Reviews - Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

3

Waterloo Square,St James Boulevard, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN

Price From 183.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • E Prosser-Snelling

  • January 2016

Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE

Comfortable, quiet, clean, good water pressure.

  • Stephen Peebles

  • January 2016

Trip to the Toon

Catching up with an old friend in Newcastle.

Hotel right in the heart of the City, ideal location. I am in a wheelchair and the disabled room was fantastic. A great wet room and good wide doors. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good selection at breakfast. Iwould choose the hotel again on my next trip to the Toon.

  • Andrea D

  • January 2016

Room brilliant, breakfast not quite so great if you have special requirements

Room was brilliant, bed a bit soft but we still slept, pillows too thick or not enough.

Sofa in room was very welcome. The bathroom had a funny door effect, which I guess was a space saver, definately not a negative point. Most positive thing was a blue light in the bathroom. Genius idea - totally loved this - absolutely brilliant for nighttime visits to toilet. light without the glare and blinding affect.

The room did not quite have enough light switches - it was a case of all lights on or off. The two mini bedside lights didnt work at all. And so when I needed afternoon snooze and himself was watching tv, it was a little bright with the flourescent tubes shining over the bed.

Breakfast, so I am recently diagnosed coeliac and a little fussy. The breakfast was sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. With some Fruit (nice granny smith apples), yogurts, bit of cheese. Juices and coffee/teas. Oh yes, and pastries. so on asking about the gluten free option I was 'given' a loaf of genius bread. Sausages were off the menu. which is sad, cos I love sausages. I don't like beans, or scrambled eggs, but I dont like to make a fuss either. I shouldnt use the toaster due to cross contamination, but I did. And I tried to eat the scrambled eggs. Then went on to eat three slices of the genius bread with jam. Now for those who dont have to eat gluten free bread, you're lucky. But three slices with jam is quite heavy going.

I'd have loved porridge. In fact I went and bought porridge in pots to have the rest of my stay. whilst staring longingly at the sausages and wondering if my villi would be Ok. (realising they wouldnt and I wanted to go shopping rather than spend a day in the bathroom with its cool blue light - I passed)

Himself was happy with the arrangement of breakfast, as seemed to be the hoards of people we encountered on our second day. The last day we were running late so I packed the car while himself had his breakfast, and I ate mine later.

The staff in the hotel were lovely and friendly. The place was clean. We would stay there again, but probably not with the breakfast option. If only they had done bacon. I love bacon. Or boiled eggs.

  • Riyaz J

  • December 2015

Family overnight stay after vacation

Free overnight parking in multi storey next door until 800am (from 5pm night before I think?) then 80p per hour pay and display (bring change), watch you don't park in the reserved bays on the first floor as there is an attendant in the morning who will ticket you.

Staff friendly and attentive, for 2A and 2C the second sofa bed was small, although if kids are very young, one child will easily fit onto the large Queen size bed also (mine were 13/12 so tight squeeze). Breakfast was good value for the money paid £49 and free i newspaper also. Easy city centre access and close to A1 road only a short drive from Newcastle airport.

  • Rachel T

  • November 2015

Lovely stay

The hotel was clean and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • C Gough

  • July 2015

Holiday Inn Expresses are changing...

We've stayed at quite a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses over the last few years, and have always thought that they were of a good standard.

However our experience at Newcastle surprised us. The room was fine, but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly. There was dental floss and hair on the floor; the loo hadn't been bleached. When we went to check-out, we asked to store our luggage so that we could spend some time in the city centre. We were told that they charged £2.50 per item for departing guests, only the luggage for incoming guests was free. We have never been charged in any hotel for this service - even in London. We do think this is poor and luggage storage should be a facility for all guests. Finally, we had difficulty finding our way into the hotel as there are no signs from the road to the parking area.

Response from hotel

Dear C Gough,

We appreciate your post regarding your recent stay with us. Your review is important as it will help us monitor the things we need to improve on and the things we are good at. We are pleased to hear that you found your room accommodations to your liking. Cleanliness is one of our top priority and it is with utter regret to know that our housekeeping service fell below par on your visit. we also apologize for the disappointments you had with the luggage lockers. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our Management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements accordingly.

Once more, thank you and we look forward to having an opportunity in the future to provide you a more seamless experience.

Sincerely,

Ingrid,

IHG Care

  • mechelle P

  • April 2015

clean. a bit noisy.

We asked for a family room, and were put in an accessible room on account of it being large enough to accommodate a double bed, double sofa bed and a travel cot.

This was good, however, it meant that there was no bath to wash the kids in as it was a wet-room style bathroom, and it felt a bit ungrateful to complain about this as it was a nice gesture. Husband complained about the bed being old and uncomfortable. The breakfast was good (cheap sausages and no bacon were the only negative points). Location ok but avoid the local 'happy chip' takeaway at all costs - eeeeeeuuuuuurgh!

Response from hotel

Dear Mechelle P,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

Please accept my sincerest apologies over the inconvenience you had with the bed. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen,

IHG Care

  • Alan L

  • April 2015

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

City centre hotel which meant a lot of road noise.

  • a dean

  • March 2015

Friendly and welcoming staff and extremely helpful .

Ideal location for city break.

  • David O

  • March 2015

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

A very well situated, clean, comfortable, modern hotel for an overnight stay.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. Would certainly stay in this hotel again if we need an overnight in the centre of Newcastle