No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ferryman Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BABLOCK HYTHE Northmoor, WITNEY, OX29 5AT
The Ferryman Inn, Oxfordshire is located on the banks of the River Thames about 10 miles from Oxford on the Thames Path making this a beautiful location to relax, drink, eat and sleep.

At the Ferryman Inn we have 6 bedrooms to offer, all with access to a large balcony area with seating overlooking the river. All our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and each room has an en suite shower, tea/coffee facilities and TV.

The Ferryman has lots to offer whether you are looking for somewhere to stay, somewhere to dine or just relax with a pint!
* 6 Ensuite bedrooms, * The Fishermans Bar, * The River Lounge Bar, * 40 seater restaurant, * Large function room, * Slipway for boats up to 25 foot in length, * Large car park, * 2 miles of Fishing, * Extensive riverside terrace and lawn area

If you are looking for good value for money along with a comfortable stay overlooking the river Thames then our bed and breakfast accommodation in Oxfordshire is for you. We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Ferryman Inn, WITNEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay at the The Ferryman Inn, with a friendly helpful staff. The English breakfast, although at an extra cost, was very tasty and left us very full and satisfied

Reviewed by
L Zenner

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made most welcome and comfortable. Great Hosts.
Lovely location by the river with an opportunity to sit out high on the balcony to enjoy the view.
Very quiet and peaceful.
It is advisable to arrange arrival time with hosts as being an Inn it has open and closed times.

Reviewed by
Margaret Wakley

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, very warm welcome, room was large, comfortable beds, slept very well.

Reviewed by
Mary Dickson

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my special request of 3 x single beds was actioned

Reviewed by
Michaila C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location, not that easy to find if you were looking in the dark. Friendly helpful staff. Wildlife, saw Red Kite close by, grey squirrel chasing the birds in the tree outside the window. Rooms a bit dated which was reflected in the price but warm and clean.
All in all great value for money

Reviewed by
Mike Brandwood

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous views from balcony and room
Room pretty basic and could do with modernising however very clean and everything you need for a short stay.
There is access to a 1st floor balcony which was great to sit out on in the sun with great views across the river.
Staff very friendly and helpful. I will stay again.

Reviewed by
Jo W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night at ferryman
beautiful location, friendly service and good food, pleasant welcoming bar. perfect for a one night stay

Reviewed by
peter h

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was basic but the surroundings were beautiful
We were very pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the surroundings and the tranquility being on the river

Reviewed by
D Gagnon

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferryman
First day on arrival was fine. The pub did not have it's full compliment of export largers though.
Food ordered was very good, recommend the Thia green curry! The boss came over to us to offer a small compensation for not doing breakfast (2 pints) due to the fact the pub was not open on Tuesdays???
Room it's self was nice, if a bit chintzy, bed comfortable, and the ensuite was fine (if you like climbing over the tiolet to get in the shower.
No external lighting to the entrance of the rooms, which is via the riverside of the accommodation and up a fire escape. Consequently i walked into a beer garden table!!!
Room was not made up on Wednesday so no fresh towels etc. On the Thursday morning the shower didn't work, obviously nobody around to complain to! Just to rub salt into the wounds, i had a phone call from the accomodation complianing that I had done a runner and not paid them!
Overall a completely miserable experience, and wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy! over priced and under staffed!

ManagementResponse

The two workmen had the choice of a breakfast tray or a free pint at the bar Monday night as they wanted leave about 6-30am. it would appear that one of the lagers had in fact run out, but we have others. All exits onto the balcony and staircase have an internal switch that brings on light at the top of the stairs and along the river terrace. I have no idea why they did not use the internal stairs and landing that is lit 24 hours a day. The fire escape is a fire escape which can be used, its not the only way to the rooms. The men where asked to leave their key as the previous guests had taken a key with them, they did not leave the key and we had no way of getting in the room, as they had the pass key. They did not arrive back until very late The shower does work but if you turn the heat up to fast the thermostat cuts out so you do not burn yourself, you have to wait and then turn the heat down and it works!!!. I have no idea why he would climb over the toilet as it is the other end of the shower room!. He did leave with out paying and we did have to phone him for his card details, which he paid. He did not mention any of his problems then.

Reviewed by
Jason C

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was made very welcome the Inn had a cosy feel , food was good but thought bottles of wine over priced, I would of liked more choices in cider even organic, the location was great rooms basic but clean the views over looking the Thames river watching wildlife was quite special, however even though we had a good stay the second night we stayed late at night a fight broke out next door screaming abuse and trying to force a door down it left us feeling very vunerable and we were unable to go downstairs to raise the alarm in case we got caught up in it. eventually staff came to sort out the problem by which time we were left quite shaken up and was not able to sleep that night making me a little grumpy and tired in the morning then had the opportunity to talk to the owners about the goings on they apologised and quickly brushed it under the carpet and said this was a rare occurrence, would of liked a token gesture of goodwill being as I had a night totally spoilt but nothing was offered for what we had to put up with a little disappointed , but apart from all that a lovely location to stay

ManagementResponse

Bottles of wine are from £9-75 to £15 with the odd couple over, I would not say they are overpriced. We have 5 different ciders, two draft and three Westons plus one organic in free pour box,s plus at least 10 different bottled ciders, how much choice does he want?. The 'fight' was between a husband and wife, the wife had been drinking with friends all afternoon, she had not been to the bar so my staff had no idea how much she had drunk. As soon as we heard a disturbance we went to room 1 the husband tried to get his wife to calm down but she was hysterical!, we calmed her down and she walked around until she fell asleep in the garden. The couple in room 2 did mention it only in passing and I did say it had never happened before. I can not see how her night was totally spoilt by an incident that lasted no longer than 10 minutes. The woman from room 1 apologised to everyone the next day .

Reviewed by
C Rogers

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next