No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blue Swallow Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11 VICTORIA ROAD , PENRITH, CA11 8HR
On the edge of the historic market town of Penrith, gateway to the Northern Lake District. Blue Swallow Guest House is family run, and your hosts, Peter and Cynthia Barry, look forward to welcoming you into their home.Visit Britain 4 Star Accommodation
All major Credit/Debit Cards accepted
Walkers / Cyclists welcome with indoor secure parking for bikes
Member of Cumbria Tourist Board
Wi-Fi Internet connection available
Picture of Blue Swallow Guest House, PENRITH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good overnight stay in Penrith!
A friend and myself were attending a Side Saddle Seminar at Newtonrigg College and picked the BLUE SWALLOW for our overnight accommodation. A good central point in the town....within walking distance of most venues for eating/drinking.Due to us having "car trouble"on the way down from Scotland..we were running late and dropped off by a friend....Peter from BS came to our rescue and picked us up from the famous"Toffee Shop" and took us to the guest house which was fab.A warm welcome...a warm house....warm room as the weather not good.Private bathroom just outside our room.Very tasty breakfast in morn.a nice stay.well done team at Blue Swallow!Good value and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Yvonne W

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place in Penrith

Reviewed by
Jos N

From Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although this guesthouse doesn't have great kerb appeal its really nicely finished inside. I travelled with a colleague and we had 2 single rooms. Both were a good size, beautifully finished and immaculately clean inside. When I rang in advance to ask about parking the owner seemed terse but when we arrived he was very welcoming and keen to offer advice on where to eat. The breakfast was extremely nice and plentiful, with very good quality ingredients. In fact i would be hard pressed to find fault with this gueshouse on any level and I am happy to recommend you give them a go

Reviewed by
Andrea B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The owner was very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Barbara Fahie

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hosts providing a warm and infomative stay.
Lovely clean room with internet access. Breakfast was excellent, I've no complaints with my stay at all. Would definitely recommend to others.

Reviewed by
M Sutton

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean spacious room, friendly and helpful owners.
Good breakfast. Close to local pubs and supermarket.

Reviewed by
anna p

From Surrey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's fantastic ,lovely room fantastic hosts brilliant breakfast
Highly recommended . I loved my room. Decorated so nicely and tastefully. I loved my breakfast cooked to perfection. You couldn't ask to stay somewhere nicer .will use again

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic clean B&B, worst coffee I've had for along time.
If all you want is a clean run-of-the-mill B&B convenient for the northern lake district, then this may suit you OK.
Postives: Clean room, friendly well-intentioned owners.
Negatives: Small double room for a not so small £78.00, even smaller ensuite shower room, had to stand sideways to shave....fortunately we are both slim! Breakfast in converted cellar, fine as long as you are under 6ft tall. Cooked breakfast was 'ok', but TERRIBLE coffee, if like me you want your coffee to taste like COFFEE!
Maybe a small issue to the owners but that was actually the biggest letdown for me. All I ask for in a B&B is a clean room and a decent pot of coffee to start the day, this tasted like a not very good 'instant' and (for me) was undrinkable. I don't think it's just me, many people today look forward to a decent fresh pot of coffee to start the day .... it's not so difficult!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry you were disappointed with your coffee at breakfast. We have taken note of your remarks and will endeavour to make improvements for the future by offering a choice of coffee.

Reviewed by
David K

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First night of a Coast to Coast bike ride
The Blue Swallow Guest House was ideal for our needs. Garage for bikes to by locked in etc. Cynthia and Peter most helpful getting us booked into the best restaurant in town on a busy night. Energy packed breakfast and plenty of it!

Reviewed by
Andy Simpson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly service at Blue Swallow.
A friendly phone call to let me know I could arrive early and get pick up a permit for free parking was very much appreciated. A clean, well furnished room with an extremely comfortable bed and excellent en-suite made a short stay a pleasure. Helpful and attentive service, without being intrusive. I would more than happily return next time I am in Penrith.

Reviewed by
Thomas F

From Walsingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next