The Ferryman Inn

3

BABLOCK HYTHE Northmoor, WITNEY, OX29 5AT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (85)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Maria S

  • April 2015

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Good points: - the owners are really friendly Bad points: - shower was broken and would not switch on.

- taps drizzled, so basically no functioning washroom facilities at all.

- radiator was broken so room was boiling hot and then freezing cold.

- room directly above smoking area so when pub-goers were outside it was very loud and smoky. Very unpleasant.

- really dated and dingy rooms

- had to leave via fire escape. Thankfully missed what I understood to be a very basic and uninspiring breakfast.

- considering all of the above, extortionately priced.

  • David Warwick

  • April 2015

Very quiet riverside pub, well off the beaten track

A pleasant stay in a quiet location with friendly and helpful hosts.

Good sized room with lovely double aspect views over the river (although also within sight of a large mobile home/holiday park). En-suite was very small and basic, with an adequate shower. Pub was also very quiet, and shut on Tuesdays, serving standard pub food. Breakfast not served until 8.30am, which was too late for getting into Oxford for work. I was offered a breakfast tray, but preferred to drive ahead of the traffic and eat in town.

  • Stephen Higginbottom

  • March 2015

Stayed for 1 night

What a lovely place to stay & Peter & Wendy (the owners) were great, very friendly & we had a great time, we're going to go back in the Summer & go walking round the area.

  • Yvette G

  • March 2015

A fantastic b&b with a friendly atmosphere

we loved our stay at the Ferryman, and were made to feel very welcome.

We arrived late on Friday evening but there were no problems at all. The included continental breakfast was plenty and the toast lovely and hot. My partner ordered the cooked breakfast for Sunday and was so full for the rest of the day, plus it was cooked beautifully. Well worth the extra £4.50. The Ferryman is family run and managed and Wendy and family did all the could to make us feel very relaxed. The room was really large with beautiful views of the river.

  • John F

  • February 2015

What's not to like?

Although out of season and at times welcomingly quiet and tranquil the reception received was very warm and welcoming.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with fantastic views over the river.

  • E Harrington

  • February 2015

The Ferryman Inn

People are nice.

  • Lucinda M

  • February 2015

Winter Weekend break

We enjoyed our stay at the Ferryman.

It is in a beautiful and very peaceful location. The owners and staff were all extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Despite the exceptionally cold weather the room was warm and comfortable. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • David H

  • January 2015

Thames retreat

On the river bank alongside the Thames Path.

Great location. Moorings. Good selection of beers and good pub food.

  • A Brangwyn

  • December 2014

Birthday weekend

The Ferryman Inn is a retreat off the beaten path and wonderful for a breath of fresh air and the rural situation next to the River Thames.

The weather was perfect so much of this review is influenced by the bright wintry scene we were able to enjoy from our room. It was cosy and warm, and although some previous reviews criticise the tired decor this was in no way a problem for us. Our only criticism was the music from the pub side of things which was very loud and did rather interfere with our peace during the evening but the session ended shortly after 10pm so we enjoyed a thoroughly good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast was enough to set us up for the day, and we were given courteous attention from the Hosts. A memorable stay and a pleasant introduction to Oxfordshire.

  • H Taylor

  • December 2014

Ferryman Inn

Friendly place.

I found it easily even though it was off the beaten track. Sat nav postcode worked for me (unlike earlier reviewer). Lovely setting by the river. Nice evening meal. Good breakfast.

Proprietor helped with our luggage which was great as I had my elderly mother with me.

Would recommend.