No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coach House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Brownieside, , , Alnwick, NE67 5HW
Coach House B&B is located in the hamlet of Brownieside, just off the A1, approx. 5 miles north of Alnwick. Over 250 yrs old it's full of character and history. It has been a granary, a coach house and for over 100 yrs traded as a pub, a well-known landmark always painted white, called The Masons Arms.

It is an ideal central location for a base to explore Northumberland’s various attractions. Relax in our gardens, bird watch and take in the views of beautiful countryside across to Dunstanburgh Castle and out to sea. We are family friendly and have a private car park. We serve a great Northumbrian breakfast including locally produced bacon and sausage. Gluten free diets etc, all catered for on request

All bedrooms are en-suite( showers) with TV/DVD, Wi-Fi . Hospitality trays with real coffee, fresh milk and home made cakes/biscuits. There is a ground floor double room and on the first floor a twin room as well as a large family room which sleeps up to four. Our dining room houses a gallery of paintings and prints by well-known Northumbrian artist Charlie Sprigg.
Picture of Coach House, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome; restful accommodation.
Wonderful hosts who treated us as friends. Our room was spacious and relaxing with added touches of fresh milk and real cake each day. Although the A1 conveniently runs very close by and our room faced that direction, we were not disturbed thanks to thick hedging. Distant sea views add to the charm of this old establishment which has been tastefully up-dated. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Rober W

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Stayed here for 2 nights with our young granddaughter, the hosts really nice and child friendly even left a bag of sweets on granddaughters bed the second night. Home made cakes were given along with fresh milk, not these little horrid pots, each afternoon on our return from day out. Lovely room, comfy beds and clean, great hospitality tray refilled each day. Fantastic well cooked breakfast. Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
davina i

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, good location for access to beaches castles and other visitor attractions.
Other than a rather weak shower we were impressed with the standard of the accommodation. Breakfast to be recommended.

Reviewed by
B Mason

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family room with a view
Just had a one night stay at this friendly B & B. Very relaxing and just right for my young daughter and my needs. Room comfy, lovely views of fields and sea from both beds, home made biscuits, ducks in the front garden, along with visiting friendly hens. Breakfast - perfect! Thanks for a great short stay.

Reviewed by
C Stokes

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed here for one night over Easter weekend as we were going to a wedding at Doxford Hall. What a great little find, Neil and Tracey were really friendly and accommodating and the break kid the next day was delicious. The hotel was situated very close to Doxford Hall (£10 taxi), Bamburgh and Alnwick. Would thoroughly recommend!

Reviewed by
L Page

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Really hospitable. Super clean. Lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
k scanlan

From london, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant, comfortable stay.
My daughter and I had a wonderful 3 night stay in Tracey and Neil's lovely house. They are such nice, friendly hosts. The home made shortbread and biscuits and Neil's scrumptious Northumbrian breakfasts are highly recommended!
We would happily return.

Reviewed by
Janice F

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at the Coach House
We had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Coach House in a clean, comfortable and well equipped room. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We were given a warm welcome from the friendly owners.
A suggestion would be to put a sign at the front of the property directing you to the rear entrance.

Reviewed by
T RICHARDSON

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected delight
We were a little wary as we approached the Coach House as the exterior surroundings are a little unkempt but our welcome by Tracey soon dispelled our fears. Her Northumbrian warmth and cheerfulness was so refreshing. The room was spotless and had all the amenities that more expensive hotels provide with the addition of fresh milk and home made cookies! We felt very at home and enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
P Fairhall

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Coach House - Already recommended to our friends
Arrived just after 5pm to an excellent welcome from Tracey who showed us into our bedroom right beside the reception room. The room and en-suite were spotless and while chatting about local places to visit and where the best pub grub was to be found, Tracey brought fresh milk for tea along with home made shortbread. The only negative experience was that one shortbread biscuit was left on the plate and had been cleared away when we returned after our dinner!!! (very good shortbread ) We stayed 2 nights and had great breakfasts, cooked by Neil. Excellent service from them both, great local recommendations and advice on what to see. We'll be back for sure. We've already passed the Coach House's details to some friends.

Reviewed by
John Dickson

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next