Reviews - Village Hotel Cardiff

3

29 PENDWYALLT ROAD, CARDIFF, CF14 7EF

Price From 214.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (98)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan Franks

  • September 2014

The staff were most welcoming and took a genuine interest

Response from hotel

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are much appreciated, please be assured these will be shared with all the team and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards S. Chainey, General Manager.

  • Sammy W

  • September 2014

Brilliant stay with my boyfriend

Unfortunately we didn't get time to use the spa facilities but knowing we could use them without paying extra was great.

We would definitely go again if we went to cardiff.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Customer feedback is very important to us and your comments are greatly appreciated. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards S. Chainey, General Manager.

  • D Williams

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel and staff

We stayed over the busy bank holiday weekend, the room was cleaned to a good standard and had all we needed, as were all of the communal areas.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially on reception and the lady who cleaned the rooms.

We did have breakfast and a bar meal one evening, the food was nice, but nothing out of this world, suiyed us though.

Would definitely stay again when visiting Cardiff :-)

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Customer feedback is very important to us and your comments are greatly appreciated. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards S. Chainey, General Manager.

  • john l

  • August 2014

shocking

reception very poor and unhelpful little consideration for having traveled 150 miles .The whole hotel cannot receive BBC2.

We particularly wanted to see friend in European race as well as seeing Mo Farah no indication in hotel details of this. So fed up checked out. Hotel frontage is good behind scenes is really poor. Appears to be a leisure centre with rooms!!!!!!!!!!.

Response from hotel

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that there was a problem with your stay and that on this occasion you left the hotel disappointed, would you be kind enough to e-mail the Hotel direct so that we can discuss this directly with you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards, S. Chainey, General Manager

  • j Dyas

  • August 2014

Pub staff were very helpful cheerful and efficient, breakfast was not that good, poor choice and not very appealing.

Reception were also helpful.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review and providing your comments, I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing to my attention the points raised with regards to the selection of food at breakfast, please be assured that this is not our normal standard and I have discussed these issues with my Restaurant Manager. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Kind regards, S. Chainey, General Manager.

  • Tiffany A

  • August 2014

Quite standard

The family room was a little disappointing - the children were expecting a little more than a rickety fold out sofa.

It was clean though. The children were also extremely limited on the times they could use the pool, which was the main reason we chose the Village. It was very busy with business types in the hotel whilst we were there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good advice about parking in Cardiff bay

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I am sorry that you were not aware of the children's swim times; these times are advertised on our website and on the in-room leaflet information which gives you details of all the facilities in the hotel. I am sorry if you were not made aware of this, going forward we will encourage all our reception staff to also remind guests of the children's swim times at check-in. I am very sorry for any disappointment caused. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review, customer feedback is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards S. Chainey, General Manager

  • J Ormesher

  • August 2014

Good time but wet.

Very satisfied with our stay in Urban Village

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Customer feedback is very important to us and your comments are greatly appreciated. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

S. Chainey, General Manager

  • jonathan swinn

  • August 2014

Overall pretty good

The room was very hot so we didn't sleep very well and it was not as clean as I would like.

The breakfast was good as was the bar food. Overall the facilities are excellent.

A little bit too far out of Cardiff -£15 in a taxi each way.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review and providing your comments, I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing to my attention the points raised with regards to your bedroom, please be assured that this is not our normal standard and I have discussed these issues with my Housekeeping Manager.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Kind regards,

S. Chainey, General Manager.

  • Leigh B

  • August 2014

Toilet dirty on arrival, however dealt with promptly after speaking to reception.

Room no better than a premier inn and don't like the upgrade requirement for a "snugly" duvet. Only advantage over premier in was the pool and gym.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that there was a problem with your room but happy to see that reception sorted this immediately for you, please be assured that I have discussed the issues raised with my Housekeeping Manager to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Once again, thank you for your feedback, customer feedback is very important to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

S Chainey, General Manager

  • A Smith

  • August 2014

Excellent

Perfect!

Response from hotel

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to be perfect. Customer feedback is very important to us and your comments are greatly appreciated. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

S. Chainey, General Manager.