No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Stayed one night only, location great, walked almost most of central London from here! Stayed in 6 bed ensuite which was clean but also occupied by myself. Common area was always busy with using WiFi. Bit of a cheek with £2 left luggage charge, travelled the world and only came across it once or twice! Good stay.

Reviewed by
Gareth B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service!
I arrived at Smart Russell Square at 5.30 on Monday evening. I was efficiently checked in and everything was explained to me. On going to the dorm I realised that I would be unable to climb the ladder to the top bunks as I have a disability. The reception staff were great in finding me an alternative dorm for the difference in price where I could have a bottom bunk. As I was running late in the morning I didn't stay for breakfast but everyone seemed to be enjoying it.

Reviewed by
Joanne R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My first time in a hostel
My stay at Smart Russell Square was my first stay in a hostel style accommodation.
I'm over 50, and the young energetic team went out of their way to make sure I knew the ropes.
I was last to bed, and first up in the morning so I didn't even see the other people in the room.
Good value and close to central London so I was able to walk to and from my destination.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just awful.
When I arrived at Smart Russell Square I went to the desk where there was no queue and 4 members of staff standing around. A man told me to wait 10 minutes, whilst he reprimanded his colleagues for a mistake they had made in front of me. After that I was able to check in, and was given a room key for my room which was up 3 flights of stairs with no lift. This was difficult with all my luggage. There were works going on in the building at the time so it was very noisy. The nearest bathroom to my dorm was the floor below, and to my horror it was mixed-sex. Similarly, so were the shower rooms, which were situated in the basement, 4 floors below me. The dormitory was very cramped and there was one tiny basin in the corner of the room to accommodate 8 people. It was just awful. I felt unable to stay and promptly checked back out, returning home and missing the conference for which I had come.

Reviewed by
Hannah G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a budget stay in Central London
It is conveniently located near Russell Square underground station, Euston and St. Pancras railway stations and underground, Zone 1, Central London.
Customer Service = friendly staff mostly.
Quality of room = For the price, fine. Bunk beds are a little bit cramped though and I had trouble getting up into the middle bunk of a three-bed bunk bed, hard to climb into and make the bed with the linen provided. If you are not physically able you may find it unsafe and hard to access. Obviously not a problem if you request a lower level bunk I suppose. There are lockers below the beds which you access via the use of your individual room card, which will only open a specific locker allocated by the reception who swipe it through a machine.
Cleanliness = Only used the downstairs and the bedroom, but seems fine to me.
Value for money = for the location, it's very good value. Central Zone 1 London near Kings Cross / St. Pancras / Euston stations. I got a free breakfast with the night's booking, but I had to leave during the early morning before 7.30am when it starts so couldn't review it. I had to pay a £10 refundable deposit when checking in at reception to guarantee safety and return of the room key card and the bed linen before check out time. You get this back when these items are returned. This deposit must be paid in cash though. Just to bear these points in mind when you book a stay here.
Quality of food = N/A as I had to leave early, so didn't get to try this.
Good hostel, considering I only used it for a short sleep before travelling onwards.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

low budget but functional
This is clearly a budget hotel. You cannot expect to much for a 10 pounds stay in the middle of London, but these are 10 pounds spend well. One of the reasons why I chose this solution is its centrality. It is a 15 minute walk to St. Pancras.
As concerns the rooms: The beds have curtains which gives you your privacy and it is a way to keep out the light when people are entering in the middle of the night.
The toilets were rather clean but again rather dysfunctional.
If you expect luxury, don't go there, if you keep your expectations low this can be a functional stay.

Reviewed by
Annemie L

From Other
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Stay in Central London
Great central location - Good value - Compared to Youth Hostel I stayed in at Holland Park, this one was a couple of pounds cheaper but I had to make my own bed and strip the sheets off at the end & breakfast was very basic (cereals & white toast with jam, tea/coffee/milk only). For two pounds more, I could have had a room with a hot cooked buffet breakfast, juice etc and not have needed to make my own bed.

Reviewed by
Marion L

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in London
Central location and overall good cleanliness. Recommendable for younger backpacker travellers or school classes. Not recommendable, if you need an uninterrupted good night´s sleep, as the way the house is built conducts noise very easily. But as I said, considering this is a central London location and it offers breakfast, this is very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Christina S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must for gig
this hostel is ideal if you are going to gigs i.e the garage ,underworld, Islington academy

Reviewed by
gordon brown

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Place To Stay
I like this hostel because of friendly and helpful staff. The bedrooms, common room, toilets and shower room are properly cleaned everyday by the cleaning team, they're doing a very good job.
Very good location for tourist or a student like me stay, because it’s close to the British Museum and it’s very close to my University about 5mins walk.

Reviewed by
Henar Tipay

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next