Smart Russell Square

2

71-72 Guilford Street, London, WC1N 1DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (57)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Oukaci

  • September 2014

bad experience

I didnt like the place because the rooms ar so small you can not even swing a cat , there us no electric plugs inside the rooms to charge the phone ,the toilets are so distant from the rooms wish stoped me from using them ,the shower situated at the level.

-1 , well I am welling to book in that place again even if its for free.

  • Alexandra M

  • September 2014

Fantastic Customer Service

I arrived late at night, stressed out, looking for a place to stay.

The lady working that night gave me fantastic advice, she was also very helpful and kind. (Two girls working that night, this one was brunette receptionist with a beautiful accent... if she is reading this, I thank you for being awesome).

Room was great value for money... I really liked having curtains around my bed (gave great privacy).

Communal areas were good, handy having free wifi all over. The only drawback was the showers - they were grubby and some of the curtains had mould on them. Also it would have been nice to have the option to rent a towel rather than purchase.

  • Chris Williams

  • August 2014

Not bad, but not tempting to go back

I stayed at the hostel because I was going to the premiere of Doctor Who's Deep Breath Episode in Leicester Square, it wasn't so bad to stay in, the showers were warm as always, the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was a bit low on choice as it's just toast and cornflakes, there was some hit drinks like Tea and Coffee. Also the Card Machine was broken, so I had to take a lot of cash out at a cashpoint (ATM), the lockers under the bunk beds are given by choice, so I couldn't get a locker that was under my bed as it was hard for me to get to my locker with other peoples stuff in the way, including there cases as they couldn't fit under the lower bunkbed.

  • Gareth B

  • August 2014

One Night Stay

Stayed one night only, location great, walked almost most of central London from here.

Stayed in 6 bed ensuite which was clean but also occupied by myself. Common area was always busy with using WiFi. Bit of a cheek with £2 left luggage charge, travelled the world and only came across it once or twice. Good stay.

  • Joanne R

  • July 2014

Great customer service!

I arrived at Smart Russell Square at 5.30 on Monday evening.

I was efficiently checked in and everything was explained to me. On going to the dorm I realised that I would be unable to climb the ladder to the top bunks as I have a disability. The reception staff were great in finding me an alternative dorm for the difference in price where I could have a bottom bunk. As I was running late in the morning I didn't stay for breakfast but everyone seemed to be enjoying it.

  • David M

  • June 2014

My first time in a hostel

My stay at Smart Russell Square was my first stay in a hostel style accommodation.

I'm over 50, and the young energetic team went out of their way to make sure I knew the ropes. I was last to bed, and first up in the morning so I didn't even see the other people in the room. Good value and close to central London so I was able to walk to and from my destination.

  • Hannah G

  • June 2014

Just awful.

When I arrived at Smart Russell Square I went to the desk where there was no queue and 4 members of staff standing around.

A man told me to wait 10 minutes, whilst he reprimanded his colleagues for a mistake they had made in front of me. After that I was able to check in, and was given a room key for my room which was up 3 flights of stairs with no lift. This was difficult with all my luggage. There were works going on in the building at the time so it was very noisy. The nearest bathroom to my dorm was the floor below, and to my horror it was mixed-sex. Similarly, so were the shower rooms, which were situated in the basement, 4 floors below me. The dormitory was very cramped and there was one tiny basin in the corner of the room to accommodate 8 people. It was just awful. I felt unable to stay and promptly checked back out, returning home and missing the conference for which I had come.

  • Neil B

  • March 2014

Good for a budget stay in Central London

It is conveniently located near Russell Square underground station, Euston and St.

Pancras railway stations and underground, Zone 1, Central London. Customer Service = friendly staff mostly. Quality of room = For the price, fine. Bunk beds are a little bit cramped though and I had trouble getting up into the middle bunk of a three-bed bunk bed, hard to climb into and make the bed with the linen provided. If you are not physically able you may find it unsafe and hard to access. Obviously not a problem if you request a lower level bunk I suppose. There are lockers below the beds which you access via the use of your individual room card, which will only open a specific locker allocated by the reception who swipe it through a machine. Cleanliness = Only used the downstairs and the bedroom, but seems fine to me. Value for money = for the location, it's very good value. Central Zone 1 London near Kings Cross / St. Pancras / Euston stations. I got a free breakfast with the night's booking, but I had to leave during the early morning before 7.30am when it starts so couldn't review it. I had to pay a £10 refundable deposit when checking in at reception to guarantee safety and return of the room key card and the bed linen before check out time. You get this back when these items are returned. This deposit must be paid in cash though. Just to bear these points in mind when you book a stay here. Quality of food = N/A as I had to leave early, so didn't get to try this. Good hostel, considering I only used it for a short sleep before travelling onwards.

  • Annemie L

  • March 2014

low budget but functional

This is clearly a budget hotel.

You cannot expect to much for a 10 pounds stay in the middle of London, but these are 10 pounds spend well. One of the reasons why I chose this solution is its centrality. It is a 15 minute walk to St. Pancras.

As concerns the rooms: The beds have curtains which gives you your privacy and it is a way to keep out the light when people are entering in the middle of the night.

The toilets were rather clean but again rather dysfunctional.

If you expect luxury, don't go there, if you keep your expectations low this can be a functional stay.

  • Marion L

  • February 2014

Good Value Stay in Central London

Great central location - Good value - Compared to Youth Hostel I stayed in at Holland Park, this one was a couple of pounds cheaper but I had to make my own bed and strip the sheets off at the end & breakfast was very basic (cereals & white toast with jam, tea/coffee/milk only).

For two pounds more, I could have had a room with a hot cooked buffet breakfast, juice etc and not have needed to make my own bed.