No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devoncourt Resort

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
16 DOUGLAS AVENUE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX
The Devoncourt Resort & Apartments comprises 49 rooms and suites with one and two bedroom apartments accommodating four or six people respectively, many with sea views, balconies, double bathrooms and kitchenettes. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and available in all rooms and apartments. There is also a free car park on site available for all guests.

There is an on-site restaurant called Brasserie 16 who are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, booking is advised. The Restaurant is extremely popular and is renowned for its high quality of food and service. It is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are their Priority.

Picture of The Devoncourt Resort, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 179 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

winter break
clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Michael Owen

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, comfortable, unpretentious hotel with lovely gardens and sea views
We enjoy staying here. The Devoncourt offers excellent value for money, pleasant rooms, lovely homely atmosphere, great location.

Reviewed by
david t

From Newport, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a great place with all the facilities and extra activities and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely time - hotel and staff excellent, you have to try it !
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Standard of accommodation and cleanliness were excellent. Gym and pool lovely too. Some parts of the hotel are dated but to me it only added to the character. Restaurant food was lovely. All freshly cooked and very hot and the service once again was great. Lovely smiley young waitresses made it a very pleasurable experience for everyone. Bar staff friendly and fun and cleaning ladies very friendly and polite. Lastly reception staff also lovely in fact as you can probably gather we could not fault this hotel at all and definitely plant to return one day. Thank you everyone at the Devoncourt Hotel.

Reviewed by
Mary Usherwood

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devoncourt Hotel
We selected this hotel because it was only 2 miles from the training camp where our grandson was passing out as a Royal Marine Commando. We did get lost only because our printed internet directions were not clear (too many roundabouts). However, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had a whole suite to ourselves including lounge and dining area, bedroom, two bathrooms (1 ensuite) and kitchen (although you had a charge of £25 if used). We wish we had invited our son and his family over for the evening as there was a large amount of space for socialising and the food was excellent. The receptionist was very pleasant and there was a lift if the stairs could not be managed. We looked right onto the sea which was only a few hundred yards from the hotel.
We were highly impressed considering the price was just £65 per night.

Reviewed by
E Fletcher

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedding
Was really surprised to find a blanket on the bed instead of a duvet in this day and age.

Reviewed by
V Olds

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, right by the sea. Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel decor was quite dated but the room was big and clean. Decent little gym and pool but was quite busy, the massage chair was great! Overall we had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
claire h

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet, relaxing with a sea-view in Exmouth
When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist and found our room to be comfortable with a sink and fridge, sofa and a view of the sea. We chose to have breakfast and dinner at the hotel and were delighted with the selections and quality of the food. We asked for a quiet room and this was provided with really no outside noise at all. We didn't use the pool or fitness facilities so cannot comment on them.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned but clean
We stayed her as we were visiting our son at exeter uni. The hotel is old fashioned but i would not say tatty and it was very clean. Obviously it needs a revamp but that would cost a lot and they clearly cannot run to it in this present economic climate. A few minor updates would greatly improve the ambiance for minimum cost. Lighting being the foremost inside and out. Anyway the room we had was not very nice as it faced out onto a wall but we paid very little for it so fair enough. If you are going for more than one night make sure you have a sea view. The leisure complex is nice enough - not exactly luxurious but an added something when you are staying with children and there is a hurricane brewing outside! Exmouth is lovely and the views from the hotel are lovely in the day light. Sadly when night falls there is no effort to enhance the views with lighting. The hotel is mainly full of elderly people but its great to find a hotel that offers an apartment when you have a family so we may stay again just for that.

Reviewed by
JOANNE W

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suite for 4 persons, October 2013
Although the suite could do with refurbishment, it was very comfortable with everything we needed for a family stay with teens, inclusing 2 bathrooms and cooking facilities. The staff went out of their way to be helpful before we arrived and during our stay. Leisure facilities were good, the gardens beautiful and the position of the hotel just behind the seafront was ideal. Lovely walks in the area.

Reviewed by
D Miller

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.