Reviews - Crowne Plaza HEYTHROP PARK - OXFORD


Heythrop Park,Enstone, Chipping Norton, Chipping Norton, OX7 5UF

Price From 366.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L King

  • October 2015

Quiet setting, large hotel with great reception team

My husband and I stayed here for one night without the kids over a weekend.

We booked a suite which didnt have a balcony, as we thought they did (it was our mistake) but the reception team were fantastic (South African and an Aus woman) switched us really quickly to a much nicer, quiet, ground floor room and refunded the difference as it was cheaper. We ate a satisfactory room service meal and the breakfast was lovely . The gym and sauna were a quick walk away. Setting was peaceful and worth exploring

  • Simon C

  • August 2015

Short stay only

The only criticism is that the room seemed a touch warm and the air conditioning controls not as effective as they might have been.

As I only stayed one night I cannot comment extensively on the hotel amenities. However, the estate is impressive.

  • Jane K

  • February 2015

Disappointing stay

This hotel was a little disappointing for the price.

The room was very small with little storage space and was quite chilly due to the air conditioning. We didn't eat there as the vegetarian options were very poor. However the bed was comfy and the shower was the best we've had for a long time. The surroundings are beautiful as it is set in Heythrop Park which used to be a Jesuit College. Not sure I'd go there again

Response from hotel

Dear Jane K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you appreciate the bed and the shower. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will

forward them to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.



IHG Care

  • J Roper

  • September 2014

Very Clean, Good Food

  • Frederick W Howes

  • July 2014

Need more variety in menus.

Very comfortable bed.

Excellent shower, swimming pool, grounds. Most food very good but menu limited, especially for vegetarians. No choice of more traditional meals, and the one steak ordered was very grisly. But overall, the three days was very comfortable.

  • Kevin Pallett

  • July 2014

Good but

Expensive I felt they took advantage of game fair demand

  • Susan C

  • May 2014

Not for a quiet night's sleep

This hotel is in a quiet location in beautiful parkland with walks.

However it hosts corporate meetings each week and it becomes very noisy during the night. There are loud voices in the corridors and guest room doors banging. Some of the corporate guests over-indulge while at these meetings and behave in an inappropriate way. The stench of vomit could not be cleansed from one of the lifts. The hotel provides information on the measures taken to ensure you will have a peaceful night. Our final night of four was so disturbed that by 2a.m. we thought of checking out.

The large rooms are badly designed for longer stays with inadequate storage space, lack of seating and table. The breakfast selection was very limited without many of the cooked items normally available and the fried eggs looked too under-cooked to risk trying. Also commented on by a member of staff. The cold choice lacked yoghurts and marmalade was not available in individual jars. Having stayed twice at the excellent Crowne Plaza NEC Birmingham, who host many guests from events, the Heythrop Park Oxford was very disappointing. We had arrived after 2 nights at The George Hotel at Wallingford which was first rate in every aspect and having its own Tavern bar from which there was no disturbance. Obviously we should have remained there for the 4 more nights. Having explored the entire premises, the DeVere hotel next door looked more classical and would possibly be a better choice.

Response from hotel

Dear Susan C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.



IHG Care

  • James N

  • May 2014

Single night business trip

  • jane l

  • April 2014

lovely hotel

  • Tony Tingle

  • March 2014

Excellent hotel

Everything extremely good the only thing I can complain about was no mobile phone reception