Reviews - The Devoncourt Resort



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (109)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David H

  • April 2014

One Night stay

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Staff very friendly and welcoming. We had a one-bedroomed apartment which was extremely spacious and clean. The d├ęcor was a little dated but good quality and the apartment had everything you would need. We were a little perturbed on seeing the front of the hotel as it definitely requires a facelift, but the exterior of the hotel which overlooks the sea, the gardens, the view and the comfort of the accommodation could not be faulted. The barman who provided us with a nightcap after our visit to the theatre and the staff member serving breakfast were both very pleasant. Will return.

  • Andy B

  • April 2014

Great place fabulous location

The Devoncourt is a traditional Devon hotel.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was ideal for the 5 of us. From our little balcony you can see the sea and you have everything you need with the room that has a kitchenette and 2 bathrooms.We used the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and tennis court, a short walk through the hotel gardens takes you to the beach, we loved it here and will be back.

  • A Morgan`

  • April 2014

Disappointing accommodation - not 4*

I booked through Laterooms so obviously got the room at a discounted price.

It was advertised as a standard double, and the hotel is a 4* hotel. The room was very dated, although I must say it was clean, which is essential. There was not a lot of room to move, and the bathroom had obviously been fitted into a space. The cupboard took up some of the bathroom space meaning the toilet had to be moved forward. This meant turning the taps on for the shower was difficult. The bathroom suite looked like it came from the early 1980's. The shower was a mixer tap above the bath. The hot water was plumbed into the wrong tap so I initially thought there was no hot water. Then when I discovered this, if found that I could not regulate the hot and cold taps once it was diverted to the shower, no matter how slightly I moved the tap. I ended up with a scorching shower, didn't wash my hair because I couldn't stand underneath it. The food was also disappointing - I had a Lasagne and the bottom was overcooked making it tough. I mentioned the bathroom to the receptionist who said she would get someone to look at it for the next guest. The staff were all very polite.

  • Keith Halliday

  • April 2014

Mediocre and disappointing - expected much better after staying there in 1983/ 84 when it was smart

Devoncourt bedrooms were old fashioned and unrefurbished which was disappointing.

Gym and changing area very old fashioned. Hotel is looking somewhat shabby and needs a facelift - I would have expected better from a 4* rating. Food was however quite good and hotel very comfortable. Staff very well mannered.

  • Robert G

  • April 2014

As others have said, the decor is a bit dated, but the gardens are well kept and the rooms are reasonably good value.

The breakfast was very good; we didn't have dinner in the hotel. The staff were most helpful.

  • Clara W

  • April 2014

Needs major update

We had great expectatios for this hotel and our weekend away.

Entering the room was like being back to 1950s....or Fawlty Towers. Really basic, old decoration (and smelly!). Certainly do not book if you are planning a romantic get away. Certainly this should not be a 4* hotel.

  • Dorinda Giles

  • April 2014

nice hotel with good views and plenty of places to visit nearby

we were upgraded to a suite.

very nice with double and single beds in large bedroom with loads of storage. lounge with sofa bed and large flatscreen tv. balcony with sea view looking over lovely gardens. breakfast was excellent both mornings. staff very friendly and helpful as my husband had left mobile charger at home and one was found and lent to him .we would love to stay againwhen in area.

  • a westcott

  • April 2014

Needs updating

Hotel 30 years out of date, room, horrible, bed terrible, toilet paper in the room is the sort you would get in a dingy public loo, no soap, incredibly dated, couldn't wait to leave

  • Nicky L

  • April 2014

Lovely staff and beautiful grounds!

The decor wasn't really us but the staff were lovely and the grounds stunning.

Location and views were fab too!

  • Sarah Reeve

  • April 2014

shorter no longer yes

Had a lovely time wish it could have been longer.