No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Tradesmans Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Tradesmans Arms, Scorriton, , Buckfastleigh, TQ11 0JB
****** SPECIAL OFFERS ON STAYS OF 2 NIGHTS OR MORE AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE WINTER - CONTACT MARK FOR DETAILS****** The Tradesmans Arms is a Country Inn situated within The Dartmoor National Park, 3 miles from Buckfastleigh. We have recently renovated after 15 months closure and upon re-opening was featured on BBC1 Spotlight and BBC1 Inside Out. Enjoy the unique experience of being able to walk straight from the front door onto the Dartmoor National park, returning to find open log fires and warm hospitality, or relaxing in our beer garden overlooking the stunning Little Combe Valley. The Tradesmans Arms is also on the path of the Two moors way. From our location at Scorriton you are driving distance from the historic cities of Exeter and Plymouth and also the entire south Devon coast - the perfect location for a short break or a longer stay. Rooms at The Tradesmans Arms have all been renovated to a very high standard which includes flat screen TVs , Wifi internet access, extra large showers in the en suites, brand new furniture and carpets and also central heating. The rooms also have amazing views looking out over 'Little Combe Valley' So you can enjoy watching the sheep grazing in the fields or the sun rising in the morning.
Picture of The Tradesmans Arms, Buckfastleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Customer service was amazing and the room and food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Frances Slater

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uncomfortable Beds
Unfortunately we both found the beds very uncomfortable,and consequently did not sleep well.We mentioned this to the staff,not as a major complaint,but we thought they should know.This did not detract from our stay in what was a very nice place.

Reviewed by
Patricia Berry

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Away But Worth a Look
Room was recently refurbished & bed comfy. Dinner menu was a bit hit & miss and disappointed that no Sunday roast in evening. Beer selection excellent though.

Reviewed by
John S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Business booking
Excellent food & room, staff friendly & helpfull, awesome breakfast!

Reviewed by
John L

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devon Tour
Very quiet. Deep in the country. Out of the bathroom window we were eye to eye with cows and calves. Comfortable and very friendly pub. Only two ales on tap of the four promised with one pump on cider. The staff were a strength of the visit. Would come again.

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place, although fairly isolated, ok if your not alone
food good
good value

Reviewed by
john d

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loveley place to stay
From walking in the door, this was a very welcoming place, we were welcomed very warmly and promptly shown to our lovely room. The bathroom was spotless with a nice large walk in shower,
We had a meal at night the attention given to us was second to none, the food is exceptional, a really good choice of starters and mains, we had a starter followed by steak, which was so tasty and nicely presented, we had intended to have a sweet but the meals were of such generous portions we were unable to do so
The next morning breakfast was of the same high standard and served promptly.
These people were so nice and friendly you felt you had known them for ever. The Aunt who was staying was a really nice lady, nothing was too much trouble for her, hope we see here again next time we stop here, as we will certainly return to the Tradesmans Arms

Reviewed by
jennifer t

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, great staff, great food.

Reviewed by
Alice L

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it
As a courier I never know where I end up,this place was in a little village and was faultless, I was made to feel so welcome and the breakfast is to die for, fantastic place well worth the visit and would definatly stay there again, thanks guys

Reviewed by
Darren Mcqueen

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay for a getaway weekend
We had a lovely stay at The Tradesmans Arms. Stayed in the compact double, which was cosy, clean and comfortable, with a lovely en-suite. Cooked breakfast was yummy, really good food. Ate there on the second evening and again it was lovely real home-cooked food. Set in typical Devon countryside, with beautiful views and just a walk to the moors. Best of all was the warm welcome and great service. We also struck lucky as there was a live band playing, to celebrate one of the co-owners birthday - the best pub night we have enjoyed for many years and made to feel so welcome by all the local people who had come to celebrate. We will definitely be going back and thoroughly recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Ed Copson

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next