No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Waterloo Square,St James Boulevard, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN
See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel. Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters. Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore. Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room. Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items. Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Mika was really helpful and provided extra bedding as well as tea and coffee.

Reviewed by
Brian S

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Hotel was perfectly placed 5 mins walk from the train station and only a small walk to restraunts and pubs. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and always provided a great service. The room was very clean and comftable and for the price I paid including breakfast it was great.

Reviewed by
robert b

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected...
We booked a family room of four at a great rate - including breakfast. The hotel is modern, clean and well located in Newcastle. Cheap overnight nearby parking too.
If there was a disappointment - the hot breakfast choice was adequate although very basic. Sausage/scrambled egg and beans. I'm sure the hotel could do a little better here.
Cheerful helpful staff on the reception and for the price we paid - great value for money.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Room was fine although a little small for 4 people and the sofa bed wasn't that comfortable. The location is excellent, very central and surprisingly quiet for Central Newcastle. Didn't seem to be any stag/hen parties.

Reviewed by
Heather Crompton

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very nice hotel, stayed a couple of times and never been let down. Free wifi is a bonus, quite busy at breakfast time but that was no real problem. Short distance from the arena and shops, a 5min walk to train station. Walls did seem pretty thin, but this is to be expected staying in a hotel in the centre of a city on a Friday night! All in all lovely hotel in a great location, will be staying again! Ps boyfriend is disappointed there was no bacon at breakfast that's why they got 5, but other than that a lot of choice

Reviewed by
Hannah T

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor breakfast not worth the money
My other half had sausage, beans & bread as the were no other hot food apart from scrambled egg.. I got toast scrambled eggs and beans.. been a veggie.. very poor breakfast no fried eggs, hash browns, bacon, mushrooms as you would expect..

ManagementResponse

Dear Beth D, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology if our breakfast options fell below your expectations. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Beth D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a night out or the football but very strict on visitors coming into the hotel friends or no

ManagementResponse

Dear Kevin A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We appreciate your candid feedback as this is our best resource in improving our guest services. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
kevin a

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Good location, very clean, lovely friendly staff, vending machine for emergency supplies (little shop across the road too!), ice machine, multi-storey car park next door (£5 overnight stay), Akbars indian restaurant opposite, good security. Excellent value for money for a weekend away!

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good location

Reviewed by
s dobson

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to switch room twice, they gave us a twin the first time and the drain was blocked on shower the second time. After this little hiccup everything was amazing free drinks to say sorry. And the staff could not have been more helpful and nice. Also bouncers on the night are a welcome sight really friendly and welcoming. Would deffo use again.

Reviewed by
Kane W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next