No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ferryman Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BABLOCK HYTHE Northmoor, WITNEY, OX29 5AT
The Ferryman Inn, Oxfordshire is located on the banks of the River Thames about 10 miles from Oxford on the Thames Path making this a beautiful location to relax, drink, eat and sleep.

At the Ferryman Inn we have 6 bedrooms to offer, all with access to a large balcony area with seating overlooking the river. All our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and each room has an en suite shower, tea/coffee facilities and TV.

The Ferryman has lots to offer whether you are looking for somewhere to stay, somewhere to dine or just relax with a pint!
* 6 Ensuite bedrooms, * The Fishermans Bar, * The River Lounge Bar, * 40 seater restaurant, * Large function room, * Slipway for boats up to 25 foot in length, * Large car park, * 2 miles of Fishing, * Extensive riverside terrace and lawn area

If you are looking for good value for money along with a comfortable stay overlooking the river Thames then our bed and breakfast accommodation in Oxfordshire is for you. We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Ferryman Inn, WITNEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
The Ferryman Inn is a retreat off the beaten path and wonderful for a breath of fresh air and the rural situation next to the River Thames. The weather was perfect so much of this review is influenced by the bright wintry scene we were able to enjoy from our room. It was cosy and warm, and although some previous reviews criticise the tired decor this was in no way a problem for us. Our only criticism was the music from the pub side of things which was very loud and did rather interfere with our peace during the evening but the session ended shortly after 10pm so we enjoyed a thoroughly good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast was enough to set us up for the day, and we were given courteous attention from the Hosts. A memorable stay and a pleasant introduction to Oxfordshire.

Reviewed by
A Brangwyn

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferryman Inn
Friendly place. I found it easily even though it was off the beaten track. Sat nav postcode worked for me (unlike earlier reviewer). Lovely setting by the river. Nice evening meal. Good breakfast.
Proprietor helped with our luggage which was great as I had my elderly mother with me.
Would recommend.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ferryman Inn
Lovely friendly pub in beautiful surroundings right on the river.

Reviewed by
julie s

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, Location, Location!
Lovely setting on the river, just the ducks and geese as neighbours ! Very quiet so slept well, will return if we need to stay in the area again.

Reviewed by
M Adams

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
A lovely stay in a nice hotel in a lovely setting.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation 15 miles from Oxford.
Nice basic pub. Bit damp probably due to its closeness to the river and location on the flood plain. Lovely helpful hosts.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointed.
The room was cheerful with a good view, sad that windows were too misty to see through on the morning. An idea is needed for more ventilation.Bedside lamps did not work and the shower needs tiles need a good scrub and a working extractor fan would be good . Other than that it was ok.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay
We had a comfortable night in the ferryman Inn and in the morning thought that the setting was delightful. Breakfast was just as we expected and served with a smile. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relax by the river
It's a good idea to have sat nav or a good map as the Ferryman is at the end of a very small country lane! However it's worth the effort if you are looking for a quiet retreat, which we were. The Ferryman is a surprisingly large pub with a good selection of beers and quite a lot of custom from the adjoining caravan park. There is a nice walk along the towpath to the lock about 11/2 miles each way. Our room no.8 had nice views of the river and countryside, a comfortable bed and decent flat screen tv. The ensuite was ok but nothing special. We ate in the restaurant both nights and I would recommend the sirloin steak which was excellent, we tried the homemade lasagne and curry,both quite nice. The fish and chips was less inspiring but in general good eating and sensible priced wine. We had a very enjoyable stay and found it a good base to visit Oxford and Abbingdon.

Reviewed by
Ray Jakes

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make your own mind up
It took me over an hour longer than expected to arrive at the accommodation after the postcode took me to a location 50 yards away ... only on the other side of the River Thames! 50 yards turned out to 12 miles using the nearest river crossing! On arrival I was told by the owner this happens quite often! SUGGESTION: use a different postcode on LateRooms.
I couldn't comment on the food as breakfast doesn't start until 8:30 by which time I had long gone. The consolation pint I was given for missing breakfast was decent enough.
My biggest gripe with this place is the customer service. I have phoned and left messages (with people, not answerphones) 4 times and sent an e-mail requesting a receipt for my stay. I am yet to receive this, or be phoned back by the owner which I requested on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th occasion. There's nothing more I hate than ignorance as there's no excuse for it. SUGGESTION; Improve communication/ customer service, it costs nothing and as such its the least people expect.
As for the room - adequate. Location - lovely.

Reviewed by
M Clements

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next