No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - South Beach Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
73, South Beach , Troon, KA10 6EG
The South Beach Hotel in Troon is a privately owned and run hotel, ideally situated in the best part of the town and facing onto the sea front with it's sandy beaches famous for wind and kite surfing and of course golf.

The three star South Beach Hotel has 32 en-suite, superbly furnished bedrooms, many of which enjoy outstanding sea views with Arran and the Ailsa Craig on the horizon.

The hotel is well known for its welcoming atmosphere, where you will be treated more as a friend than a visitor by the Watt family and their staff and is extremely proud of the repeat business that the hotel enjoys from its customers whether it is for business or pleasure.

Picture of South Beach Hotel, Troon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We loved our stay at this hotel. Staff professional yet couldn't have been more pleasant with a lovely attitude. Little personal touches that you don't get with hotel chains, like mugs instead of cups and hot chocolate on the drinks tray. Continental breakfast or great freshly made to order choice of cooked breakfast. No buffet lukewarm food!
Our room at the back on the ground floor had our own door to our patio with table and chairs. Large bathroom and spotlessly clean.
Other reviewers have commented on the decor - yes it is dated but we loved it. Added to the charm of the hotel and added to the lovely atmosphere, much nicer than the usual hotel chain blandness. It's a family run hotel and it's not surprising that it's so successful. We would definitely stay here again. Don't change South Beach!

Reviewed by
Lynn M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely large room - classy peaceful guest room
Busy bar but restaurant well set up.

Reviewed by
Maureen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, room was fine, good bar, only blip for me was I couldnt connect to wifi in my room. Overall a good hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

troon visit
all staff are very welcoming,nothing is a problem.very comfortable beds,spotless clean.good wine and beer.in a good location.we would recommend to friends.thanks to all staff

Reviewed by
barrie porteous

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely find
Stayed here overnight while on business, first room I was given had no view (wall/roof) but I was moved to a room with beautiful sea view with no problems at all.
The room itself was very comfortable and perfectly clean could do with a new kettle though. The bathroom is a little dated and the shower definitely needs replacing but again was perfectly clean.
Didn't have an evening meal, just breakfast which I would describe as being ok but not special.
Very good location opposite beach with good space for walking.
All in all very happy

Reviewed by
L Vickers

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A smashing hotel
Near golf courses, the sea, and a short walk into Troon, the South Beach Hotel is in a good location. Our 'rooms' were small suites overlooking the sea, and couldn't be faulted. The hotel staff and the meals we had were 1st class. With plenty of car parking spaces, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
W Haddon

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scottish Welcome at its best.
An excellent week-end spent at this hotel. Staff were friendly and service was second to none.
I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
David S

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Great hotel, we only stopped for 1 night , however would not hesitate to stay longer. Rooms are a bit "old worldy", however spotlessly clean and plenty of room. Breakfast freshly cooked, what a difference to the "help yourself to breakfast which has been out since 6a.m" . Well worth the money for what we paid. Give it a try!

Reviewed by
j anderson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight break
Nice hotel, I was in the superior room and found it a very comfortable room, had a sea view room at front of hotel and never heard any noise from outside. Unfortunately I slept in and missed the breakfast, which came highly recommended, due to staying in the hotel bar until 4am. Good value for money and would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From East Kilbride, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well looked after by Ashleigh .Dinner was tasty but not very much of it. Breakfast more than made up for this though

Reviewed by
Diane F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next