t work like that. When they close the bar the hotel would be locked and we would need to be back by then. I told them what the Landlady had said and his words were “I’m not staying up waiting for you; you’ll have to be back before the bar shuts”.
I then asked him what time this would be and was told it could be anytime between 11pm and 12pm depending on how busy they were. If I gave them my telephone number they would ring me and tell me what time to be back. I’ve never known a hotel to have a curfew, ever and I spend more than 100 nights a year in hotel rooms!
It turned out that we had to go back at 11pm as we didn’t have a phone signal and after speaking to others from around the area saying they had seen people braying on the hotel door to get in we thought we’d better not chance it. So our friends decided to come back to the hotel with us for a drink and a couple of games of pool. On arriving at the bar the staff were trying to stop another altercation with a couple of customers (this was the third I’d seen in bar with in 6 hour) so we made our way to the pool room. The pool table had a leg missing and was balanced on a stool and the cue ball had a chunk missing from it so as you can imagine it wasn't a good game.
Anyway there was one positive point about the stay. The breakfast was nice not great but nice. We spoke to the owners on the morning about the shower and to explane why there was sodden towels left in the base only to be told they knew about it but couldn’t get a plumber and didn’t have another room for us. Which we actually thought was quite strange as we hadn’t seen any other hotel guests and there was only one other breakfast table set up apart from ours. When they asked what time we got back we explained to them that their staff hadn’t given us an option but to come back before the bar shut, to which we received no apology even though our night was spoilt clock watching.

Reviewed by
andy w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
For the price, really good value for money. Not luxurious but terrific breakfast!

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent

Reviewed by
Paul K

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub hotel - but check if there's a band on first!
Lovely and helpful reception from the staff. Clean and modern bedroom. However, I would advise considering the day of your stay when booking - we stayed on a Saturday and as it is a pub hotel, it was quite noisy (there was a band on!).

Reviewed by
Kirsty S

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, nice location - fabulous breakfast!

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From Port Erin, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a treat
perfect base to play golf ,great breakfast, thwaites real ale on tap ,very clean and very helpful/polite staff , Excellent.

Reviewed by
JAMES L

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next