No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Russell Square

2สไตล์เฉพาะตัว โฮสเทล Ratings explained
71-72 Guilford Street , London, WC1N 1DF
Smart Russell Square Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of London to provide a great experience. Located just off London’s and Europe’s most popular shopping area, Oxford Street, we are also a short walk to the British Museum. Every room is key card locked as is entry to the main part of the building, security lockers in every room.
The hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, 24 hour FREE Wi-Fi and internet cafe, TV common room, self -service laundry and dryer facilities, guest kitchen facilities, currency exchange, travel shop, no curfew or lockout, and much more.
Our transport links are fantastic; we are located only a few minutes walking distance from Russell Square Tube or Metro Station which is directly linked to both Heathrow Airport and Kings Cross St Pancras for the Eurostar Train. We are directly linked either by bus or the tube to every major train and bus station in London. There are 24 hour buses running next to the hostel, making us accessible at day or night.
Local sights within walking distance include Oxford Street, British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Town Market, National Portrait Gallery, Soho, National Theatre, National Gallery, West End Theatres, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Kings Cross and much more.
For your added security we require a £10 security deposit on arrival for the room key. If you pay by credit card we also charge 3% fee.
By choosing to stay with us, you will find yourself in a clean, comfortable hostel with the best of Central London at your fingertips!
*Please note are rates are per person per night in a shared dormitory room.

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

low budget but functional
This is clearly a budget hotel. You cannot expect to much for a 10 pounds stay in the middle of London, but these are 10 pounds spend well. One of the reasons why I chose this solution is its centrality. It is a 15 minute walk to St. Pancras.
As concerns the rooms: The beds have curtains which gives you your privacy and it is a way to keep out the light when people are entering in the middle of the night.
The toilets were rather clean but again rather dysfunctional.
If you expect luxury, don't go there, if you keep your expectations low this can be a functional stay.

Reviewed by
Annemie L

From Other
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Stay in Central London
Great central location - Good value - Compared to Youth Hostel I stayed in at Holland Park, this one was a couple of pounds cheaper but I had to make my own bed and strip the sheets off at the end & breakfast was very basic (cereals & white toast with jam, tea/coffee/milk only). For two pounds more, I could have had a room with a hot cooked buffet breakfast, juice etc and not have needed to make my own bed.

Reviewed by
Marion L

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in London
Central location and overall good cleanliness. Recommendable for younger backpacker travellers or school classes. Not recommendable, if you need an uninterrupted good night´s sleep, as the way the house is built conducts noise very easily. But as I said, considering this is a central London location and it offers breakfast, this is very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Christina S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must for gig
this hostel is ideal if you are going to gigs i.e the garage ,underworld, Islington academy

Reviewed by
gordon brown

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Place To Stay
I like this hostel because of friendly and helpful staff. The bedrooms, common room, toilets and shower room are properly cleaned everyday by the cleaning team, they're doing a very good job.
Very good location for tourist or a student like me stay, because it’s close to the British Museum and it’s very close to my University about 5mins walk.

Reviewed by
Henar Tipay

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay
This was my second stay at the hostel. I have nothing too negative to say, as the staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was clean. I was even in the same room I'd stayed in last time, which was brilliant! The only bad point were that I was woken in the middle of the night by people walking around either in the corridor or banging around in the room above. Couldn't be too sure as I was half asleep at the time!

Reviewed by
T Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
If you just want a bed for the night in a friendly and efficiently-run place, this is for you. Not luxurious, but you can't expect that for the money. Tip: it wasn't noisy when I stayed, but earplugs and a blindfold might help light sleepers disturbed by late arrivals. I'll definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills basic but comfortable bed for the night
Quick and easy registration needed photo ID and £10 cash 'security' deposit for the key card and bedding. the staff assume you know how their system works so you have to ask specific questions to get the full picture.
Room was a vinyl floor 3*4m cube with 6 bunks and an old window facing the street. Simply pick one by inserting name card into label tag and make the bed up.
There were electronic lockers available but didn't work with the door card - probably an extra. The problem with them is that they are metal drawers under the bed and the noise will disturb whoever is in the bottom bunk.
The building is not pretty but it's functional and warm.
The room was warm and well lit and triggered by motion sensor. The bed is enclosed on three sides with metal panels and is comfortable but a bit short if you are over 6ft tall. I was OK being 5'9".
The bed has a curtain across for privacy and it keeps some of the light out. I recommend ear plugs. This helped with masking out the other occupants movements and the traffic noise through the old sash window.
Good social feel in communal tv room. Good wifi access and plenty of power points. Mostly foreign travellers early to mid 20s. Easy to either mix or keep to yourself
Plenty of restaurants down Southampton Row.
Simple breakfast of cornflakes and toast with tea.
Tip: check out after breakfast because if you want to use the toilet they won't let you through the security door if you've already handed back the key card.
Also, there is a 50p surcharge on debit card payments but there is a ATM behind you in reception - they don't tell you that. Just go to the ATM and then take them the cash.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

expectations met
everything was great first time in this sort of accomodation needed little more info about how it all works just so feel more comfortable first time maybe an info sheet sent with booking walking through what to do. but apart from that everything was great thank you

Reviewed by
n park

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a medieval experience
Worst hostel I have ever been in (and i have been in Poland, Shottland, Egypt, Greece, and other countries)
Horrible low budged food, Rooms with open layed pipes, 2 step heating (100% Hot or Cold no inbetween), Curtains to block out light are also unknown (only exist for the lower beds).
Single glazed windows - for 2013 not only a waste of energy and heat but also environmentally irresponsible. (but typical british if you look around London)

Reviewed by
Ludwig F

From Germany
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next