No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Howard Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
FLAT 1 EDEN HOUSE FRONT STREET, BRAMPTON, CA8 1NG
Family run small hotel, with good restaurant, fine ales pub, 2 miles from Hadrian's wall, situated 0.5 miles from the A69 main route from Carlisle to Newcastle, with a regular train and bus service from the town and taxi hire also available. Two renowned Golf courses, Lanercost Priory and other historical monuments are some of the places of interest in Brampton.
Picture of Howard Arms Hotel, BRAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place
Arrived late on Friday (about 9:30pm) but received a call from hotel about 8pm to ask if we were interested in ordering something to eat, which we thought was very nice. The room was well decorated and comfortable. The TV was quite small, but we weren't interested in watching anything anyway. We visited the bar, which again was in good decorative order and clean. The prices at the bar were reasonable and the staff very friendly and welcoming. After last orders we went to settle down to sleep, which was good, but there is a church / town hall bell which chimes every hour on the hour. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and well presented as well as cooked to order. Overall we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't be afraid of staying there again if I was in the local area.

Reviewed by
E Vera

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Howard Arms Hotel
Certainly worth a visit. We would be happy to go again.

Reviewed by
Nick Hoskins

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast!!
The room was clean, slept well,bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was fabulous,would stay there again just for that!
Compliments to the chef!

Reviewed by
K Scott

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small Hotel with Pub / Restaurant
Comfortable room and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly hotel
A friendly hotel but a little noisy if you get the room above the bar, although became quiet at midnight on the dot.

Reviewed by
Nick M

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Comfortable. Food very good.

Reviewed by
J C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally really good, nice clean room with en suite facilities at top of hotel 2nd floor. Staff looking after room let the side down there for 3 nights but no replenishment of room refreshments during that time. Bar staff came to the rescue and provided needs but thought it would have been done automatically.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice staff, but for a double room there was only one cup and one towel even we ask for more
But nice and kind people and place. A little far from Hadrians Wall, when you have walked all the day

Reviewed by
ingrid s

From 8700 horsens, Denmark
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tiny
the room was clean but small.
I was there was a night only and it was ok. bathroom could have done with some mats both for the shower and the sink.
welcome really good and food - both dinner and breakfast - extremely good and abundant.

Reviewed by
Anna M

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
Worst hotel ever for customer consideration. I tried to get out of the hotel at 7.30, never a problem elsewhere to walk the dog. I was met by a tirade of anger from the owner who had yo get up to put off the alarm. He informed me I was inconsiderate, unthinking of other guests and that I should have known the doors do not open til 8am. No one told us this. He then proceeded to tell me in no uncertain yerms that if I want 4 star treatment then book 4 star hotel. Breakfast was good but served by sultry staff. Wont ever be back here again and by the way I cancelled our return booking and am now sitting in a 3 star hotel where their ethos is clearly orientated and professionally delivered. My advice to the owner id if the job is too much give it up now.

Reviewed by
Ann Marie Derby

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next