No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbeatable value for money in central London
First the location: it couldn't be better. Just a few yards from Russell Square, near the tube and buses and within easy walking distance of much of central London. I arrived by motorbike, and found good, safe, well-lit parking for the bike just a couple of hundred yards away.
Secondly, the staff: all the people I met who were working at the hostel were really friendly and helpful, and this made the stay a very nice one.
Next the room: I was staying in an 18 bed dorm. It was quite cramped, with just a narrow corridor between the beds. The space under the beds was entirely taken up by lockers, and the by the time I arrived, quite late, I couldn't quickly find one free. I ended with up with my luggage up on my bunk - the top one of three - to avoid it blocking the space between where people had to walk.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was warm but not too hot, and all the bunks had curtains which you could shut to give you some privacy, too. In the morning the showers were warm and clean, and the loos were very clean too.
Breakfast was very simple: bowls of cornflakes, some milk, cheap white bread for toast, margarine and jam. Coffee (drinkable) or tea.
Check was easily and, again, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and friendly stay
Staffs are all willing to help. The room is kept clean and tidy. Although look a bit scary at the first sight, the shower room is quite clean actually. Have a good time staying here. It is a good choice for such an afordable price with a great location.

Reviewed by
Y Lin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad experience
I didnt like the place because the rooms ar so small you can not even swing a cat , there us no electric plugs inside the rooms to charge the phone ,the toilets are so distant from the rooms wish stoped me from using them ,the shower situated at the level. -1 , well I am welling to book in that place again even if its for free.

Reviewed by
D Oukaci

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Customer Service
I arrived late at night, stressed out, looking for a place to stay. The lady working that night gave me fantastic advice, she was also very helpful and kind. (Two girls working that night, this one was brunette receptionist with a beautiful accent... if she is reading this, I thank you for being awesome).
Room was great value for money... I really liked having curtains around my bed (gave great privacy).
Communal areas were good, handy having free wifi all over. The only drawback was the showers - they were grubby and some of the curtains had mould on them! Also it would have been nice to have the option to rent a towel rather than purchase.

Reviewed by
Alexandra M

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, but not tempting to go back
I stayed at the hostel because I was going to the premiere of Doctor Who's Deep Breath Episode in Leicester Square, it wasn't so bad to stay in, the showers were warm as always, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a bit low on choice as it's just toast and cornflakes, there was some hit drinks like Tea and Coffee. Also the Card Machine was broken, so I had to take a lot of cash out at a cashpoint (ATM), the lockers under the bunk beds are given by choice, so I couldn't get a locker that was under my bed as it was hard for me to get to my locker with other peoples stuff in the way, including there cases as they couldn't fit under the lower bunkbed.

Reviewed by
Chris Williams

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Stayed one night only, location great, walked almost most of central London from here! Stayed in 6 bed ensuite which was clean but also occupied by myself. Common area was always busy with using WiFi. Bit of a cheek with £2 left luggage charge, travelled the world and only came across it once or twice! Good stay.

Reviewed by
Gareth B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service!
I arrived at Smart Russell Square at 5.30 on Monday evening. I was efficiently checked in and everything was explained to me. On going to the dorm I realised that I would be unable to climb the ladder to the top bunks as I have a disability. The reception staff were great in finding me an alternative dorm for the difference in price where I could have a bottom bunk. As I was running late in the morning I didn't stay for breakfast but everyone seemed to be enjoying it.

Reviewed by
Joanne R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My first time in a hostel
My stay at Smart Russell Square was my first stay in a hostel style accommodation.
I'm over 50, and the young energetic team went out of their way to make sure I knew the ropes.
I was last to bed, and first up in the morning so I didn't even see the other people in the room.
Good value and close to central London so I was able to walk to and from my destination.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just awful.
When I arrived at Smart Russell Square I went to the desk where there was no queue and 4 members of staff standing around. A man told me to wait 10 minutes, whilst he reprimanded his colleagues for a mistake they had made in front of me. After that I was able to check in, and was given a room key for my room which was up 3 flights of stairs with no lift. This was difficult with all my luggage. There were works going on in the building at the time so it was very noisy. The nearest bathroom to my dorm was the floor below, and to my horror it was mixed-sex. Similarly, so were the shower rooms, which were situated in the basement, 4 floors below me. The dormitory was very cramped and there was one tiny basin in the corner of the room to accommodate 8 people. It was just awful. I felt unable to stay and promptly checked back out, returning home and missing the conference for which I had come.

Reviewed by
Hannah G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a budget stay in Central London
It is conveniently located near Russell Square underground station, Euston and St. Pancras railway stations and underground, Zone 1, Central London.
Customer Service = friendly staff mostly.
Quality of room = For the price, fine. Bunk beds are a little bit cramped though and I had trouble getting up into the middle bunk of a three-bed bunk bed, hard to climb into and make the bed with the linen provided. If you are not physically able you may find it unsafe and hard to access. Obviously not a problem if you request a lower level bunk I suppose. There are lockers below the beds which you access via the use of your individual room card, which will only open a specific locker allocated by the reception who swipe it through a machine.
Cleanliness = Only used the downstairs and the bedroom, but seems fine to me.
Value for money = for the location, it's very good value. Central Zone 1 London near Kings Cross / St. Pancras / Euston stations. I got a free breakfast with the night's booking, but I had to leave during the early morning before 7.30am when it starts so couldn't review it. I had to pay a £10 refundable deposit when checking in at reception to guarantee safety and return of the room key card and the bed linen before check out time. You get this back when these items are returned. This deposit must be paid in cash though. Just to bear these points in mind when you book a stay here.
Quality of food = N/A as I had to leave early, so didn't get to try this.
Good hostel, considering I only used it for a short sleep before travelling onwards.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next