No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devoncourt Resort

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
16 DOUGLAS AVENUE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX
The Devoncourt Resort & Apartments comprises 49 rooms and suites with one and two bedroom apartments accommodating four or six people respectively, many with sea views, balconies, double bathrooms and kitchenettes. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and available in all rooms and apartments. There is also a free car park on site available for all guests.

There is an on-site restaurant called Brasserie 16 who are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, booking is advised. The Restaurant is extremely popular and is renowned for its high quality of food and service. It is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are their Priority.

Picture of The Devoncourt Resort, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 168 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful sea views, spacious rooms and public areas, very good WI-FI (free) in room.
Staff were helpful and friendly, and we were given a huge room, with an ensuite shower/toilet and a huge bathroom with piping hot water and whirlpool bath. Comfy sofa and chairs, huge TV, table and chairs, balcony with sea view. Had a super breakfast, again with lovely sea views. Didn't have dinner, but the menu looked good. Exceptional value for money and very friendly.

Reviewed by
Margaret M

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Devoncourt Resort
As others have said a dated hotel but exceptionally clean, friendly staff and spacious accommodation.

Reviewed by
Nicola D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting but poor rooms
All staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout. We had a suite with kitchenette which was very poorly equipped, not even a frying pan for bacon etc, so toast it was, though may have been a good thing and saved the £25 charge if we used the kitchen. Felt like we were back in the seventies in our gran's house or at Maplins camp, we did laugh but it served a purpose for one night. Beautiful gardens and views from communal areas just needs huge modernising in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Christine Worth

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised
We arrived late Friday evening and were a little disappointed with the info gage of the hotel but once inside were pleasantly surprised. We initially were given a room facing the road but after enquiring we were upgraded to a garden room which was huge and offered direct access to the large gardens and then directly to the sea front. Don't expext modern rooms but everything was clean, comfortable and staff were very efficient. Free wifi worked very well everywhere in hotel which isn't always the case even in modern hotels. Breakfast was excellent and the menu for other meals although limited was good quality.

Reviewed by
Rosemary T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great location, amazing value
We stayed at the Devoncourt as a group of 5 for a 2 night weekend stay. We had a suite with a double room (with its own en suite), a twin room plus a lounge with a sofa bed and kitchenette. For the price we paid it was amazing value!
Spotlessly clean, fresh towels and linen, fast free wifi, great sea views and free parking. Lots of positives - I would stay here again without question.
Staff at reception were the only ones we interacted with as we were out most of the day and they were polite, warm and welcoming. We also never sampled any food so couldn't comment there. We were visiting friends in the area so ate out with them.
The only negative (which is why I knocked one point off of room quality) I would say is that the hotel is a little dated in terms of decor but that didn't bother us as a group of 30 something's. All that mattered was a clean, warm and comfortable place to stay which this was. Wouldn't hesitate to return and would recommend to others.
Thanks for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Justin C

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little dated
Rooms well appointed but could do with updating .

Reviewed by
Doreen M

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased
Service was extremely friendly. Food could be a bit more exciting (esp for vegetarians) but it was still fine. Had lovely big room, view of the sea. Enjoyed swimming pool & gym. Excellent value for money from my late rooms booking, very pleased.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome
Very welcoming. Excellent value for money,. A bonus to learn we had a sea view. While a bit worn in places the hotel had a friendly and comfortable feel. Made use of the indoor pool and facilities. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay with lots of beach walking or just relax and take in the views. Thank you for making my sisters 70 th birthday weekend lovely.

Reviewed by
j hopkins

From reading, England
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Get Together
The hotel was excellent in every way. We understand the dining room was under separate management and this is where they came unstuck. The breakfast service on our first morning left a lot to be desired. In fact we complained and to be fair it was 100% better there after.

Reviewed by
Carole P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Devoncourt Resort
Reception very friendly and helpful one of the best teams we have come across Hotel a little dated but very good value for money did not use the restaurant easy walk to beach and town. A good effort made with the Christmas decorations Will stay at hotel again

Reviewed by
r whear

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next