No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel du Vin Harrogate

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
1 PROSPECT PLACE , HARROGATE, HG1 1LB
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, the newly added Health du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months.
Picture of Hotel du Vin Harrogate, HARROGATE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Du Vin, Harrogate
Very disappointed given that we had stayed here previously and had been very pleased with the quality of the hotel, food, etc. We felt the hotel is generally looking shabby and worn. The bedroom was ok but the en suite was extremely shabby, the window blind was broken and thick with dust. The restaurant staff were pleasant but the menu was limited. One of the starters on the on line menu was not included on the actual one, which I had particularly been looking forward to, very disappointing! there was no forthcoming information on the House Wine being included on the set menu, it was only when we queried something else that we were told this. Given that we had paid £185 for the room, this was not value for money, neither would it have been at half the price. Sadly Hotel Du Vin is now off our list, but had been one of our favourite places before.

Reviewed by
V Moore

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cleanliness was not up to my expectation,carpet was showing threads,empty wine glass left down side of bath,dust on picture frames,overdue a revamp,restaurant and staff were excellent

Reviewed by
k dickens

From CLEETHORPES, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic basement room. Very spacious. Massive comfy bed. Top class shower. Roll top bath.

Reviewed by
S Phillips

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A flying visit
Great food in bistro, rooms need updating, too dark and need a lick of paint.

Reviewed by
c lister

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing stay in a cell like room below stairs just awful.
Shan't be going back again.

Reviewed by
Yvonne R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

90th Birthday treat
Excellent room for 90 year old, the serving staff in the restaurant were exceptional going the extra mile.

Reviewed by
Penny W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basement room
Although being in the basement is not a problem in itself, being below the Reception area with constant footsteps and chair scraping overhead is definitely not restful. I think there was a washing machine on in a room next to me as well.
The paper I ordered was forgotten and a parking charge for a non-existent car was added.
A tile in the bathroom floor came unstuck and the bathroom mirror was so high I could only see the top of my head, not helpful for make-up application, had to stand on tiptoes to see into the small shaving mirror.
I love the hotel but not that particular room!

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Had a really nice stay. The room was a little small given the price (over £250 for one night) but the bed was lovely and the shower was great. Friendly staff too.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointed
Good position for visiting Harrogate, lovely building, friendly staff and lovely breakfast - front lobby was inviting but our bedroom was sadly not as expected from this hotel (view out of window onto a noisy and unsightly courtyard). We made our booking online with laterooms, avoiding the choice of rooms that mentioned that due to the location of some rooms it would be noisy. Unfortunately, on arrival at the hotel we were given a room over the noisy ventilation/extractor from the hotel kitchen which was iritating as we were unable to open our window for fresh air as the room was too hot without air conditioning. My opinion at £150 per night for BB - not value for money.

Reviewed by
Derek Salter

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful and luxurious
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is beautiful, well run with helpful and friendly staff. We loved the period features of the building but it is also comfortable and well fitted out. Our room was ready when we arrived in Harrogate at 12.30pm so we were able to check in immediately. The hotel is as central as you would wish for but overlooks open grassed areas with mature trees. Loved it.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next