You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Ferryman Inn

3

BABLOCK HYTHE Northmoor, WITNEY, OX29 5AT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nigel S

  • August 2016

Lovely location accommodation so-so

This could be a top notch place due to the location which was right next to the water, but there were too many disappointments to be able to recommend this pace.

The room itself was clean if rather tired and dated, but the bathroom was not good as mould stains were present on the ceiling and around the shower. I know this is not unusual but a lick of paint doesn't take long and improves the look. The whole place felt as if it was stuck in the 1980s. If you need to get out in good time in the morning beware as breakfast is not served until 8.30, and you cant checkout until 9am if you want to pay by card. Breakfast was a very basic"continental" affair with cereal and toast; cooked would have been at extra cost.

Overall this place promised much but didn't really deliver for me I'm afraid.

  • W Cannan

  • August 2016

An excellent riverside inn

Our stop off at the Ferryman Inn was very enjoyable Our upstairs room looked over the river and was very clean and comfortable.

We had a very good evening meal and also breakfast. The staff were efficient and friendly

  • Alastair B

  • August 2016

Noisy from bar below, poor customer service

Noise from bar music below very audible in the room.

Nobody in when we arrived mid-afternoon and had to wait in the car part for an hour in the car park before being able to get in. Breakfast not available until 08:30 unless you had the basic continental tray version. Owner disputed the price we had booked at and suggested we paid a higher rate (£10 more for the night), only conceding when we produced our booking email. An unfortunate experience given that the location is very nice

Response from hotel

Due to a miss understanding this couple did have to wait. We had a long distance

running event be held from the Ferryman Inn and we thought they would arrive

later with the runners as many others would.

The noise came from the people in the event they where part of, all noise

stopped at 11-30.

The misunderstanding about room price came about because they booked so early,

room prices had gone up by £10 per room, I asked to see the booking form and

allowed them to pay £65.

The male partner was entered in the run and had to leave early, very early, his

partner could have come down for breakfast at 8-00am but asked for a tray, on

the tray is fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals (a selection) fruit and tea and coffee

can be brewed in the room.

I feel most of the complaints arise from being kept waiting when they arrived, a

form of get you back. Please see other reviews.

Thank you

Peter Kelland

Owner

The Ferryman Inn

  • Stephen M

  • August 2016

Fantastic location

Lovely small riverside hotel.

Wonderful view of the river from the room.

The extra for the full English breakfast was well worth paying.

  • Terry H

  • July 2016

Satisfactory for Cost

The room was a twin bedded en suite.

A window hinge was broken at the bottom and it was a hot night, but we risked opening it fully. The shower had no anti slip device, and as I have a damaged ankle that was a concern. They also had an issue with their card system which meant paying in cash. Luckily I had the cash on me, but it may have been a different story if I had not as we arrived by boat and it's difficult to drive one to the cash point!

  • P Pitts

  • July 2016

River setting

Staff training needed in the dining area (evening) and redecoration at the entrance.

For the price, the evening meal was disappointing; the cooked breakfast (extra cost) was good. With a few tweaks, this could be a lovely place to stay as the river views and setting are very pleasant.

  • D HART

  • July 2016

one night

my main complaint was the room was double booked and laterooms and the hotel are passing this mistake on to each side.

I am not able to recommend the hotel or laterooms because I know a room was found all thou not perfect. overall we did enjoy our stay to be honest i would have have given a good review if the booking and they made sure everything was right

  • Doreen B

  • July 2016

The Ferryman Inn

Lovely setting, basic accommodation, Wendy lovely lady

  • Andy M

  • June 2016

Clean and comfortable

The approach to the pub was a little disconcerting as it is at the end of a long narrow lane that services a large park home/caravan site adjacent to the pub.

The setting is beautiful on the banks of the Thames, but note this is a dead-end. On entering the venue, it was difficult to establish a reception desk, which turned out as being behind the bar, but once contact was made we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable, with the en-suite being very compact and just adequate....I can't personally cope with shelves over tiny sinks. Speech noise from the bar was loud in our room, but it did subside at about 11.20 to absolute silence overnight. The pub-grub was ok, but nothing special, but the ale was superb.

We slept very well, with sunrise directly over the river. Breakfast was adequate being uncooked, but I'm never sure of the definition of 'continental'. Cooked full-english would have been an extra cost. The staff had been charming under pressure (short-handed). Thank you.

  • alan gibbons

  • June 2016

Excellent value

Clean, room, nice staff, good value, nice location.