No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jolyons @ No. 10

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Jolyons at No.10, 10 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF119LJ
An exquisite boutique style hotel located in the heart of Cardiff, featuring free Wi-Fi, free limited parking and the excellent onsite Cwtch Mawr Restaurant & bar. The hotel is furnished with bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored furniture to create a warm and relaxing place to stay. Whether visiting for work or pleasure, the lavish design, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.

All guest bedrooms are beautifully furnished with fine furniture, thick upholstery and rich colour tones, for comfort that you won’t want to leave behind. Whether you choose a Compact, Deluxe or Suite room, you’ll find each bedroom offers home-from-home comfort while exuding a unique character to create a truly revitalising space for relaxation and sleep. Equipped with the latest technology, including free Wi-Fi, Ethernet connection sockets, plasma screen TVs and telephones, rooms boast a plethora of modern conveniences. Even the bathrooms are every bit as luxurious and offer something different and fun, from extravagant plunge-pools, whirlpool jet baths and colour light therapy, to under floor heating, convenient night-lights and high-pressure rain showers.

Whether you fancy a home cooked meal or a refreshing glass of wine, Cwtch Mawr offers the perfect setting and a warm welcome. Serving a selection of hot and cold homemade food that changes with the seasons, the carefully selected menus are designed to offer a choice for all tastes while utilising the delights of locally sourced and organic produce. Additionally the bar offers a plentiful range of world beers, real ales and cocktails, as well as a refreshing selection of cold soft drinks and hot beverages.

Meeting and event facilities at Jolyon’s at No. 10 follow the same inimitable standards as the rest of the hotel. Exceptional, spacious and flexible meeting and event facilities have been designed specifically for corporate and private use, to accommodate all types of events from 2 – 100 guests. Meetings of all sizes and set-ups are individually managed and implemented by a dedicated, experienced Event Manager right from the first visit through to the final event.

Cardiff, the cosmopolitan capital city of Wales, is a bustling centre of culture and economics with a wealth of historical, sporting and leisure interests. Dating back to the Neolithic era, the city is a well established and important location that has something new to offer every visitor.

Popular local attractions include the famous Cardiff Castle and the Taff Trail, while the spectacular Millennium Stadium is a hub for sporting and musical events. Cardiff itself offers a fantastic range of shops, clubs, pubs and restaurants to cater for all needs and tastes. Further afield, the spectacular Brecon Beacons National Park is a must see attraction.
Picture of Jolyons @ No. 10, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable...
overall, a very comfortable stay - the room was a good size, as was the bathroom (although the bath was very short, so maybe they could have forgone this and just opted for a shower cubicle) - they do sell them as 'compact' rooms, and they do what it says on the tin, but they are not cramped.
We did not have dinner, but breakfast was sufficient, with a buffet and cooked options. Parking is limited and I was able to secure a space for our stay - I recommend contacting them in advance for this.

Reviewed by
Helen H

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Overnight stay
The rooms were warm (we stayed in a wet and cold October) and the beds were extremely comfortable. The motion sensor lighting in the corridors meant there was very little light interference from outside the room and the blue light in the bathroom was very soothing.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Bar/restaurant could do with some TLC rub down and varnish. Food was superb, beautifully presented.
The room itself smelt a little musty as the curtains had a little mould in the corners but, having said that, it was extremely quiet and superbly furnished.

Reviewed by
Paul K

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place!
I was more than pleasantly surprised by this lovely place. Clean, tastefully decorated with really lovely staff. If I had any negative comment it would be that the reception area was a little tired and the carpark is a bit of a nightmare to get in and out of. I would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
jane b

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as good as it once was...
I have been staying at Jolyons for 3 years now when I visit my daughter at Uni. I have to say the last two visits were not successful.
The last stay they had no hot water and I was moved from room to room until one was found that supplied it!
This time I was told on arrival that although my booking had come through, there were no rooms left and I would have to stay at their alternative sister hotel in Cardiff Bay!!! I refused to be moved on. There was no way I was going to drive to Cardiff Bay after a long days travelling, I just wanted a bath and to freshen up and to go and see my daughter. Amazingly a room was found suddenly. I found it all very stressful. Then to cap it all the door knob of the bathroom fell off and I had to try to open the door by my fingernails... talk about the old lady stuck in the lavatory.
So, in summary, it is not such a joy to stay there as it once was.

Reviewed by
Deborah Stollery

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not live up to expectations
Small and uninspiring room. Not especially pristine or clean, curtains falling off and big iron mark on carpet. Could not be described as boutique more standard budget hotel. No breakfast included. I paid a supposedly reduced rate and was still disappointed, did not live up to expectations at all. Ibis next time.

Reviewed by
R Keegan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent find. Convenient for town, cricket etc
This hotel was suggested to me by a colleague, who uses it regularly. It is located in a perfect position for thecentre of Cardiff, including the Castle area, and the Glamorgan CC Cricket Ground. Whilst parking can be a challenge, the service and ambience are compensations. There is a public car park nearby anyway, if the hotel car park is full. Sweet little bar, serving excellent real ales. Didn't try the food, as circumstances meant I ate out, but then menu looked interesting.

Reviewed by
J Pilsworth

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful!
Jolyons is excellently located and very good value for money. We received such a warm welcome from Esther, and loved the personal touches of homemade shortbreads and a "help yourself" sweet jar in the bedroom. The evening menu choice was a little limited but the food was great. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, which was generous and provided excellent choices. All the staff were very friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel,
staff were so helpful and friendly, nice rooms

Reviewed by
tim d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely superb!
Jolyons was great because it was cheap but when I arrived it was so beautiful. The furniture is all vintage/antiques and bought from auctions in Europe. The room was beautiful and so well presented. I even had complimentary duck biscuits! The staff were so friendly and helpful. They told me where to get buses from to see different tourist sites and even printed the information off for me. The staff working at the bar are also very friendly and it have me someone to talk to when on my own. I wouldn't even look anywhere else now if I was going back to Cardiff. I can't rate it high enough and I honestly can't fault it!! Just brilliant!

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next