No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located and ideal for city break with friends

Reviewed by
a roland

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal
Relative value for money but crammed room high bunk with narrow ladder and bed was a bit on the small side.

Reviewed by
Adnan C

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value Hostel
Smart Russell Square is typical backpackers accommodation - dormitories with multi occupancy - some single sex others mixed, situated 3 minutes from Russell Sq tube station with easy and quick access to central London..
Beds are steel bunk style with curtains for privacy with foam duvets and pillows – you are supplied with 2 clean sheets and a pillow case on checking-in for a deposit of £10. My problem with the beds is that they are 1.80m long and I am 1.83m so sleep diagonally.
Rooms are relatively small with a tiny hand basin (not drinking water) and with under store lockers (at extra charge)
Cleanliness – I have found the Smart Hostel to be very clean in both the bedrooms and communal areas – I do admit that I have not used the shower facilities or the breakfast room (my office nearby has showers and kitchen) so am unable to comment on this nor “quality” of fare offered.
Temperature – bloody warm – best get a bunk by the window!
Overall I believe that the hostel gives very good value for money at £15 to £20 sharing with 3 others and am a regular user when the local Travelodge is around £98

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Ross on Wye, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for with this hostel. Cheap and cheerful. Reception staff are constantly handling complaints from guest with issues.mainly complaints about room deposits, Reception staff seem to take the complaints as a personal attack on them.complaint handling training would be a good idea!
On a plus was a very quite hostel at night. Rooms and showers area are clean.very good location.

Reviewed by
G Thompson

From York, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Value For Money.
By far the best hostel in London in every respect plus a unique tourist location.

Reviewed by
ROGELIO N

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 nights
the service was excellent.. but the room was very stuffy and was hard to air out.. another con is that there were only 2 places to plug in any technology (such as phone charger) in the whole room that was housing 14 people..
Also the fact that the hair dryer was not working proved to be quite problematic for me as I have very long hair.. luckily the weather was good.. :)
the rest of the service was perfect, the staff was very forthcoming, there was no problem of understanding the order of things and the other travelers were very friendly too..
I would recommend this hostel to a friend, especially because it was a good value for the money spent

Reviewed by
Katrina C

From Riga, Latvia
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I realy good experience

Reviewed by
T Brown

From Ide, Exeter, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget stay ; Good value
As others have said, the showers are a long way from some rooms and not particularly lovely, and the beds are short. However, for the price and location you won't get better value. It's clean, the staff were fine. I felt a little weird as a 37 year old staying in a youth hostel (few days trip to London for work) but would definitely stay again. Only real problem is bed length (I'm 6'3" and beds under 6' with rigid ends) so would look elsewhere if staying more than a couple of nights.

Reviewed by
Lisa L

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just passing through
Basic, clean, very friendly, very helpful.

Reviewed by
J Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Precio - calidad
Estuvo bien para el precio

Reviewed by
Santiago B

From Ecuador
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6