No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.
The staff was somewhat friendly before they had my money. Once they swiped my credit card they were very unhelpful. The "breakfast" was stale corn flakes and dry toast. Finding my room was a challenge in itself and the staff did little to help me find it. Down a hall, through a door, down 27 very narrow stairs, take a right down another hall, through a door, take a right, down another hall, through another door, up a few stairs, through another door, go straight, up more stairs, turn right, up more stairs than I was at my room. All the bunks are connected to each other so if anyone near me moved it shook my bed. After checking out, I asked to store my bag for 30 minutes while I went to get some breakfast. They said I'd have to pay to store it! Every single hostel I've ever stayed in has allowed for the brief storage of my bag. I've started in 16 hostels in 9 different countries and this is by far the worst. When I asked for directions to most anyplace they simply tossed a map my way and circled my destination. No offer of best way to get there or even general directions. Also, if you're a smoker you have to leave the hostel, cross the street, and then walk about halfway down the block. I'm fine with no smoking in hostels in consideration of other guests, but that was ridiculous. I'll certainly never stay there again.

Reviewed by
Matt S

From Wilmington, USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inconvenient and run down
Renovation workers were everywhere, from hallways to kitchen
Showers and facilities were in a basement, miles from the room, and you had to walk through corridors, stairs and more corridors and more stairs to get to them
Had a very cold and unfriendly feel to the place, that I ended up not staying there for the night and sleeping on my friends sofa. Never done that before in my life with accommodation I've paid for!

Reviewed by
C Colucci

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad, but not terrible
Getting a good hostel in London for the right price is very difficult. However when I saw the Smart Russell Square hostel with a cheap price I plumped for this as I was working up the road in King's Cross for the week.
Whilst the bed was clean and fresh sheets were provided I was not overly happy with the cleanliness of accommodation. The floor in the hostel room was littered with bags and suitcases of other guests due to the need to pay for a locker. This obviously impacted on the ability to clean the floor which appeared grubby. The tap in the room worked fine until the water turned a dirty brown colour and no explanation was given regarding this.
The bathroom was also a cause for concern. Often there would be urine or hair left on the seat or the surrounding floor and guests would often shave in the sinks and not wash away their hair which was, for lack of a better word, appalling. The shower room was also not very attractive to look at and resembled that of a swimming pool from the 1980's. Dirt would often be on the floor along with the wet footprints of the other guests.
The room was often warm due to the number of bodies cramped in, whilst this was not unexpected the size of the room left me confused as to how 16 bodies were crammed in. Other hostels I have stayed in have had large rooms for 16 guests rather than the small offering in this accommodation. As such privacy was at a premium and whilst the curtains were a good touch it did not stop the girl in the bed below me from seeing me change boxers one morning and likewise I also saw females changing whilst I was putting on my shoes or doing up my belt.
Overall the hostel was cheap and the quality I got was a bit less than I desired, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the area where the hostel is serviced is on the Piccadilly Line and makes it easy to venture into areas in the centre of London as well as making it easy to connect with King's Cross and other areas such as Camden and Hammersmith.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place
I must admit, I did find it hard to find to begin with. I spent almost an hour walking up and down the street asking people if they knew where it was. I would recommend they have a name outside to tell visitors/guests where they are. Apart from that, I thought it was great. I was greeted almost right away by the staff with a smile, and they were polite and friendly, telling me all I needed to know before giving me the room's keycard and fresh bed linen. I was only there for one night as I was seeing friends and didn't want to pay extra for a midnight train home. On such short notice from my friends, I was glad to find a place so cheap, and I knew I would only be using it to sleep and wouldn't be spending a lot of time in there. I was staying in a 6 female dorm, but only saw two of my fellow guests whilst I was there, but both were very nice people. The room was quiet, and, I got the bottom bunk that I had hoped for, as due to problems in my hips and back (and a fear of heights), I didn't want a top bunk. The blackout curtains on the bed were a nice touch for privacy, and for blocking out any excess light. My only minor problem was the heat. It had been a long journey from seeing my friends to the hostel, and I was still sweating on waking up briefly at 4am, even though I had fallen asleep on top of the bedcovers! But I assumed with 5 other people in the room, body heat from elsewhere could have been a factor. I didn't use the showers or have breakfast, as I was in a rush to get to Paddington for my train home the next day, so I can't comment on those, but in all, it was an enjoyable stay, and I would recommend it if anyone else is considering a stay. Just try not to get lost when looking for it!

Reviewed by
Tina F

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smart russel value for money
i was only there for a few days and you get what you pay for it was clean and tidey neare maine area of London what more could you ask for and you felt safe all the doors where lock an they cheacked you where ment to be there at night so know one could wonder in and for what it cost me for 2 nights you couldn't get a night in a hotel for that fror me it was just a place to sleep if you want more go to a hotel not here .

Reviewed by
Kim T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not comfortable
The saying "You get what you pay for" is very true for this place. If you're taller than 5'6", or have difficulty climbing, avoid like hell. The bunks have foot and head boards. unsuitable for a tall person, and they are tripple bunks, so if you're the last to arrive at your room, you've got a climb. The staff are surly and uninterested. In fairness, the place was clean but it's clearly had better days (there was work going on during my stay). All loos are mixed (even when there are two bathrooms adjacent!) which was a bit disconcerting, and the showers are again very basic.
All in all I didn't have a comfortable stay and I think next time I'll pay more to go to a proper hotel and not the cheap as chips but basic hostel.

Reviewed by
Rhiannon D

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
I decided to try out this hostel following a work social event as it was cheaper than paying for a train ticket home. I paid for a single bed in shared 18 person dormitory. Baring in mind how cheap it was to stay there I did not expect much. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I could find no fault with them at all. Unfortunately I did have some issues with the room itself. I arrived after 10pm and it appeared all the bottom and mid bunk beds were taken. I was orginally given a top bunk bed which is approximately 10ft off the ground and I have a fear of heights which wasn't ideal. Eventually I was given a mid bunk bed which was better, however there was damp bed linen in the duvet that hadn't been removed, but you are given fresh sheets and a disposable pillow case when you arrive, so this was easily rectified. The room was quite messy given there were 17 other people staying in the room. The mid bunk bed felt enclosed and small, I am just under 6ft so it was a little tight. I also couldn't sit up properly in bed as the ceiling was very low. It was quite noisy throughout the night, so I didn't get much sleep and it did get quite stuffy in the room even with a fan and window open. I left very early in the morning and did not use any of the facilities or have any of the breakfast. I think next time I have a social event in London I will just be paying for a train ticket home rather than stay over.

Reviewed by
V Roberts

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hostel review
The hostel had a friendly feel and was in a nice area which with easy access to the London tube lines. The bed was a good size and gave a good amount of privacy and security with lockers under the beds.

Reviewed by
A Donisthorpe

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shared room
Get what you pay for a shared room with 14 others student accommodation £13 a night

Reviewed by
derek a

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hostel in a great location
We stayed on a very random night out in London (we came up from Cornwall on the bike) We found this last minute and what a find!! Great centre location but set back of the main streets so not to be too noisy.
We stayed in a 15 man dorm. Cannot complain. Beds were very comfy even better than most hotels we have stayed at. I had a noisy behinds and under the beds, a tad dusty but cannot complain for the price. Again paid triple for a room with the same cleanliness few weeks before.
Breakfast was basic but just what we needed coffee/tea toast/cereal. We will be return. Such a great find.
If anyones a biker. There is a FREE M/C bay just round the corner of Tottenham court road down a road opposite the Oden. With what looked like permanent resident bikes there with covers.

Reviewed by
J Forbes

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next