No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Beach Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
73, South Beach , Troon, KA10 6EG
The South Beach Hotel in Troon is a privately owned and run hotel, ideally situated in the best part of the town and facing onto the sea front with it's sandy beaches famous for wind and kite surfing and of course golf.

The three star South Beach Hotel has 32 en-suite, superbly furnished bedrooms, many of which enjoy outstanding sea views with Arran and the Ailsa Craig on the horizon.

The hotel is well known for its welcoming atmosphere, where you will be treated more as a friend than a visitor by the Watt family and their staff and is extremely proud of the repeat business that the hotel enjoys from its customers whether it is for business or pleasure.

Picture of South Beach Hotel, Troon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A smashing hotel
Near golf courses, the sea, and a short walk into Troon, the South Beach Hotel is in a good location. Our 'rooms' were small suites overlooking the sea, and couldn't be faulted. The hotel staff and the meals we had were 1st class. With plenty of car parking spaces, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
W Haddon

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scottish Welcome at its best.
An excellent week-end spent at this hotel. Staff were friendly and service was second to none.
I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
David S

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Great hotel, we only stopped for 1 night , however would not hesitate to stay longer. Rooms are a bit "old worldy", however spotlessly clean and plenty of room. Breakfast freshly cooked, what a difference to the "help yourself to breakfast which has been out since 6a.m" . Well worth the money for what we paid. Give it a try!

Reviewed by
j anderson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight break
Nice hotel, I was in the superior room and found it a very comfortable room, had a sea view room at front of hotel and never heard any noise from outside. Unfortunately I slept in and missed the breakfast, which came highly recommended, due to staying in the hotel bar until 4am. Good value for money and would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From East Kilbride, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well looked after by Ashleigh .Dinner was tasty but not very much of it. Breakfast more than made up for this though

Reviewed by
Diane F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good scottish sea-side hotel.
Very comfortable hotel. Slightly dated but cosy and welcoming. Excellent breakfast with good choices. However dont expect to see the sea as there are buildings in the way, although it is close to the beach.

Reviewed by
Anne D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really good room at the back of the hotel that met and exceeded all my expectations. Breakfast was good with the only minor quibble being that it was only available from 730am. The evening meal options were excellent with generous portions of interesting, well presented food at moderate prices. I may return simply to try some other parts of the menu.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed overnight as we were attending a Silver Wedding. Have stayed previously at another Silver Wedding, as family are local to that area. A buffet was served which was very good and we enjoyed our breakfast in the morning. Would keep this hotel in mind if we were visiting the area.

Reviewed by
m reilly

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels I have been to!
South Beach Hotel is fantastic! It is set really close to the sea and in Troon, that is a beautiful town. I loved the stuff who has been really kind (and helped me with my heavy luggages!) and my room was beautiful, spacious and bright!

Reviewed by
Alessia Meola

From Santeramo in Colle, Italy
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overview
Clean, quiet hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Our evening meal there was excellent, but felt breakfast was prepped too early (a little dry).
Close to beach and town.

Reviewed by
B Hart

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next