No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ferryman Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BABLOCK HYTHE Northmoor, WITNEY, OX29 5AT
The Ferryman Inn, Oxfordshire is located on the banks of the River Thames about 10 miles from Oxford on the Thames Path making this a beautiful location to relax, drink, eat and sleep.

At the Ferryman Inn we have 6 bedrooms to offer, all with access to a large balcony area with seating overlooking the river. All our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and each room has an en suite shower, tea/coffee facilities and TV.

The Ferryman has lots to offer whether you are looking for somewhere to stay, somewhere to dine or just relax with a pint!
* 6 Ensuite bedrooms, * The Fishermans Bar, * The River Lounge Bar, * 40 seater restaurant, * Large function room, * Slipway for boats up to 25 foot in length, * Large car park, * 2 miles of Fishing, * Extensive riverside terrace and lawn area

If you are looking for good value for money along with a comfortable stay overlooking the river Thames then our bed and breakfast accommodation in Oxfordshire is for you. We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Ferryman Inn, WITNEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night at ferryman
beautiful location, friendly service and good food, pleasant welcoming bar. perfect for a one night stay

Reviewed by
peter h

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was basic but the surroundings were beautiful
We were very pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the surroundings and the tranquility being on the river

Reviewed by
D Gagnon

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferryman
First day on arrival was fine. The pub did not have it's full compliment of export largers though.
Food ordered was very good, recommend the Thia green curry! The boss came over to us to offer a small compensation for not doing breakfast (2 pints) due to the fact the pub was not open on Tuesdays???
Room it's self was nice, if a bit chintzy, bed comfortable, and the ensuite was fine (if you like climbing over the tiolet to get in the shower.
No external lighting to the entrance of the rooms, which is via the riverside of the accommodation and up a fire escape. Consequently i walked into a beer garden table!!!
Room was not made up on Wednesday so no fresh towels etc. On the Thursday morning the shower didn't work, obviously nobody around to complain to! Just to rub salt into the wounds, i had a phone call from the accomodation complianing that I had done a runner and not paid them!
Overall a completely miserable experience, and wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy! over priced and under staffed!

ManagementResponse

The two workmen had the choice of a breakfast tray or a free pint at the bar Monday night as they wanted leave about 6-30am. it would appear that one of the lagers had in fact run out, but we have others. All exits onto the balcony and staircase have an internal switch that brings on light at the top of the stairs and along the river terrace. I have no idea why they did not use the internal stairs and landing that is lit 24 hours a day. The fire escape is a fire escape which can be used, its not the only way to the rooms. The men where asked to leave their key as the previous guests had taken a key with them, they did not leave the key and we had no way of getting in the room, as they had the pass key. They did not arrive back until very late The shower does work but if you turn the heat up to fast the thermostat cuts out so you do not burn yourself, you have to wait and then turn the heat down and it works!!!. I have no idea why he would climb over the toilet as it is the other end of the shower room!. He did leave with out paying and we did have to phone him for his card details, which he paid. He did not mention any of his problems then.

Reviewed by
Jason C

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was made very welcome the Inn had a cosy feel , food was good but thought bottles of wine over priced, I would of liked more choices in cider even organic, the location was great rooms basic but clean the views over looking the Thames river watching wildlife was quite special, however even though we had a good stay the second night we stayed late at night a fight broke out next door screaming abuse and trying to force a door down it left us feeling very vunerable and we were unable to go downstairs to raise the alarm in case we got caught up in it. eventually staff came to sort out the problem by which time we were left quite shaken up and was not able to sleep that night making me a little grumpy and tired in the morning then had the opportunity to talk to the owners about the goings on they apologised and quickly brushed it under the carpet and said this was a rare occurrence, would of liked a token gesture of goodwill being as I had a night totally spoilt but nothing was offered for what we had to put up with a little disappointed , but apart from all that a lovely location to stay

ManagementResponse

Bottles of wine are from £9-75 to £15 with the odd couple over, I would not say they are overpriced. We have 5 different ciders, two draft and three Westons plus one organic in free pour box,s plus at least 10 different bottled ciders, how much choice does he want?. The 'fight' was between a husband and wife, the wife had been drinking with friends all afternoon, she had not been to the bar so my staff had no idea how much she had drunk. As soon as we heard a disturbance we went to room 1 the husband tried to get his wife to calm down but she was hysterical!, we calmed her down and she walked around until she fell asleep in the garden. The couple in room 2 did mention it only in passing and I did say it had never happened before. I can not see how her night was totally spoilt by an incident that lasted no longer than 10 minutes. The woman from room 1 apologised to everyone the next day .

Reviewed by
C Rogers

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast service was good

ManagementResponse

Resident had problems from the start, she said she was like the princess and the pea. She had booked our room 2 with a double and a single bed for and adult with two small girls, she then demanded another bed at 9 p.m. She said she was cold so we gave her another quilt. Her father stayed in room 1 and had no problems at all. I would ask people to look at other reviews to form an opinion of the Ferryman Inn.

Reviewed by
Wendy A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Hideaway in Oxfordshire
It was a very last minute decision for us to stay over in Oxfordshire but we were glad we did.
This gem of a place was tucked away right on the banks of the river Thames and is a place that we will definitely return to. The friendly staff and even friendlier locals made our stay a very enjoyable one . The restaurant was being used by residents and locals alike , which to us is a great sign of quality. The food was excellent and the portions we not for the faint hearted . We were also lucky enough to have live music on the night we stayed , so after a couple of nice drinks and a dance , our stay was complete. Our on suite room had a shared balcony overlooking the Thames and was truly amazing.

Reviewed by
Andrew Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best view in Britain?
Location of the pub is fantastic, directly looking over the Thames, no main road for miles.
It's really a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel, but is fine for what it is.
Landlord very friendly, some may consider him a little over chatty.
Decor in room 70s pine, getting a bit tired, but our rooms were big and light with amazing views of river.

Reviewed by
Helen S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
found venue beautiful setting ideal for traveling around the area would have loved to stay longer

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for the Thames Path
Very convenient for the Thames Path. We knew that the pub did not serve food on a Tuesday and were instructed to call ahead when at Newbridge to give arrival time. Was unavble to do this as an answer message said they were on holiday. This was not the case and Wendy was there to let us in when we arrived. She said there wqas no answerphone on their phone so not sure who my call went to!
The Ferryman is really the only place to stay if you are trying to avoid a very long walk between Newbridge and Oxford. It was clean and tidy but could in general do with a good freshen up. While we slept well, the mattress on the bed (room 1) should be replaced as it is old and dips in the middle. The shower was very disappointing with low water pressure ans it was very difficult to regulate the temperature - either cold or scalding - very difficult to enjoy the shower after a long day's walk. Having said all this, Wendy was very welcoming - brought us a cold drink from the bar - and made sure we had a good breakfast to see us off on our last day of walking into Oxford. The Ferryman is rated as a three star hotel and this is probably fair. It is however in a prime location and could be so much more.

Reviewed by
M Woodward

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly helpful staff
we really enjoyed our stay, we stayed in the hotel accommodation across the road which was quiet + well appointed
the staff were happy helpful + efficient
the village is beautiful

Reviewed by
lizzy w

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next