No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coach House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Brownieside, , , Alnwick, NE67 5HW
Coach House B&B is located in the hamlet of Brownieside, just off the A1, approx. 5 miles north of Alnwick. Over 250 yrs old it's full of character and history. It has been a granary, a coach house and for over 100 yrs traded as a pub, a well-known landmark always painted white, called The Masons Arms.

It is an ideal central location for a base to explore Northumberland’s various attractions. Relax in our gardens, bird watch and take in the views of beautiful countryside across to Dunstanburgh Castle and out to sea. We are family friendly and have a private car park. We serve a great Northumbrian breakfast including locally produced bacon and sausage. Gluten free diets etc, all catered for on request

All bedrooms are en-suite( showers) with TV/DVD, Wi-Fi . Hospitality trays with real coffee, fresh milk and home made cakes/biscuits. There is a ground floor double room and on the first floor a twin room as well as a large family room which sleeps up to four. Our dining room houses a gallery of paintings and prints by well-known Northumbrian artist Charlie Sprigg.
Picture of Coach House, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent bed and breakfast, owned by a lovely family, that are doing there up most to go the extra mile for there customers.
Great family accommodation, special disney magazine treat was left for my daughter when we retuned from our first day out. She was over the moon, the little things make all the difference.
Home cooked snacks were also left for an afternoon snack, another litle gesture which makes the experience even better.

Reviewed by
Mark Lovesey

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect getaway location
We only stayed one night, but it was perfect for what we needed. The location was just off the A1, but far enough away not to hear it. Tracey met us when we arrived and was extremely friendly. She showed us our room and went through any questions we had. She explained the nearest and local places for an evening meal. We opted for the nearest which was about a mile and half away. Lovely pub with Haddock and chips to die for was our choice, but very good menu to pick from. The bedroom was nice and large with a good bathroom and shower. Nice touch was fresh cake supplied and fresh milk in flask, rather than Longlife sachets of milk. Secure Wifi available. Breakfast was good choice of cereals, and an extremely filling Northumberland breakfast. Bacon, eggs and sausage locally supplied. Beautifully cooked and presented. Only downside, they hadn't had the local kippers delivered. Still, the bacon and eggs were good alternative.
We intend returning to Northumberland next year, and will definitely be looking to stay here again as it is so convenient for touring the area, being 10 minute drive from Alnwick Castle and also the coast.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From Cheadle, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personal touches like fresh milk and home baked goodies together with a genuine interest in your wellbeing make it a perfect stopover or short break stop. I needed a few days getaway and it catered for all my needs. Lovely people.

Reviewed by
pat hardisty

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for Alnwick and surrounding area
Beautiful location, lovely welcoming owners and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Marie P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and very accommodating stay!

Reviewed by
L McLaughlin-Hart

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome; restful accommodation.
Wonderful hosts who treated us as friends. Our room was spacious and relaxing with added touches of fresh milk and real cake each day. Although the A1 conveniently runs very close by and our room faced that direction, we were not disturbed thanks to thick hedging. Distant sea views add to the charm of this old establishment which has been tastefully up-dated. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Rober W

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Stayed here for 2 nights with our young granddaughter, the hosts really nice and child friendly even left a bag of sweets on granddaughters bed the second night. Home made cakes were given along with fresh milk, not these little horrid pots, each afternoon on our return from day out. Lovely room, comfy beds and clean, great hospitality tray refilled each day. Fantastic well cooked breakfast. Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
davina i

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, good location for access to beaches castles and other visitor attractions.
Other than a rather weak shower we were impressed with the standard of the accommodation. Breakfast to be recommended.

Reviewed by
B Mason

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family room with a view
Just had a one night stay at this friendly B & B. Very relaxing and just right for my young daughter and my needs. Room comfy, lovely views of fields and sea from both beds, home made biscuits, ducks in the front garden, along with visiting friendly hens. Breakfast - perfect! Thanks for a great short stay.

Reviewed by
C Stokes

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed here for one night over Easter weekend as we were going to a wedding at Doxford Hall. What a great little find, Neil and Tracey were really friendly and accommodating and the break kid the next day was delicious. The hotel was situated very close to Doxford Hall (£10 taxi), Bamburgh and Alnwick. Would thoroughly recommend!

Reviewed by
L Page

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next