Reviews - The Devoncourt Resort

4

16 DOUGLAS AVENUE, EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (101)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andree C

  • January 2016

Impressive views, fantastic receptionist, needs some updating

We stopped for 1 night.

This place is huge and in a great location - very impressive, in its day we are sure it was the desired place to stay in Exmouth. It's in need of updating, but such an impressive sized place that updating would be a huge investment. We were welcomed and supported throughout our stay by the best receptionist I've encountered over many years, fantastic service. Our suite was incredibly spacious, great views, but our nights sleep not so great, the bed perhaps needs a newer more firm mattress. We didn't get a chance to see the leisure facilities, but did stay for breakfast which was fine.

  • K Davis

  • January 2016

devoncourt hotel

The room we stayed in was 209, a very poor room.

it felt like u was in a dungeon and felt claustrophobic. no view if u opened the windows. u had the noise of the food extractor chimney and the smell. the day check in lady was very nice but the night man was a bit off putting and we felt that we was putting him out by him letting us in at 11.55 after me and my wife had been out for a meal.

  • P Muxworthy

  • January 2016

top hotel

staff was polite and one of the best we have stayed in I would give it a 5 star we went for the apartment which we was surprised at the size of it loads of room apart from the kitchen but still plenty good enough the hotel and room was very clean and the staff was friendly well worth the price we was surprised to find the room well heated on our arrival and very comfortable I would just like to say the only 2 problems we found was one the bath is very small and I only medium size found it a struggle to stretch out or wash the wife whos only 5ft found it a bit small for her so just shows the size but there is also a shower the other was the restaurant though the food was lovely and rather over sized it is also very expensive so beware also we booked in advance for breakfast which was terrible we had English breakfast which is no better than a holiday inns breakfast which is half the price everything was pre heated it was served within 2 mins of ordering which gave us an idea before eating it must been pre prepared sausage like rubber you don't even get beans and toast you have to get yourself and cook but it was a lovely stay and wished had booked more than one night but shall return just hope they sort the breakfast problem out the other thing to watch is on the booking it says the devon court resort which is incorrect its called devon court hotel which had us driving up and down the road a few times as booking in was after 4 it was already dark and had to read any of the names up the road so look for hotel not resort

  • David B

  • December 2015

Excellent hotel

This is a regal hotel, very well managed, maintained and comfortable.

Although old, it has style and feels very relaxing to be in...not the sharp, racy feel of some more modern hotels. Staff very friendly, bar reasonably priced and the lounge is comfortable to spend time in. Great views over the sea and gardens.

  • S Roach

  • October 2015

The Devoncourt Resort

The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly.

The room we had was a clean and a good size with a balcony and lovely view over the sea, but the decor and carpets made the room look dated and would have preferred a king size bed as the one we had seemed smaller than a double. The bathroom was large and clean, but again needed updating and the shower difficult to get right temperature. Saying that we would stay again and overall rate it 7 out of 10.

  • L Bourke

  • October 2015

spa and sea views

Very pleasant and relaxed hotel within easy reach of Exeter and good offers in the restaurant.

Comfortable quiet room and helpful reception staff. Would definitely recommend and would stay again maybe in summer when outdoor pool open.

  • Carrie D

  • September 2015

The Devoncourt Resort

Stayed one night in a suite with a sea view balcony.

The accommodation is dated and tired but nice and clean and the view was lovely. The swimming pool and leisure facilities made the break even better value for money. The food was very good and the staff are very friendly an welcoming. The hotel just needs a cash injection to make the decor and furnishings a bit more up to date. Would definitely visit again.

  • Richard H

  • September 2015

Recommended

Although, as previous comments stated, the interior is dated, the grounds & facilities far outweigh this.

The accommodation was spacious & clean. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. We booked 3 days & thoroughly enjoyed every minute

  • Shaun A

  • September 2015

The Devoncourt Resort

Really looked after well.

Just a one night stay but felt like a real break.

  • l smith

  • September 2015

Superb food ,super service, if these are for you and you dont care how dated the room ...x

The food was the best ...service and staff delightful...room not so good ,bath basin toilet old and not secure on floor .decor very 90s..neeeds TLC..overall good value but would not want pay more..did not use spa ..but all looked very nice.